Suspension luminaries wanted.........

Submitted: Friday, May 11, 2007 at 19:22
ThreadID: 45365 Views:2298 Replies:2 FollowUps:6
So......the Stabiliser bar on the front suspension...the one attached to about the middle of both Radius arms on the Nissan GQ.....became noisy. On inspection it was revealed that one of the arm joints was worked out and a replacement was needed. What? $75 for a small rod and joint??? It stayed there for another year. But it became noisier especially when offroad and last weekend I decided to undo the bar. Trouble is that one nut round headed and the bar had to be removed with the help of an angle grinder.

So far I have not noticed any difference in handling.

My question is: What else does the stabiliser bar do apart from stabilising the travel of the Radius Arms???

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 19:31

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 19:31
G'day Willie,

Commonly also called a "anti sway bar"....it;'s job is to limit the amount of body roll you experience going around corners etc. However, a side effect is that it somewhat limits the amount of wheel travel your truck will exhibit in more difficult conditions.

My truck currently has neither sway bar in action, but I am about to reinstate them both because the new suspension is much softer and the bloody thing wallows along like a pregnant whale.

If you're interested, I have one (possibly 2) of those short arms that you can have for the cost of a smile and a "thankyou".....

I will have to fabricate 4 new rods because of the lift of my truck. I have seen the joints I need to buy, at a local tractor supply place. Just need to buy 4 plus a length of threaded bar and I'll be right.

AnswerID: 239354

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 19:40

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 19:40
Arrrrr Yer a Champion Mr Roach. I'm smiling already. Thankyou!...lol

When are you free? Maybe we can come down for a drive to the lovely Yorke Peninsula.

FollowupID: 500353

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 19:50

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 19:50
Willie,

I'm never "free"......but I'm always "very reasonable".....hahaha

Now, there are a couple of options......

1). You could come down here tomorrow arvo (kids playing footy in the morning). Sunday I have to do a reccy of a property near Pt Victoria as we are hosting a visit here next weekend by the Mt Lofty 4x4 Club and I have to prepare a mud map.

2). Next weekend will be taken up with camping at Port Vic.

3). Following weekend is free (at this stage).

4). If you wanted to wait til Warraweena, I could bring them up then and we could fit 'em up at the time.......Nah, on 2nd thoughts, we'd get some of the youngun's to fit 'em up....hahahaha

FollowupID: 500355

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:02

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:02
Ok mate

We will be there tomorrow after lunch. Ta!

FollowupID: 500360

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:05

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:05
Willie, If you still have the rubber bushes for the top/s of the short arms, can you please bring them with you, as I don't have any spares of those.

Cya t'morra ;-))

FollowupID: 500363

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:30

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 20:30
OK. One is a tad mangled but will have to suffice...lol

Funny, I put my bitumen tyres on this arvo, as it is about 7 weeks to Warraweena and driving around with the MRF's is noisy to say the least.

FollowupID: 500372

Reply By: Tony - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 06:35

Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 06:35
G'day Willem, as a thought I took the front bar off my GU last weekend, and jacked the chassie up to see what difference it made to suspenssion travel.

On measuring the before and after the height was the same. I was always under the impression that it limitted wheel travel, but it looks like the shocks do thay. All it seems to do is stop a bit of body roll on the road.

I also was looking for a noise on full travel and wanted to check if the spring was moveing. Apart from the rotation of the housing the spring remained tight, so I still don't know where the noise is coming from.
AnswerID: 239469

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 08:20

Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 08:20
Thanks Tony

The suspension noise may come from the rear bushes on the Radius Arms. Mine does that when driving in wet conditions or muddy tracks. I have removed the radius arms and replaced the rear bushes but could see no damage to any bushes. Maybe its just a Nissan thing.

After that work the right hand rear Radius Arm nut worked loose and fell of into the desert sand 100km north of the French Line in trackless country. I found a nut in my toolbox which fitted. Very lucky indeed!!! I now have lock nuts on the radius arms.

FollowupID: 500457