laundromat woes..

Submitted: Monday, May 14, 2007 at 13:42
ThreadID: 45461 Views:2348 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
So... I have 5 washing machines and 7 dryers on their way from Coffs and Sydney. The removalists gave me a quote.

They found the dryers were way heavier than they expected and left one behind.

THEN the driver was booked for overweight and now.... before they unload... they want me to pay the $500 fine!

I explained dimensions and that they were heavy before they quoted.

What do you think? I can't have these machines tied up somewhere while we wrangle...

I'll have to pay! Help..... washing machines held hostage. Ransom to be paid.....

Makes a change from 4wd mechanical discussions Huh?

Cheers Royce

Reply By: Robin - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 13:54

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 13:54
You have lost me Royce

I thought it was responibility of transport company and those who load it to
ensure its done correctly.

Further more you have said they have already made a decision based on weight
and they could have left 2 behind.

Maybe you should tell them your even because you won't be
making a claim for the scratch on one of the units.

AnswerID: 239924

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:17

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:17
Hey Royce

A written quote is a legal document, If they tell you it is x amount to supply there trucks and labour then that is what it is.

It is the drivers responsibility to ensure that the load he is carrying is legal, If the driver gets a fine it is his responsibility.

If it takes 2 trucks to deliver the load it is the companies problem not yours, I would tell these guys to a deliver your good and all of them as you paid for.

If they refuse then I would go to the transport authorities, consumer affairs and just take these pricks to the cleaners.

Tell these guys you have spoken to you solicitor and you will take legal action and see how quick they move.

I can't give you a quote for a tour then take your money, then turn around and say look I made a mistake I need to charge you more, I wouldn't expect to be in business very long.

Cheers Steve.

AnswerID: 239930

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:56

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:56
"I can't give you a quote for a tour then take your money, then turn around and say look I made a mistake I need to charge you more,"

just out of curiousity, what would you do if your tour was fully booked, and one person turned up who was too "chubby" to fit in a single seat, and had travelled from overseas especially for the trip??

For the dryers, I guess it all depends on whether he gave them a weight, or reason to expect they were less than a certain weight? If there was a weight printed on the packaging (as there usually is) then sure its the truckies fault.
FollowupID: 501030

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:59

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:59
FYI Fisho64

I have on very rear occasion had someone not able to do the tour, generally through fitness and through no fault of ours.

Our advertising is very particular, but some travel agencies will take their commission and let the operator worry about the rest.

On these occasions we have given a full refund and made arrangement for the client to travel on an appropriate tour.

Its not hard to run a honest business.

In every state in this country the legality of the load, the road worthiness and registration is the sole responsibility of the driver, no one else and that is a fact.

Steve.

FollowupID: 501195

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:18

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:18
geez, not another laundromat thread

:) G'day Royce
AnswerID: 239931

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:40

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:40
Yeah!! he sounds agitated!!!

FollowupID: 500914

Follow Up By: Member - Tony J (NSW) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:58

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:58
Maybe a bit rung out!
FollowupID: 500915

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 15:51

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 15:51
It'll all come out in the wash...
FollowupID: 500921

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 16:45

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 16:45
Id take the transport mob to the cleaners!
FollowupID: 500924

Follow Up By: Member - Tony J (NSW) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 17:02

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 17:02
Just to put a new spin on it....
FollowupID: 500927

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 18:37

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 18:37
And hang the bastards out to dry!
FollowupID: 500938

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:18

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:18
hes been put through the wringer
FollowupID: 501006

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:21

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:21
He's put it all on the line
FollowupID: 501007

Follow Up By: R Send - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 07:45

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 07:45
Maybe the transport company is just blowing hot air!
FollowupID: 501054

Follow Up By: Member - Tony J (NSW) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 20:20

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 20:20
Oh , you have all got such a dry sense on humour!
FollowupID: 501164

Reply By: Member - Tony J (NSW) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:55

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 14:55
Hi Royce,

I work in the transport game and I suggest you DON'T pay their fine. It is the drivers, transport company and loaders responsibility but more so the drivers to make sure his is not over weight. How big was the truck? Did they have other freight on as well? Was the truck over the gross limit or over on one axle group?

By the way, if they are not a "common carrier" (in the leagal sense) and you have not organised your own transport insurance on the goods, I would strongly suggest you make other arrangements to get the last dryer. Basically, because the "all care but no responsibility" clause will come into it when the last dryer goes missing or is damaged in transit.
AnswerID: 239936

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 16:25

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 16:25
Refuse to pay. It's their responsibility (and they are the "experts") to load their truck correctly - would they want you to pay if they had driven over the drink-drive limit or been book for speeding? Bloody cheek!

As for the ransom... tell them "No problem, keep them as long as you choose - I'll be suing for $2000 per day lost income".

AnswerID: 239947

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:53

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:53
Maybe some British businessman will come forth and help... :-)

AnswerID: 240039

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:49

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:49
I would stay calm (wife laughs at this stage) and hand the driver a nice looking letter with solisitors letter head stating his quote (or company agreement to deliver the goods ) is binding and if the equipment is not delivered safely and not damaged as per thier quote, I have no option but to sue you personaly and also the company for loss of income, cost to get the equipment delivered by other company, breach of contract, also failure to allow access to the goods will require police action for theft of the goods etc etc.

Oh what the hell and a few cartons for stress :)

Stick it up them ................ but alas this is only one side of the story are there bits of info missing in the heat of the moment......... ?

Hope all works out
AnswerID: 240058

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:02

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:02
Tell them that had they called you when they LOADED the goods that it was going to be a bigger job than first quoted then you may well have agreed to extra $$$ but to tell you AFTER they left one unit behind that they could not carry out the job quoted is sheer incompetence.

As for you paying the fine issued personally to a driver who should be professional enough not to be done for that sort of thing....they are whistling dixie.

Failure to deliver while trying to extract possibly an illegal payment is tantamount to stealing. A call to the local cop shop may clarify this.

Just handle it by the numbers and they won't have a leg to stand on. A legal threat (properly worded) for an action to recover lost income should see your machines delivered. I would possibly even go them for lost income on the machine that they left behind.

One phone call when they were loading the machines in the first place may have made all the difference. I take it you were not present at the loading???

Muddy
AnswerID: 240060

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:27

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:27
Okay... so for those who have continued to read on....

What I did was ask the driver exactly what had happened. He explained and in effect admitted that he was liable, then the company and not me.

But!!! He had been directed NOT TO UNLOAD UNLESS I PAID THE MONEY!!

Nice bloke, who undertood my position.

My priority was NOT to establish who was right or wrong.

Hey!..... that bit was easy. I was in the right. I did not legally have to pay up... but they could have driven off and put my stuff into storage.... maybe months of legal stuff to get it back.

So.. costly but for me the best outcome, I negotiated. I paid half the fine.

They still have another dryer to deliver. I still have to play things carefully.

I will make the 'shirt hit the fan' once I have my equipment and haven't lost any time that I could be trading as a business.

I have the truck rego, the weighbridge documents, I still have the ability to approach consumer affairs and Transport Regulatin Board...

Most importantly, for $25 extra per unit, I have them landed in my shop and tomorrow the plumber and electrician get to make inspections and quotes.

Thanks everyone for your support. Nice to know I was in the right and also I negotiated instead of confronted and am still ahead of where I might have been.

AnswerID: 240067

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:35

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:35
Hope you got a receipt for the fine, then take that to the transport regulations mob as proof of extortion.

Hope all goes well.

Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 501027

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 00:05

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 00:05
kind of sounds a bit like the truckie is telling a story? If hes a "nice bloke" and "in effect admitted that he was liable" why is he telling the company he's not going to pay the fine?
Has the company spoken to you at all? or is all this coming from him only, as it sounds? If so I reckon you should call the top knob at the company. However if you have negotiated a compromise and settled it then it might be a bit rich to then back up on it?
FollowupID: 501033

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:30

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:30
I think you have been taken to the cleaners, but I understand why you have done it.

As per other suggestions though, I would insist on a tax invoice which includes itemisation of the fine component. If it's not forthcoming, a veiled threat to them that you will seek clarification from the Tax Office about the legality of their invoicing might be in your favour. If they do supply it, you have them on toast, and even more so if they show the fine item as a GST inclusive item.

FollowupID: 501187