Nissan Patrol...glad I wasn't paying for the fuel
Submitted: Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 15:23
Russ n Sue
My boss hired a brand-new 3.0l diesel patrol for me to use this week just gone. My impressions?
Plenty of get up and go in first and second gears, then pretty crap after that. (Auto box).
Handled quite
well but had a habit of the whole front end shaking when only one side wheel or the other was going through a hollow in the track...I guess I'm getting too used to IFS vehicles.
Why do they bother with that stupid sub tank? it's way too small. So is the main tank for that matter.
Fuel economy was terrible. Maybe the engine is still a bit tight? It was brand-new as I said. I used both the main tank and the sub tank to do 401Km. Had to put twenty bucks worth in to be sure I'd get
home! I had strong headwinds for 160Km of this but still......
Verdict? Capable, solid, sufficient power and torque for what we do, not real comfortable, lousy fuel economy - 6/10
Reply By: True Blue - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 15:30
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 15:30
Is that right Russ n Sue that you actually used the entire main and sub tank capacities to do 401ks. Ours was a manual but never did less than 1000ks per fuel load and never more than 1100ks.
That's extroadinarily bad, new or run in. Surely something's amiss there. Our economy usually worked out at around 9.5L/100ks. Even with these figures there was always some reserve in each tank. I think most 3.0L manuals would have probably achieved what we were getting.
True Blue.
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 15:44
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 15:44
Absolutely correct True Blue. I though something was amiss on the first day when I used all of the main tank to do 323km. Then I did 266 Km the second day and used by the gauge 3/4 of the main tank. I didn't record how much fuel went in that day. Then the 401Km was spread over day three and four and I was running on the empty mark when I stopped 23Km short of my destination and put the extra $20.00 worth in.
Do these hire car companies have the engines downrated so that you don't wreck them? Beats me, but like I said, glad I wasn't paying for the fuel.
Follow Up By: joc45 - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 19:10
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 19:10
There would be no special downrating for a hire vehicle. Obviously grossly off-tune.
Sadly, Nissan will never have to fix the problem, as it would mean being off the road for the hire car company, which they can't afford to do. Knowing Nissan service, it would be off the road for a while as they try to find the problem.
So it will just continue being hired until disposal date, disillusioning all who hire it...
On second thoughts, perhaps car hire companies fit a "Reverse-Dtronic" module, a device that downgrades the performance ;-)
Gerry
Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 19:29
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 19:29
I work for a major hire co, and no we do not detune them but their is huge diffs in performances between cars of the same make, in get up and go and also handling.
Toyotas vary less than other makes.
And yes you have to keep them on the road to cover depeciation.
We only have one 3lt patrol and have had no mayor issues, biggest problem we have is customers puting ulp in diesels, sure cleans them out though.
Follow Up By: joc45 - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 20:38
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 20:38
Hi Pete,
I know it doesn't happen these days, but years ago, in another life, I used to work for a Federal Govt utility, and the Govt-issue vehicles were a special manufacture from Ford and Holden. Low-compression heads so they could run on low-octane fuel, abysmal performance and economy, no heaters let alone aircon, paintwork one coat thick, and drum brakes, even tho the public versions had discs.
Eventually the govt realised that the cost they saved was not worth it on resale, so they went to off-the-floor purchases.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:07
Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:07
Most hiore companies fit a Cinort-D to the 3.0l Patrol to ensure engine longevity, it detunes the engine to equivalent LandRover outputs.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:08
Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:08
bonz Please enlighten me to what a cinort D is? I doubt if ours has one fitted as it was purchased off a country dealer as a one off. But it is still a dog. But we get spoilt driving 200kilowatt Aurions , Xr6s etc.
The new d4ds Hiluxs are the best 4by I have driven so far as far as power goes, got to be real carefull in the wet, now that is something for a diesel
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 09:00
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 09:00
Sir Madfisher, a Cinort-D is D-Tronic written backwards mate :)
I have a D-Tronic on my Patrol and it pulls like a train, was in another 3.0l last week, no D-Tronic and it pulled hard too, get your turbo checked and replaced, keep complaining about low power (if it in warranty still) and you'll be impressed. Also found out about something else that throttles them but have to recheck!
Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 09:54
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 09:54
ha, ha , hook line and sinker.
Mate we only keep them 18 months and this one is due to be traded as soon as it comes back from a long term rental. Power is very subjective when I was tiling and only drove my 4runner I though wifes 3lt paj was a power house. If I had driven a 3lt patrol then I would have been impressed. Ours is an auto And I dont like the lag till it gets going. One of the reasons I brought a 3.5 Jack was I got spoilt but the Jack is very impressive, not many 4bys you can grab 3rd at 8oks to pass a truck and it will then throw you back in the
seat till 12oks
Cheers pete
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:10
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:10
Grab third at 80 kph and throws you back till 120 kph, Does it do a sub 10 second 1/
4 mile as
well.
Steve.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:33
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:33
158kws at 5400rpm, only1920kgs , redline 6200rpm, torque from 1000rpm.
When I was looking to buy drove heapsof 4wds including six jacks, nothing went like this one. When I was taking it for a
test drive I slowly putted out the previous owners driveway, when I got to the dirt road I straighten it up and then stomped on the gas in 2nd and nearly lost it, full power slide lol.
You have been driving diesels too long steve lol
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:55
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:55
So that would be a no then ROTFLMAO.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 14:55
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 14:55
Madfisher
"Toyotas vary less than the others"
after driving countless new/near new 1hz i can assure you that just aint true. Some will easily top 140 ar hoild 3rd up the ramp while others do about 115 tops and struggle in 2nd
Always been my best advice when
test driving a vehicle - hold it flat and see if it will go as fast as it should- many dont
Reply By: joc45 - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 15:40
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 15:40
Interesting.
I don't own one (I have a 4.2TD-T), but have used a hired 3.0L, once each year over the last four years (auto, fairly new) and was reasonably impressed with both its performance at highway speeds and its economy (better economy and performance than my 4.2, which gives me around 11-13L/100km). No shake problems. The 410km range would not be typical.
I agree that the subtank is not much better than a single jerry can. If you're worried about range, try the latest V8 diesel Yota wagon with an 80 litre tank!
And Nissan are not to be congratulated on the deletion of the subtank on their thirstiest 4.8L.
Gerry
Reply By: the nugget - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 17:56
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 17:56
Russ'n'Sue, must be something wrong with it, I own 3.0l 700 plus from the main and sub. Best was 90 litres from
Carnarvon to
Perth 870 ks on the main with a North westerly blowing (slight tail wind) as I got to the outskirts the sub light came on and I switched it on.. As for the shaking on the front end I have only ever really experienced that on the 2nd worst corrugated road to the CSR and that was the
cape Leveque road.
The Nugget
Reply By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 17:57
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 17:57
Russ n Sue
That's not typical mileage. I get, worst, 750 per tank (Sub & Main) and best 1000(Sub & Main).I don't understand the reason for your complaint.
Ride is not great, but no where near what you claim???
As for IFS v live axle, I know which one I would have on a very rough track.
Even a new tight motor would give better economy than what you suggest????
Maybe the fuel gauge is way out???
Colin.
PS the NEW ones don't have a sub tank, maybe that was not a new unit.
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 19:04
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 19:04
The vehicle had 5657 Km on the clock and the hire company guy said it was new. He was worried that we might put the first scratch in it. I didn't look at the rego sticker, but either way, it's new.
From what you guys say, maybe there is something wrong with it. Perhaps that would explain why it seemed comparatively sluggish after it shifted ot of second gear. It might be pouring raw fuel out of the exhaust?
I'm not sure what your point is about the ride. I said, like you, that it isn't great. That's all. The handling was ok except for those occasions where the front end got out of shape. My last three vehicles have had IFS. They've all gone where I've needed them to and they didn't scare the bejesus of me. The Patrol got quite a bounce happening and, for me, it was disconcerting. It might be normal for all I know.
Anyway, it was a hire car. We gave it back on Friday and on Monday I get a dual cab "lux" to try out. We'll see how that goes.
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 19:55
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 19:55
Russ n Sue
The Disco would spoil you, ride wise.
The written word doesn't always relay the though clearly Russ, nothing sinister in the comments I made mate. I just got the felling the ride was an issue to you, but as you say IRS does give a smoother ride.
Like you, I am on retierment training and a
test of what i've learnt so far comes next week in the form of a trip to
Cape York for 6 weeks.
Keep up the study for your goal (retierment)
Colin.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 21:02
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 21:02
Colin, Are you serious the new Patrols don't have a sub tank? I know it's bleep y but at least you have the option of putting in a replacement tank of 70l for a bit more range.
Leroy
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 08:47
Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 08:47
My statement re fuel tank was only 1/2 correct.
The Petrol model has no sub, but the Diesel still does.
Sorry about that.
Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 20:58
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 20:58
Gee ... it looks like is you are talking about my 80 series petrol on GPL .... 90 lt. of gas = 310 km. !!!
Luca
Reply By: Leroy - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 21:05
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 21:05
That's real lousy ecconomy and others have said is not indicative of what you would normally expect and as
well as performance.
I just filled tonight and only got 12.25l/100km. Seems to be what I get all the time. I don't know how others get 10/100km and below! It's gota be the BFG MT 285's.
Leroy
Follow Up By: joc45 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:04
Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:04
Hi Leroy,
yeh, check the distance error caused by those tyres. You may be pleasantly surprised after the correction.
Gerry
Reply By: Fatman - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 23:22
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 23:22
u sure u weren't drinkin da diesel bro? my uncle got one of dem vehicles bro & she don't drink that much
the fatman
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 23:29
Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 23:29
Hahaha Fatman , you might have hit the nail on the head , my son has one , and it doesnt use that much fuel
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 00:17
Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 00:17
Hi there Russ n Sue, mate there had to be some thing wrong with that one, big time going by the other people on here that have them and there figures. I just got back from up north about 2 hours ago. Havnt filled up yet but got 750 out the main tank of the prado and flicked over to sub tank and did 20 ks on that to get home. I'm thinking some where around the high 11's low 12's and thats V6 3.4 petrol. Didnt have much of a load, fridge,tent etc didnt take camper so no towing involved. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:59
Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:59
Hi Stephen,
like you I am pleasantly surprised at the Jacks consumption, despite dire warnings tro the contrary.
Towed the boat (4.2 discovery) over to
Dunns swamp with the wifes kayak sitting on top of the boat last weekend through
Sofala. 260ks used 36lts over very hilly terrain. I get 13.84l or just under 20mpg. The 4 cylinder 4runner would have used more than this. Plus the jack was 40ks quicker climbing back up out of
Sofala towards Wattle flat. Gotta love that power. Its also better than the 3lt paj, best it can do is about 14.5
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:42
Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:42
Have hired one a few times, fuel acc was ok, nothing like you are quoting. Performance = CRAP!!(Have hired 3!!) In auto spec anyway, manual may be different i think?.
Regards Lyndon
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:54
Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:54
My 2000 auto 3.0 patrol regularly gets 850 to 900 klm from both tanks driving around
Perth. Performance is good, and I don't agree that the sub tank is too small!! For the fuel it uses, I have just as much if not better range than a 4.2 Patrol and a 4.2 cruiser, and are you comparing the fuel tank capacity to your Rover?
Are you sure you weren't flogging it, hoping it would crap itself?
Methinks you would kick a Nissan no matter what! So you don't like Nissans. Good! Stick to Rovers!
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 01:52
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 01:52
Huh???
You maketh a lot of assumptions Muzzgit.
1) I never "flog" cars. It is not in my best interest to get stuck in the middle of nowhere.
2) I have no particular axe to grind when it comes to Patrols. Pajeros are a different matter. I could go to town on them.
3) I'm happy for you that you like a 30 litre sub tank. I still think it is a total waste of time.
4) My Land Rover has nothing to do with anything. I recognised its shortcomings and installed a long range tank, but so far as the lousy fuel economy goes, I wasn't comparing the Patrol to anything. Obviously, from the posts here, that Patrol is sick. I didn't recognise that because I have never owned one to compare it with.
Methinks your skin is a tad thin. I'm happy for you that you've got a good one. I must have been unlucky with the hire one. Get over it.
Russ
Reply By: Stu-k - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:43
Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:43
I am just waiting for the hilux review.................
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:43
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:43
If you all bought/hired a JEEP none of you would be a party to this thread and subsequently wasting your valuable time 'gas bagging' about an issue that has been done to death, put to rest and buried years ago.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 14:47
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 14:47
do you have a Cinort-D on your Jeep? Oh no its a tinut hahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 16:09
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 16:09
Sir Bonz-a-lot
That is a very good question and I thank the right honorable member for Terang for asking it.
Indeed I do have Tinut on the JEEP which improves Kw to Torgue ratios exponentially. The 'J' curve of both bends out of sight (speaking metaphorically)
It also smooths out all things mechanical which enhances the 180deg tracking of the 'rolling stock', whilst minimising fuel induction at the same time.
The jury is still out as to whether the Cinort-D or the Tinut is the superior product.
I have experienced you Cinort-D in action and can vouch for same.