eXplorist Gps antenna strength

Submitted: Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:04
ThreadID: 45301 Views:2597 Replies:12 FollowUps:5

Yes it's another GPS question... just wondering if anyone (who owns an eXplorist- XL or 600) can please tell me how strong /permanent the signal is using the inbuilt antenna (mounted within the vehicle, on and off the dash)?

Can you buy external antennas for them?

I'm about to upgrade my old dinosaur due to the shocking reception, ...keeps acquiring /losing position (even when its dash mounted), I'm hoping the latest units don't have this problem.

Thanking you in advance.

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:19

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:19
I looked at the same issue recently and I don't believe it has provision for an external antenna mounting as it is designed to be portable....

AnswerID: 239048

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:34

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:34
Hi Dingo

They are much better these days and that unit is quite good provided its mounted
such that antenna is at or above dash height.

No external antenna - or needed.

Screen visibility is biggest issue with most of these products and if you can't
come up with a good compromise you may need to mount below dash level.
If so you still have option of a re-radiating gps antenna.

AnswerID: 239051

Follow Up By: Dingo77 - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 12:48

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 12:48
Thanks Robin...and to all the others that contributed.

Is that re-radiating antenna effective and how does it work? (i.e. does it plug in?)
FollowupID: 500084

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 14:53

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 14:53
Hi Dingo

Don't plug in , just couple to existing. (do plug in for power though)

While GPS units will lock ok in car - there performance is better with better signal leading to more accurate plot particularly in hilly country.

You can win both ways with such a device as it allows you to position GPS below dash for visibility and still get best signal.

www.gpsoz.com.au/External_Aerials.htm

FollowupID: 500102

Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:35

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:35
Have one of these mounted on the dash, normally have a minimum of 10 satellites connected at one time. No problems there at all.
Have also used it inside the house about 1-1.5 metres away from window and still got sufficient reception to get a 3D reading.
AnswerID: 239052

Reply By: Member - Ross A (QLD) - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:43

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:43
Hi Dingo
I have an XL dash mounted off the windscreen and I have no problems with reception of 11 to 14 satellites. I do not think there is and outdoor aerial but as I said I have no probs on the dash. As Robin said screen can be a prob but that is with all screens mounted on the dash. I also have problems with my reversing camera screen. The XL is a very good unit.

Rossco
AnswerID: 239053

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 13:16

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 13:16
Hi Ross

Do you have any comment on the maps that come with it, I understand it has the whole of Australia covered and you can zoom in and out.

Thanks in advance......
FollowupID: 500087

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:48

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 11:48
Hi Dingo. I have have the explorist XL. No problems with signal, even get a signal
in house when I have it plugged into the computed. Can't get one with the garman.
cheers Brian
AnswerID: 239056

Follow Up By: Harry - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:59

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:59
Don't knock the Garmin Brian, I too have a Garmin that wont pick up in the house also and I have a new Garmin that does.
The older 1 is a 3+ and the new 1 is a 72 model with big numbers.
They've all improved heaps over the last 5 yrs.
FollowupID: 500187

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:34

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:34
Hi Brian

You beat me to it, i get good signal with my xl while inside with computer too !

FollowupID: 500200

Reply By: Darren C - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 14:19

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 14:19
Ditto the responses above but I find as long as I have mine (a 600) plugged into to the cigarette lighter I can have the screen backlight on permanently which helps heaps in the daytime.

Satellit pickup is fine - only problem I have is when I have forgotten to turn it on before I move off - can sometimes take a while to lock on then!!

AnswerID: 239075

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 15:20

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 15:20
Some vehicles, Peugeot, Alfa Romeo to name a couple have a metal component embedded in the glass of the windscreen to assist with heat and radiation reduction. Apparently the presence of this metal can have adverse reaction with incoming signals for GPS. Re-positioning of the GPS or an external antennae can sometimes resolve or reduce the problem.
AnswerID: 239084

Reply By: Member - Syd R (QLD) - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 18:37

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 18:37
Hi, I have the Explorist XL and now recpetion problems having travelled Western Qld and Eastern States and Alice Springs, West and East Macdonald Randes and up into the Northern Territoy regions. It's a great device.
AnswerID: 239110

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 19:07

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 19:07
Dingo77,

I have the eXplorist-XL and also the external antenna.

The magnetic base of the antenna is on the roof of the Troopie so it has a clear view of the sky.
The cable goes down through the snorkel body and into the cab. The unit is then plugged into the cigarette lighter.
When the motor is running the cigarette lighter is on and so is the antenna.
It requires power to transmit the GPS signal inside the vehicle. The signal is picked up by the GPS.
If the position of the GPS in the vehicle is not in a position near the windscreen than this will give a better signal.

A mate had a hand held Garmin and when he got into the vehicle had a better signal in the vehicle than out side.

In most case the antenna that is built into the unit would be just fine.

AnswerID: 239114

Reply By: Member - Thomo - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:09

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:09
I have an old trusty Magellan 315 which is going on10 years old. Some time back i purchased a power antenna which you attach with velcro to the inbuilt antenna on the GPS and the other lead into the cigarette lighter and finally the stick the external antenna on the roof which is magnetic and not much bigger than a fifty cent piece and i can tell you it's the "ducks guts" and improves the performance by 50%...best thing i ever purchased. Unfortunately it doesn't have a brand name on it but I reckon someone will know what i am talking about and tell you where they can be purchased.
AnswerID: 239147

Reply By: harris - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:17

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:17
You need a "Re-Radiating GPS Antenna" I brought mine on ebay, come up under search GPS accessories. or "Electronics > GPS > Other GPS" price $59.95 plus postage think about $10. Excellent results rarely under 7 satillites even amongst
trees, deep valleys, buildings. Has a "magnetic" base for antenna. Important is that magnetic base further than 1.5 metres for G.P.S. unit itself. Email contact was :
"gfcorica@hotmail.com". Best of luck if I can install it, its simple. plugs into cigarette
lighter.

Regards Harro.
AnswerID: 239149

Reply By: Member - Thomo - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:23

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:23
Harro, you got Mate ...Re-Radiating GPS Antenna, that's the little ............

Thomo
AnswerID: 239156