Drive away new Prado/Pajero cost anyone?

Submitted: Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:37
ThreadID: 45573 Views:5840 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Hey folks,
just happened to be passing the local Toyota dealer and thought I'd pop in and look at the new Prado and 70 series wagon. I am now thoroughly depressed.

We're looking at getting a new 4by in the next couple of months (early financial year) and will be leasing so have an upper limit of $57k or there abouts drive away.

So the Tojo dealer says, $60k for the GXL turbo manual prado and the same for the 70 series GX!! that's without any options at all! Obviously there is a little bit of bargaining room, but with a couple of options these cars are rapidly going to be outside the leasing limit even thought they hardly qualify as luxury vehicles.

Can anyone provide me with a real drive away price they've paid for a prado or pajero in the last six months (new engine prado/NS pajero) and what options were put on it?

This guy has really depressed me :(

Cheers for the input folks :)

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 13:20

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 13:20
CS,

Hope this works. Try looking online for new cars, something like this Site Link

Good luck.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 240530

Follow Up By: Member - CS (NSW/ACT) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 13:29

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 13:29
Thanks for that Cruiser.

Judging by today, the site above and previous enquiries I've made with Mitsubishi it's looking like we'll be going with a Pajero and then waiting until someone brings out a long range tank for the NS.

Ah well, if we got everything we wanted in life it'd get pretty boring ;)

FollowupID: 501461

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:13

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:13
Already available from LRA. Takes the same tank as the NM/NP.
Believe Mitsi also offer one as an option.....
FollowupID: 501467

Follow Up By: Member - CS (NSW/ACT) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:16

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:16
Thanks for that John,

that'll teach me for believing the ARB dealer about other suppliers ;)

FollowupID: 501468

Reply By: tdv - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:20

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:20
Got my new prado with lease just before Easter...

GXL TD with Dual batteries (90 amp AGM), Bullbar, Winch (X9 Superwinch), towbar, cargo barrier, headlight protectors, seat covers, 5 BFG AT, Auto, factory mats, extended warranty (to 6 years), roof bars with Rhino basket....I think that was it....for $61500 drive away...it took almost 3 weeks of back and forth though.

Good luck. Brokers can often get good deals too, they weren't too keen with me though due to all the accessories.

Tez.
AnswerID: 240543

Follow Up By: Member - CS (NSW/ACT) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:24

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:24
Excellent, thanks Tez. I know these sorts of figures are something some people don't like talking about so I appreciate the info :)

FollowupID: 501470

Follow Up By: tdv - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:31

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:31
If everyone talked about it we might all get better deals? Glad to help. If you delete the winch (1900) and auto (2000) extended warranty (1200) you would come in under the 57k. They are a great drive...I also toyed with the PAJ. Great value but just didn't feel the same as the Prado in terms of quality. Many will beg to differ....but it was my money...

Tez
FollowupID: 501473

Follow Up By: Member - CS (NSW/ACT) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:08

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:08
I agree with both the sharing info to get better deals and the idea that it's your money to spend on what you want.
I've always thought the toyota vs nissan arguments etc. were a load of ..., it's completely personal preference in the end ;)

FollowupID: 501481

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:57

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 14:57
I purchased my D4D auto prado end 02/07. i brought the Vx model as i wanted traction control. got toyota roo bar, tow bar, headlight & bonnett protectors, all up just over $67. also did a novated lease with the dealer, who came out the best.
A mate also purchased a v6, last month. he faxed all the dealers he could find in the state, gave them a list of what he wanted & waited for the replies. the best was a country dealer.
good luck Tom
AnswerID: 240545

Follow Up By: Member - CS (NSW/ACT) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:09

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:09
Thanks for that Tom :)
FollowupID: 501482

Reply By: leachy_9 - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:04

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:04
I had the same delema when I recently leased my Prado. I couldn't possibly get a GXL with the extras I wanted underthe luxury car limit, so went for a speced up GX. I ended up with:
'07 GX D4D Auto, A/C, cruise, Soveriegn bullbar, towbar, Jarram full rack, ARB rear air locker and air compressor, Safari Snorkel, dual batteries, Suspension upgrade (lovells/bilstien), mats throughout, 4 x rated recover points.
$57,000
Since the GX now comes with 7.5" rims and I couldn't care less about steel vs alloy rims the only thing I lost not getting a GXL was ABS/EBS, tinted glass and a leather steering wheel. All of which I was happy to forgo in order to the extras I wanted.
AnswerID: 240546

Follow Up By: Member - CS (NSW/ACT) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:11

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:11
leachy_9, I had thought of taking the same route, but having done my fair share of high speed driving in training and reality I'm not sure I'm happy going without the ABS, but maybe without the rear locker and suspension upgrade I might be OK price wise. I'm looking for more of an outback tourer than a serious off roader.

As with the other guys, thanks heaps for the info!

FollowupID: 501484

Reply By: TimmyG2 - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:23

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:23
I actually found it cheaper going for a Full size Landcruiser, I got the V8 Auto GXL with Alloy Cruiser bullbar, towbar, tinted windows, driving lights, car mats for $55,935.40. The other bonus was that airconditioning vents are standard in the back with the GXL Cruiser where as with the Prado you had to go for the VX model.
AnswerID: 240553

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 19:33

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 19:33
You can save yourself up to (in most cases) $2000 - $2500 by not paying dealer delivery. This charge by dealers is non enforceable and if a buyer is silly enough to pay it, the dealer will gladly take it. Some refer to it as nothing more than an ultra expensive car wash. Basically that's all it is. If the dealer jacks up claiming that there's absolutely nothing in the deal for him, ask him to show you the invoice he received from the manufacturer/distributor. Bet you that the price he paid was many thousands ($10 - 15k less) less than the asking price. Just don't accept their bleeding heart stories - thats' all they are. Stick to your guns, you'll be the winner.
AnswerID: 240604

Reply By: GU3.0 - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:18

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:18
Chris,
I recently signed up for a new 70 series V8 TD cruiser ute. After shopping around and playing the dealership game i managed to get it for $55500 drive away with Air con & heavy duty towbar. I managed to put a tray, bull bar, spotlights and a winch on it for total price of $60000 all brand new.
AnswerID: 240642

Follow Up By: GU3.0 - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:21

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:21
Sorry forgot to add the ute is a GXL.
FollowupID: 501567