Internet - Simpson Desert style

Submitted: Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:53
ThreadID: 45619 Views:2588 Replies:11 FollowUps:6

Pat and I are parked at Camp 9 on the Madigan Line having just succeeded in connecting our loan internet device.

We are using a Inmarsat R-BGAN 2 way satellite device the size of a small notebook providing a roadband connection. A Brisbane company has loaned us the equipment to test it out in the Simpson now and Western deserts later in the year.

It finally makes up for the flakey signal with the Globalstar.

The desert, you just gotta love it!

Back at Mt Dare for June and July.

Ian@Mt Dare

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:58

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:58
Envious here

Mind you I'm working on some sexy equations and it is warm and dry.

How's the sand soaky up the recent rain Ian.

AnswerID: 240776

Follow Up By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:04

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:04
Hi Robin,

The water has soaked into the sand about 2 inches. Easy to negotiate the sand but the vegetation is extensive and makes the track hard.

Ian@Mt Dare
FollowupID: 501698

Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:58

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 14:58
Hi Ian

Great that you have a connection. Guess you can't get mush more remote!

In the future I'll do a lot more travel (retiring) and am currently researching connection methodolgy.

Satelitte might be too costly for me and I'll have to settle with wireless connection when near a Next G tower but it certainly won't work out in the desert.

AnswerID: 240777

Reply By: Willem - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:11

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:11
G'day Ian and Pat

Are there no boundaries?...lol

Will drop in and see you in mid July. Just doing a short desert stint this year to Alice after the National Gathering at Warraweena

AnswerID: 240780

Reply By: equinox - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:40

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:40
So is this the most remote Exploroz post ever?????

I was hoping to own that one next month but I can't justify hiring a Bgan and a Sat phone.

AnswerID: 240785

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:45

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:45
Pardon my ignorance, but what's a Bgan ?
FollowupID: 501703

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 16:01

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 16:01
Hi Footie,

Check out this site here

All good stuff!!!

FollowupID: 501704

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 16:05

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 16:05
Thanks, I appreciate that. Rentals aren't too exe but add some data and bingo. You'd want to use a web browser on your email, wouldn't you.
FollowupID: 501705

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:44

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:44
I think that these type of posts should be banned!!
Stuck in the office, at work, cleaning the Barbecue, painting the laundry, taking the wife shopping, mutter mutter @#$!!
AnswerID: 240787

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:47

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 15:47
G'Day Ian. And now for the $64 question.....do you NEED all the technological gee whiz stuff , is it just internet or a full comms setup ?
Lucky sod, I'm stuck at home for another 6 weeks. :)))
Have fun
AnswerID: 240789

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:04

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:04
gooddat footy
ive still got 11 weeks to go before i can have 5 weeks playtime

FollowupID: 501730

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:07

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:07
11 weeks used to be several lifetimes in my old job :))
FollowupID: 501732

Reply By: rbt - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 17:20

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 17:20
i jus' got G3 by the modem option..

i reckon there is quite a few remote places with towers stickin' up into the air... an am field testing next week....
AnswerID: 240824

Reply By: Niffty - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:37

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:37
I not the least bit envious .Im going fishing on the weekend.Bet you cant do that!
Good luck to you.
Niffty
GQ HQ Perth.
AnswerID: 240859

Reply By: Diver1 - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:57

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:57
I must admit technology can be good while your away - you get to rub it in where you are!!

Have fun Ian and Pat.....wish we were there....

Hey our next door neighbour's are heading your way - well Mt dare anyway......leaving tomorrow but are only going 50km the first day so it could be while before they get anywhere!!

Laura
AnswerID: 240903

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:32

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:32
Hope the call costs are cheeper these days. Mate used to be a skipper on a prawn trawler and wife had to send him an urgent fax via sat phone linkage cost $80 for the one page. Ouch.
So having the luxury of playing on the internet via sat phone could cost you an arm and three legs. Good luck to you though.

AnswerID: 240986

Reply By: anglepole - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:55

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 12:55
Gee

Sailmail using PactorIII and HF is cheap at $310 a YEAR

It also works well in the desert.

AnswerID: 240990