2" or 3" lift
Submitted: Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 19:07
Member - stefan P (NSW)
Its nearly tax time and that means time to lift the Patrol! Woo-Hoo!! Now comes the questions. Being a
young bloke the idea of going high excites me but I am hearing stories saying that I would save a lot of grief by going the 2" as 3" starts insurance issues and legal ones too, such as head light height ect. Now I am hoping some of you guys are up to speed on the NSW rules covering this. Also does anybody know of any insurance companies that don't frown on lifts. I am with NRMA at the moment but will change if need be. I did a quick search but as these rules change all the time was hoping for some up to date info. BTW I have been quoted $1695 for 3" kings to handle all the acc I have, winch, kamar ect Tough dog 41mm foam cells, RTC damper, castor correction and fitting. Is this on the money?
Sorry for repeating one of the most asked questions!!! BTW I am happy with my fridge so at least I didn't ask about it hey!!!
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 19:29
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 19:29
Hi Stefan
We have a 2" lift and have NRMA comprehensive so you should be ok. Can't help you on anything else but suggest that you ring them for clarification to be sure.
All the best, RayJen
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:10
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:10
Thanks for that, I will make the calls
Stefan
Reply By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:07
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:07
Wuss.
Go for it.
4"spring + 4" body lift + a set of 35's. Why waste time with anything less.
Then you dont need to do a "Bridge Climb", you can just drive over the Buuuuger
Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:11
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:11
"Go for it.
4"spring + 4" body lift + a set of 35's. Why waste time with anything less."
And the 2.8 will push that set up!!!! LOL
Stefan
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 21:48
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 21:48
You can fit 36's with 2inch lift and minor rubbing on inner guard. why do you need 8 inch lift?
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:15
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:15
sarcasm in on patrols response......I don't want 8"....The missus might ;)!!!
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 17:33
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 17:33
As the bride said "every inch make's a difference"
Reply By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:12
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:12
check my rig profile for my setup.
im happy.
$1624 fitted
rides awesome.
great travel, and no sag even full+boat etc.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:16
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:16
Bloody same set-up I have been quoted for!! LOL.....Price is bout the same too
Have you told the insurance company?
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:25
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:25
everything on my truck is itemised on my policy...even my tyre gauge lol.
after all i want every single thing back if the truck gets nicked by some low life.
price was from OL in
karratha WA, small town.
setup is top notch i reckon, hasnt let me down yet. let u know if it does ha.
wayne-o
Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:22
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:22
Shocks, springs and rtc damper sounds on the money If you are not picking them up yourself from the manufacturer/distributors your self the courier costs added in puts this right on the Norm with no real mark ups and no discounts either.
Although you should be able to get the Tough dog 51mm big
bore adjustable shocks instead of the 41mm jobbies for this same price in the package IMO. The 51mm ones have a 22mm shaft and have been indestructable in my machine so far.
I would maybe suggest giving " Simon at 4WAY
Suspension a call or even better, go and see him, I think you will find he will be able to do better as he is the distributor of the tough dog range and is the main set up Guru for for matching up their Kits for international export. He also supplies Super pro castor bushes in varying degrees to match just the lift you are looking for. Give us a member message If you would like a reference from me.
Cheers G.J.
Follow Up By: Member-Granpa Joe - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:27
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:27
I would go for a 3 or 4 inch kit by the way! easy to go from 4 back to 3 in an hour or so's work depending on your muscle!
Reply By: babs - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 21:23
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 21:23
Hi Stefan, I currently have the 2" set up and am already looking to go higher considering three or four inch lift, I was thinking three inch front and four inch rear to compensate for loads.
Going heavy duty springs I hear reduces your wheel travel.
If you get an engineers certificate all should be sweet with insurance.
Babs.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 21:45
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 21:45
Thanks for that Babs. mmmmm have alot of heavy stuff on the car and load it up heaps with gear when
camping
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:42
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:42
Hows it going Babs ,
Have heavy duty springs in
mine as on some occasions you have to even take the kitchen sink !
Unloaded my Patrol sits a bit arse up but loaded to the gills sits nice and flat.
Havent had any real issues with wheel travel , the weight of a Patrol in the right place pushes the wheel right into the guard , surely heavy duty springs would help in downward travel , maybe limited by shock travel or swaybars.
You just have to set your vehicle up to suit what you do , saw a guy the other week in a Patrol tray back being used as a work ute , fully loaded , big lift and really soft set up , wasnt really handelling .
Glenn.
Follow Up By: babs - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 00:26
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 00:26
Hi Glenn, with the heavy duties in the rear whats your ride like unladen, is it rough or not really that noticeable?
I think I might go the Polly airbags in the rear and either sway bar disconnects or just extended ones.
I already have a 2 degree camber caster correction kit fitted, and from all the info from the
suspension guys 3" lift you need 3 degree 4" so on, so in the short term to achieve what I want which is non sagging rear and more wheel travel I will try these remedies (cheaper).
Babs.
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:37
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:37
They are a bit stiff with no load high tyre pressure and a road with potholes.
I thought they were a bit better when I had Rancho shocks and you could wind the adjustment off , but this was more likely just the shocks giving up the ghost.
It is pretty rare for me to go away with no gear , so I can live with it.
Glenn.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 21:58
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 21:58
>> have been quoted $1695 for 3" kings to handle all the acc I have,
How much? >:-0 Springs are around $100ea. Shocks arent that much more unless you go something good like OME, Konis etc...
What do you use the truck for? Touring? I wouldnt go more than 3. and I didnt.
Having had a 8inch lifted GQ(body and sus), I went back to 4in and still ran 35inch simex's but it handled so much better, didnt attract the bacon either.
With a big lift you cant get into carparks, and some drive throughs, alters the handling (sometimes you can score
well adn have it handle
well, I did), and just cause the pleb at insurance company says "yes thats fine sir", if its an illegal mod, your fukt.
www.gupatrol.com/testing/Album1.htm theres some images of
mine on a
test page im working on at moment. thats 3inch Koni shocks, with Dobinson Springs.
What ever you do, dont go cheap on
suspension, as you will regret it in a short time.
YMMV
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 22:08
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 22:08
I get 3" lift king springs put on my trucks, There $500 drive in drive out 1hr job if I have the shocks done aswell its $ 230 per pair.
These are
Darwin prices.
Steve.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 22:15
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 22:15
i thought $1700 was paying for his new building lease, house payment, and holiday to the Bahamas
fit the gear yourself it isnt hard.. Honestly you can do it in few hours, 2 people 4 car stands, trolley jack, and a basic toolset.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:17
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:17
didn't think it would be hard.....maybe a project for my brother in law and myself
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:50
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:50
The only problem I had with
mine was doing the castor correction bushes , All fasteners on the radius arms were really tight ! Couldnt get a long enough lever on them with the vehicle on the ground , ended up getting a small job done at the local
suspension joint.
Hows the front end vibration Stefan , hope it was just a wheel balance.
Glenn.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:57
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:57
You shouldnt need caster with a 2-3inch lift,
mine hasnt had one yet, drives
well, but might get it checked out to be sure.. tires are due for rotation and balance...
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 23:41
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 23:41
Hows it going Truckster,
Also had the pull left thing happening , so had the Camber correction done as
well.
Maybe they saw me coming with the Castor , did it all at once so didnt see what resulted from the lift.
Glenn.
Follow Up By: jmcboatie - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 17:56
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 17:56
I have a GU 2001 4.2 and just got a 3 inch lift kit from TJM Mt Isa. 3 inch springs (checked out what they were and they were kings) matched to TJM XGS Shockies and steering damper, with castor correction kit also. Came out about 4 inch lift initially but has settled to just over 3 after 1500ks of rough roads inthe gulf. Couldn't be happier so far handles the rough stuff heaps better than OE and beautiful on road as
well
Kippo