Cane Toads
Submitted: Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:06
warfer69
Why is'nt this Government doing enough to stop this creature...One was found down here in Victoria on the Mornington Peninsula,Apparently not the first..
From what i've read theye are ravaging
Kakadu National Park.....I also heard they were going to introduce a 10-20 cent bounty per frog..I think if they were serious it should be more like 50 cents and people can make a living...
It makes me IRATE that these introduced
pests are introduced and no-ones balls are accountable when things go wrong.. At least rabbits created a living during the depression/food/pelts etc etc
Reply By: Tonbo - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:40
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:40
Because they dont care about the environment !
If they spent the same money on eradicating the cane toad as they have spent fighting a unwinnable war in Iraq THE TOAD WOULD BE HISTORY.
I live in
Darwin and they are already here, some have been found as big as dinner plates packed full of eggs. All the goannas and other predators are being killed off.
One station south of here put a 60 cm fence of shade cloth around its boundry and it proved highly succesful. Why did they not try that ten years ago before they got out of QLD. It didnt stop em all but slowed them. Now they are in the wetlands. I predict they will be in West Aus by the end of the next wet. Hopefully the dry burn offs may curb there numbers ?
Oh thats right they only have a 10 billion dollar surplus and dont care about the great country we live in, just in making us all scared of " terror" and being little George Bush clones.
Reply By: equinox - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:46
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:46
Ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country :)
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:39
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:39
and cary a golf club!
Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:27
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:27
cmon hairy thats not the done thing
the boffins in
darwin say its cruel and you should freeze them
personally part frozen and a shottie using them as clay pigeons would be another way or as you say a 3 woodlololol
Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 06:56
Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 06:56
Gob & Denny
Yeah they say you should purchase a trap. That you should freeze them as this is a humane way of killing them.
I have a better method. Spray bottle with a mixture of half bleach and half detol. It works
well. So do golf clubs, cricket bats, etc.
We have Queensland to thank for the cane toad and Victoria for the rabbits. Who was responsible for the European Carp?
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:43
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:43
After a few beers i decided to see what would happen if i took to one with a can of CRC and a cig lighter as a flamethrower (they sort of blacken and petrify) - Is that Wrong??
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:04
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:04
Davoe
Mmmm.......I dont think so....as long as its not your last can of CRC and explain to the kids how to do it safely.
Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:32
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:32
Davoe
I find a lot right with that
However the greenie minority up here would want you prosecuted for cruelty.
They should be going out and killing them rather than worrying about what methods others are using.
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:52
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:52
'if memory serves me correctly'.... Mortein works pretty
well too, don't know how price compares to CRC though....:)
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:56
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:56
We could probably make a nice living out of a toad bounty at
Jabiru.
I moved our dog kennel the other day and killed 7 of the buggers, although a group up here kill about 70 odd every thursday night.
I like the idea of a cane toad fence.
Regards Bob
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:17
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:17
When we moved to Qld 20 years ago they were everywhere. They used to get on our verandah and look into the lounge room through the windows.
The pool was full of their eggs, and my dogs used to get sick from trying to nip em.
These days they've all but gone, still see the occasional one.
Playing golf at night and driving erratically got a few of them, but apparently they must follow the money trail :))))
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:31
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:31
Know what you mean.
We only get littelies now.
The big ugly brutes just aren't around any more (toads I mean)
I've heard the native wildlife has learnt how to prey on them.
Flip 'em over and rip open underbelly to avoid the poison sacs.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:35
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:35
Biggest one I ever saw was in a bottle at
Heathlands Ranger Station. Now that one was uglier than me !! :))))
Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:40
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:40
Yeh, and we all know were they've gone.... over hear
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:53
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:53
Another tourist attraction ? Don't worry, they don't survive radiation :))
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 13:15
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 13:15
warfer69
I know your concerns, but realisticly , c'mon you can't blame any Government, take a map of North Australia and imagine just how many millions there will be in the huge Outback and unaccessible terrains across the top end, and you reackon a government should find every single Toad in the area, Just accept the fact that they are here and here to stay unless some form of contol can be found , and of course unknown to you there is reseach going on to try and find some means of erradication, There is a small group of people catching a few up North between WA and NT , what a waste of time , they will not even scratch the surface , The Toads are not travelling down the Hwy's on little bikes
Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:05
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:05
G'day Doug
The Government is the scapegoat for all society's ills.
As you say until a biological solution is found they'll remain a part of the landscape. But I'm sure I read somewhere recently that progress is being made.
On a different note those bustards surely can make a mess - mate's windscreen had an encounter with one and it took a lot of work to get rid of all the fatty bits - must have been a really
well fed one that he took out. Crap everywhere.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 13:22
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 13:22
you blokes in
Melbourne east, and anywhere else for that matter...
keep an eye out for these too
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:04
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:04
just we we need...another feral pest
when are they going to stop importers from bringing these these in, and stop breeders/growers from growing/breeding...bloody aquarium shops....
we have that bloody weed in west lakes in
adelaide that someone dumped into ieter the gutter or into the lakes and which has now spread to the Port River and on its way out to sea.......
Reply By: Willem - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:21
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:21
In another life I was on the exec of The Environment Council in the NT representing the 4x4 mob. In the 1970's we lobbied the Goverment to come up with a cane toad plan. In the 1980's we lobbied the Government. In the 1990's I moved away from the north but the lobbying continued. Nothing but bloody NOTHING happened and the Cane Toads invaded the NT.
I understand that the WA Government is building some sort of fence near the NT Border now to try and stop the Cane Toads.
A simple electric fence would have killed off most of the buggers trying to cross the country and at the least would have minimised the impact.
The Government is there to run the country on behalf of the people. Sometimes we wonder if that is so.
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:42
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:42
It further begs the question as to who the politican was who thought it was a good idea????? And to think many of his ilk are in
canberra as we speak!!
Jack
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:14
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:14
Actually it was the sugar cane industry and the CSIRO ( or its predecessor ).
As usual it's easy to blame politicians. The fact of this matter is politicians of ALL persuasions have ignored this problem for 50+ years. Not even Bob Brown and his environmental hypocrites can hold their heads up on this one.
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:07
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:07
ive got a few suprises for the
pests if they roll into my neck of the woods....I should nt say it...but i will be looking forward to the sport.....hahaha
Reply By: warfer69 - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:48
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:48
Hi Dougie
The REASON i BLAME the Government is from my understanding is that they ok'd the importation of this pest... Let me know if i'm wrong.I am not the type to expect the Government to fix all society's ill's,I am entitled to a disabilty pension (back) but try my hardest not to ever apply for it,just expect them to face up to there stuff up's and they have the monetry means to fix it...
First stop would be to stop sending billions of dollars over 4 years to Indonesia...
Fix our own probs first then send whats left (within reason)
cheers mate
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 06:40
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 06:40
You are a big dull on it though warfer as the government that did that deed was elected out ultimately years ago. So which government did the job? It wsn't this one. You can read on fences here Site Link and trace back to all sorts of other thoughts on the pest. How many other animals do you wish to exclude with your fence larger than 3mm size?
You say "I am not the type to expect the Government to fix all society's ill's," but then go on to justify why you say it. You are talking bunkum putting it politely.
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:32
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:32
This is very interesting
john:
Wasnt suggesting for one minute it was this Government
No nothing about a fence
And as far as talking bunkum,will leave it up to you...
Stop criticizing and come up with a solution man
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:40
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:40
Warfer,
If you "Wasnt suggesting for one minute it was this Government"
then what was this about "Why is'nt this Government doing enough to stop this creature" in your original post ?????????
You wriggle more than Rudd :)))))))
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 19:12
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 19:12
Hi AL
*as the government that did that deed was elected out ultimately years ago. So which government did the job? It wsn't this one.*
Thats what my below answer was too..
*If you "Wasnt suggesting for one minute it was this Government"*
It was in relation to who allowed the introduction of this cane toad and who is responsible/past or previous Governments,which is just using common sense really .....
The cane Toad is a known stuff up (a huge one actually) Dont new Governments generally fix past Government stuff ups..I disagree with Dougie as far as the Governments are not responsible,Obviously it goes for drugs,guns etc too
Gramps
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 19:33
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 19:33
LOL cane toads were introduced into
Queensland by the sugar cane industry in 1935. Joseph Lyons was PM then (United
Australia Party).
I think the horse has well and truly bolted in regards to eliminating cane toads.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 04:37
Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 04:37
wafer, the reason I made the comment was because you said "The REASON i BLAME the Government is from my understanding is that they ok'd the importation of this pest"
You weren't particular which government. I agree with Al who said "You wriggle more than Rudd :)))))))"
Reply By: Kevern - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:49
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:49
Because as with all pollies they can't see past the next election. Frankly they can keep my $16 a week and spend it on issues such as this.
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:50
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:50
Try this.
www.frogwatch.org.au/
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:07
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 22:07
Then try this
www.biarms.com/funny/funny.htm
Steve.
Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 17:34
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 17:34
Loved the cane toad clip, still laughing
Cheers Ray
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 07:28
Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 07:28
Cane toads have been a problem for so long, I am extremely surprised someone hasn't come up with a disease to kill them off (similar to mixamatosis for rabbits). You would think the Qld government would have found something by now, but then again if the whole of Aus worked together and it wasn't so much of a "not a problem in my back yard yet" issue then something may have been discovered already.
In the meantime even a small bounty is better than nothing, the NT seems to have had to work on it's tourism marketing in recent years so I imagine they really need to work on the Cane Toad issue to keep the wetlands and the tourists.
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 07:53
Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 07:53
Hiya Outa Bounds
Yep your spot on
*the NT seems to have had to work on it's tourism marketing in recent years so I imagine they really need to work on the Cane Toad issue to keep the wetlands and the tourists.*
Yeah this does not make sense to me they are certainly DRAGGING their feet and when they said the toads were heading to
Kakadu years ago i thought bleep are'nt they going to employ the Aussie Army lol
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 17:56
Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 17:56
Cane toads have been in
Kakadu for 9 years, they were in the
gulf country 25 years ago.
There was a massive loss of reptiles Fresh water crocs, lizards and snakes, but they seem to be on the increase again, as research suggest that animals learn not to eat them.
As for bio management, it would be hard to make something to kill them and not affect the 50 odd other frog species in
Kakadu, like rabbits they would out breed the bio-method as well.
They were in
Kununurra before they were in
Darwin.
The best one was that the RSPCA said there would be fines of up to $10,000 if you were caught killing a cane toad inhumanely.
Here in
Jabiru everyone has a 7 iron and the call at night time is FOUR!!!!!! LOl
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 01:22
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 01:22
Buddy,
Did you know that cane toads were loose in
Darwin in 1976?
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 01:40
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 01:40
I have lived in
Darwin since 1975 and the first time I saw one was in 2006 just south of Palmerston.
Please Explain.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 02:21
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 02:21
Bit of a tease I guess Steve, but factual.
4 toads were taken there in "good faith". Held under an inverted bucket overnight. Next morning revealed an overturned bucket, with the subsequent
search yielding all four toads; close call eh? The invasion could easily have happened 30 years earlier.
Mate, I agree that they're scum and disasterous, but until biological control fronts up, I reckon we (and more importantly our wildlife) are stuffed. People can practice their golf swings endlessly: it won't make a skerrick of difference to the invasion. (btw, there may be a lucrative trade in both cadavers and skins to universities and Chinese medical wholesalers: perhaps the pioneer invaders could be worth even more than our standard Qld fare?).
Not pretty. Jeff H.
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 02:30
Monday, May 21, 2007 at 02:30
Yeah I got one in
Jabiru last year, over 100mm belted it twice with a hammer and once with a brick,it was late one night so I put a milk create over it and thought I will deal with it in the morning.
Well got up in the morning and it was gone.
Steve.