Spare as air tank.

Submitted: Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:21
ThreadID: 45344 Views:2858 Replies:10 FollowUps:20
I'm toying with the idea of using my spare tyre as an air tank to supplement the use of my airpump for airing up and a blast of air when needed. The maximum air pressure noted on my Pirelli's Lt 31.10.50.15 mud terrains is 50lb. Do you think putting in extra air, say 65-70 lb. would cause too much stress problems to the tyre? If it does, 50lb. is not worth the effort for only an extra 15lb. from my normal running pressure of 35lb. Trying to avoid fitting an air tank if this system has any merits.
Ron.

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:31

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:31
I always run 70PSI in my spare as I have a hose made up with clip-on tyre chucks each end. If I see a tire low,on mine or another,I just clip on both ends,wait a few mins and it's done.Spare is then still safe to drive on..BTW,a mate and I put 140psi in a plastic soft drink bottle to try and destoy it (must be the six years of explosives,gunnery etc army) and the it just flattened out all the base wrinkles and sat there looking at us..We used a 14mm wad punch on the lid. Fitted a tubeless tyre valve and hose clamped the screw on lid.."Do Not Try This At Home"
AnswerID: 239257

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:38

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:38
You would love this then ????

" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link

FollowupID: 500278

Follow Up By: Rocky_QLD - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:43

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:43
Rocky

Do a Google search for water rockets re the PET Bottles, also enormous fun.

Rocky
FollowupID: 500280

Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 12:58

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 12:58
Hey Doug..Only thing wrong with that mov..We did'nt make it..Ripper ! Thanks
FollowupID: 500299

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:33

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:33
Ron
Damn good idea , I also do same but don't exceed what the tyre Manufacturer has stamped on the sidewall ...just in case, In two spares you can carry enough extra air to just about reinflate the 4 tyres enough and then top off with the compressor if needed.
I just went and checked my Hankooks and the Max is 44psi where the BFGs are 65psi max

Doug

AnswerID: 239258

Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 13:00

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 13:00
Reckon those prssrs would be for rubber to terra firma sits tho..Not just "archiving" ;-)
FollowupID: 500301

Reply By: Robin - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 11:02

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 11:02
Hi Ron

There are some errors in this thread relating to LT tyres.

The maximum you refer to is usually the minimum.

The wording is usually Max load for inflation 65 psi or whatever

What this means is that if you USE LESS PRESSURE you will kill the tyre
as it requires that much air to hold that much weight.

There's a few different side wall wordings but I'll use a common example--

Example - common tyre BFG AT has written on side wall -->
Max Load 1380kg at 65psi cold

This means if you use less than 65psi and put that load (1380) on it it will die.

Typical practise is to put 10psi more than the mimimum to ensure tyre is safe.
E.G. 65 + 10% = 71.5psi

This is what I use all the time around 70psi , and used 100psi in competion etc.

The rupure pressure is a totally different story - and is not generally stated but
from other work I've estimated roughly 250psi.

Some passenger tyres have an actual max on them
e.g. from a commodore ss in the car park ->
Max load 630kg at 144psi max press

I.e. this weak tyre can only handle 144psi

AnswerID: 239269

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:01

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:01
are you trying to tell us that you run around 70psi for normal driving around town?
FollowupID: 500325

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:02

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:02
i'lll learn to read on...so forget what i asked
FollowupID: 500327

Reply By: Patrol22 - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 12:46

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 12:46
I couldn't imagine running 70psi in my BFGs off road or on road - couldn't afford the dental bill to replace all the fillings that would shake loose.
AnswerID: 239275

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 13:09

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 13:09
Read again - he's not running 70 psi in the tryes on the road.
FollowupID: 500303

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 13:15

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 13:15
I wouldn't about your fillings Patrol 22 , they will shake no more than at 30psi if
correct weight loading is used.

This is how one should work out there tyre pressures for higher speed black top touring.

Its a load related pressure and tyres will bounce same if proportionate load is used.

32.5 psi is required for 680kg per wheel , 4 X = a patrol

65psi requires 1360kg per wheel 4 X = a light truck ( 5 tons )

In each case they bounce the same

FollowupID: 500304

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 14:17

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 14:17
It's an interesting idea ... I remember years ago that my volkswagen beetle used pressure off the spare tyre to drive the windscreen washers. Worked fine.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 239296

Follow Up By: greydemon - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 15:05

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 15:05
Interesting, I have never heard of that.

I had a car that ran the wipers off the manifold. In heavy rain you had to accelerate to get anywhere, then lift your foot to get the wipers to move so you could see where you were going, then accelerate, lift, accelerate, lift etc etc. In the end the wiper flew off on a rainy day on the Monmouth By-pass.

(For those who need to know these things, it was a 1939 Ford Prefect I owned in the late sixties)
FollowupID: 500318

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 23:15

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 23:15
Gee Greydemon, i drove our 1980 something Camry on a rainy day once and the windscreen wipers failed - i had to drive very fast so the oncoming air blew the windscreen clear, or i couldn't see at all! A bit hard when cornering and through the towns.

FollowupID: 500422

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 15:05

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 15:05
I run 100+psi in my (racing) bicycle- would that be suitable???
AnswerID: 239303

Reply By: bgreeni - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 15:35

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 15:35
Another idea is to use a SCUBA diving cyclinder. These will take over 2000psi. Enough to inflate many tires
AnswerID: 239307

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:03

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:03
mine takes 4500 psi
FollowupID: 500328

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:30

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 17:30
what sort of air fittings do you need to play with that sort of pressure??
Reiner
FollowupID: 500333

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 18:41

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 18:41
You can't do that! I have the patent.

Nev
FollowupID: 500342

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:52

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:52
NPT fittings, say 1/4 inch is good for 10k
anything over that, Autoclave fittings req'd to 15k
let me know if u find an ac that will get it that full!
FollowupID: 500378

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 00:21

Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 00:21
Why not just use a proper air tank from a truck wrecker?? Why do people keep carrying on - it isnt that hard... $40 and you get a good tank with pressure relief valve. few straps/brackets and its fitted up out of the way under the chassis.. Unless you have a light weight GU ROTFLMAO!
FollowupID: 500434

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 09:19

Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 09:19
takes standard fittings
most dive shops wont fill it up cos they say it wrecks their compressors

going by the place who sell these tanks..that is all crap......if they look after their compressors, no problems to pump this high

Commercial Divers Service at regency park SA fills them to 300bar....its what make my toy with 6.5-20 power leupold scope propel pellets out to 50 yards....but then then theres always the other toy
FollowupID: 500465

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 08:39

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 08:39
Hey truckster.. I'd love to know where you got a n air tank for that kind of money.. I've been to a few truck wreckers and they wont let me take one for less than $150 then charge me extra if I want the fittings.. I didn't think it was worth that much too me considering they can't sell it for truck use ever again after it's been in a wreck..
FollowupID: 500868

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:33

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:33
Years ago I remember seeing Jack Absolome on one of his TV shows doing this on his Sigma I think he had and he had his spare at 100psi. Bloody mad in my mind on ordinary car tyres.

AnswerID: 239365

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 23:54

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 23:54
This is a good idea I got from somewhere a while ago ?

I have Bushranger compressor that has quick disconnect between compressor and hose .

If you lash out and get an air cleaning gun ( pem gun ) from auto store get the same male fitting as the compressor , with threaded fitting on other end of hose you can use the tyre as your reservoir and use the pem gun to clean things such as your air filter etc !

Glenn.
AnswerID: 239448

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 00:22

Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 00:22
>> Trying to avoid fitting an air tank if this system has any merits.

Why is that?
AnswerID: 239453

Follow Up By: Ron - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 17:46

Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 17:46
One less thing to fit and carry if the spare, that one has to carry anyway, will do a similar job. It's only for the occassional burst of air and to assist the compressor whilst airing up.
FollowupID: 500545

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 23:08

Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 23:08
So after you have destroyed a tire, which is now the spare after ripping a hole in the sidewall, what do you rely on then?
FollowupID: 500607

Follow Up By: Ron - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:03

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:03
The compressor. I'm not suggesting replacing the compressor, I'll be assisting it by using the extra air in the tyre to inflate one or two tyres from the spare while the compressor is pumping away on its own. My main concern is. Will 70lbs be detrimental to the tyre?
FollowupID: 500627