Lokka installation on Rodeo, Jackaroo, MU.

Submitted: Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:38
ThreadID: 45584 Views:7297 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Wondering if anyone has installed Lokka lockers (front end) on a Rodeo, Jackaroo or MU. How long did it take you? Was it as easy as claimed? Did you have installed by workshop, if so, where and how much?

Phill

Reply By: dirty dirty 4x4 - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:25

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:25
got mine installed in the front of my surf in brendale cost $300 and i love it was out the other day showing up a stock cruser had to snatchhim out of the mud and up a hill both of wich i managed with ease, ahhhh life is good
AnswerID: 240554

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:43

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 16:43
Got one in my MU, around 6 hours, got mine done at the servo, $300 sound about right price.
Works great, but remember you don't have to rev the guts out of your truck to get anywhere, if you do you could brake cv's, I have not done one but people have. It would not stop me from putting one in thought.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 240560

Reply By: guzzi - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 18:52

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 18:52
How long depends a lot on your mechanical ability, what you find wrong when it comes apart and whether you fix it or ignore it.
The instructions are clear once everything is in front of you, Setting up the clearances can take a bit of time especially if you have to get shims manufactured to suit. Some shims available on order through holden, I got mine made at work.
Don't just bung it in if the clearances aren't within the tolerances, this will cause grief later.
The hard part is getting the diff out of the car, it requires a fair bit of disasembley to get it out.
While your in there clean, inspect and repack your wheel bearings and locking hubs.
Now would also be the time to replace any of the CV boots that are worn,torn or split and the upper and lower control arm bushings if required.
Also there is a bleep weak little needle bearing that hides on the inside of the hub assembly that is poorly sealed and never greased unless you pull the front end apart. In a magnificent flash of engineering brilliance ISUZU use the stub axle as the inner bearing race for this bearing, so be prepared to find it and the axle race it runs apon totally stuffed, which will require you to replace the bearing ,the seals and the entire axle/CV assembly.
Should also mention Holden are the only ba$tard$ that seem to have the required bearings and seals. Aftermarket axles are available at repco and a few other thieves.
There was a change in the front axle from mid 1995 (IIRC) so if your rodeo was build around then some parts are different to the earlier models (TF series not RA).
I took 2 days (in 43 -45 deg heat :(( ) but I basically overhauled the entire front end, changed all the bearings, CV's, seals, brake pads, bled brakes and anti siezed and greased eveyrthing as it went back together.
I should mention that torsion bars if they've never been apart or had anti sieze applied can be a B@#$#&^^%$ to undo, air tools ie rattle gun and compressor highly recommended.
Having said all that it WAS worth it, as rodeos have limited articulation every time you cock a wheel WITH the Lokka fitted you do keep going, before I used to be stopped dead, steep down hills are much less scary as well, no more tobogan effect every time a wheel comes off the track.
If you have no problems, rust or worn out parts and are mechanically competent you can do this in a day, if your learning and things are worn out and you do need to buy bits and change shims allow a couple of weekends.
Enjoy
Pete
AnswerID: 240590

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:28

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:28
Thanks Guzzi, As a matter of interest, what model, year and how many K's has your unit done? I've got the 98 TF Rodeo, 160k. I will be doing anything that looks remotely worn. I figure, if your in there you might as well do it.

Phill
FollowupID: 501667

Follow Up By: guzzi - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:13

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:13
TF 2.8 DLX twin cab
221,000 km
Late 1994

Yeah fix as you go along, its a PITA of a job in the driveway on jack stands, you really only want to do it once, would be much easier on a hoist.
goodluck
FollowupID: 502113

Reply By: frankl - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:34

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:34
Hi, I had mine installed last week in a 95 triton. I think the front end is a similar setup. Took my mechanic a few hours. Its not a 45 minute job like a website advertises. Longest part was getting the diff out like the previous post stated. We found it easier to remove the left hand side and not both sides cv assembly to get the diff centre out. My first trip (day later) i busted the right hand side cv, and the drive shaft. I had to replace it all with a brand new unit. Lokka cost me $250 install, the repairs cost $320. I think the cv broke because of the way i drove it or was fractured and the lokka added stress to it. I cant comment on it yet if it was a wise move to put a lokka in. I am going to wombat on sunday and if i come back with car intact I will probably have nice words about it. if i break another cv then i think i will take it out, regardless if its because of my driving.
AnswerID: 240656

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:30

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:30
Frankl, I would be very interested to hear how you go.

Phill
FollowupID: 501669

Follow Up By: frankl - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:32

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:32
Will do. hopefully its all good. I took the car through some mud last night and the lokka seems to be installed correctly as I can feel it in the steering.
FollowupID: 501776

Follow Up By: frankl - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 10:19

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 10:19
Had a fun weekend up in Wombat. It rained all day and most of the bog holes were full with water. Took bubs and the Mrs along and they had a ball. The lokka worked a treat. I crawled through things very slowly... whereas before I would make sure I had more than enough momentum to get me through. A real negative to the lokka is the steering. On tight tracks its very hard to turn back if need... not impossible though. Its hard going turning from track to bitumen but I found it easier to not stop and creep through the intersections. Does this extra strain affect the power steering pump because I have a leak that I havent got around to fixing yet? Also, still picking up a knocking noise from the side the cv went, but we now think its simply a ball joint - will have it checked out when i return from holidays. One other question: With the front hubs locked and in 2wd, I still found it difficult to steer. I think i know why its hard but I just need someone to confirm its perfectly normal with the lokka when not in 4wd?
Overall... the lokka worked and is great.. but it does take some getting used to as my driving technique has to change.
FollowupID: 502467

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 12:37

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 12:37
Frankl, Good to hear they went well. As for the hard steering, I've taken your question and put it to the forum under "Steering hard with Lokka". Hope you dont mind. Its a question I'd like answered aswell.

Phill
FollowupID: 502490

Reply By: Ford Rodeo - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:19

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:19
Thankyou all very much for your info. Think it may be above me, so I'll get my mechanic to do the work. He's a mate, so I'll get to help and learn in the process.

Phill
AnswerID: 240741