2002 GU 111 3.0lt turbo or the1999 GU 4.2 lt

Submitted: Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 16:03
ThreadID: 45655 Views:3246 Replies:15 FollowUps:28
Hi all we are planned to do the big lap in Sept and so Iam having a major Dilemma with car choices Do i go for the patrol 3.0 turbo or the older 4.2 lt Turbo manual Iam towing 1.5 ( i hope ) TONNE FULLY LADEN Jayco Eagle outback the latter has 165,000 k,s on the clock

Cheers JD

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 16:09

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 16:09
I'd go the 4.2 without any hesitation. Even though I own a 2003 3.0 GU.

Patrolman Pat
AnswerID: 241018

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 07:47

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 07:47
Good call Pat

Thinking of the same thing with the Navara
Looking for more comfort

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 502013

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:01

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:01
Depends on whether you want to do a full lap or only part of a lap. Go the 4.2 and throttle back on the long hills to keep the temp down. At least it won't go BANG somewhere.
AnswerID: 241023

Reply By: yakodi - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:03

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:03
Go the 4.2td GU. Longterm towing in hot weather with the 3L increases the risk of engine failure, oil gets too viscous & fails to lubricate the rear pistons 3 & 4 when running the engine for extended periods or in warm weather. We have had first hand experience with this issue with our 3L October 2002 GU. We still own it but are looking to offload it for a 5 seater troopy or 105 series standard Land cruiser. We are now very sceptical of these new small capacity diesel motors that claim to produce so much power and torque yet offer very little in the way of long-term reliable motoring. 2.5 - 3.0 L t/diesels towing 3plus tonnes - for how long????
AnswerID: 241024

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:34

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:34
If nissan build it...not long, but no one else seem to have problems
FollowupID: 501925

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:30

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:30
Toyota 3lts aren't much better
FollowupID: 501944

Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:59

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:59
I rang the local diesel specialist a while back, and asked his advice on what to buy, his reply was the 3lt toyota was the only one he would buy, and injectors etc were cheaper then the others. He said they have all been known to blow up at some time.
Anyway I finished up buying a petrol less grief when something goes wrong and they last just as long as the average diesel these days, excluding 4.2s of course
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 501990

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 22:42

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 22:42
Think you will find a very few of the 90`s era toyos had a prob which was quickly sorted, unlike nissan who insist they have never had a prob.
FollowupID: 501998

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 09:36

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 09:36
When my 4runner was 12 years old I got a recall noitice to replace part of the steering, nc , thats impressive no wonder toyota is now no 1 in the world
FollowupID: 502026

Follow Up By: navaraman - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:02

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:02
"When my 4runner was 12 years old I got a recall noitice to replace part of the steering, nc , thats impressive no wonder toyota is now no 1 in the world
Cheers Pete "

That's good service, Toyota let you drive a defective vehicle for twelve years before realising there was a problem. ;)

Patrolman Pat
FollowupID: 502054

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:19

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:19
Pat Hi ,
Do you think any other co. would bother doing a recall on a 12 year old vehicle. I think not This vehicle is now 14 years old and apart from the recall has had a new radiator, new shocks , new rear springs and thats it
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 502150

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:31

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:31
Either vehicle should be fine IMO. If you opt for the GU ZD30, just make sure it has had an impeccable service history and be sure to change the oil every 5000km with the Nissan oil for that motor. I would very much doubt that you would have a problem if it has been serviced correctly and fed the correct oil.
AnswerID: 241029

Follow Up By: deserter - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:46

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 17:46
Crikey mate - do a search on the various 4x4 forums about the 3.0L Patrol problems. Most people wouldn't touch them these days. Apart from anything - Nissan's after sales response to a known problem is woeful.
FollowupID: 501922

Follow Up By: Member-Granpa Joe - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:04

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:04
How about you do some research yourself mate? ......... You obviously haven't !
FollowupID: 501923

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:28

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:28
one must remember the old saying "an unhappy customer will tell 100 people where as a happy customer will tell 7". While there seems to be cause for caution with the 3LT ie make sure its service is perfect ect. Maybe 200 have gone bang.......Thousands have NOT!!!.........Its like with EB falcons ALWAYS blowing heads.....many did, lots more didn't......My two never did and I neglected them as well.
If you want an overpriced car which can't do what you want on a hot day cause it gets warm cause it was NEVER ment to have a snail bolted to the side go the 4.2......If you want a fuel effecient, powerfull motor go for a PERFECTLY maintained 3lt.
BTW way I own none of the above, I own the other motor that apparently goes bang with out warning all the time too the 2.8

Cheers Stefan.....dodging bullets from the 4.2 guys!!! LOL
FollowupID: 501943

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:46

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:46
BANG BANG BANG BANG.....
here come the bullets Stefan......
overpriced.....????? hmmm don't think so.
Can't do waht you want on a hot day?? why?? i live in karratha man, and tow my boat up the beach, low range work with it in tow, for hours, needle doesnt move, and loads of power.
Fuel efficeint....hmmm, you got me there.....bugger.
but if you ever need a tow, give one of the BIG boys a call....we might help ya....only cause its kinda a NISSAN.....LOL
Cheeers mate
Wayne-o
FollowupID: 501947

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:50

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:50
Aint it funny to see all the grenade owners running to their defence...

I have a Turbo 4.2... I have no overheatin problems.. never have..

I would have my testicles removed with a bottle opener and stuck up my nose before I even considered thinking about a grenade.

4.2 overpriced? Poor people cant afford cheap things.
FollowupID: 501948

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:51

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:51
ouch got me in the knee cap ya bugger, prices over here seem to have creeped up a little for good low km 4.2's since they were pulled by nissan...

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 501949

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:53

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:53
woo-hoo got 2 bites so far.....keep em coming boys!! LOL your big motors arent trying to compensate for other dept's are they????

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 501951

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:55

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:55
ha ha ha,
testicles....wouldnt go that far.....um ok i would.....
Stefan, my truck is for sale.......well priced....between....nah, not for sale, and dont offer me testicles.....please...
theyre expensive because theyre true tuff trucks, rare as hens teeth, solid as brick sh-tter, and they dont make em anymore
FollowupID: 501953

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:57

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:57
but really it does show how rumors ect start, I have heard of 4.2's getting warm, I have no first hand exp of such and 4.2 owners will say theirs doesn't.....same with 3lts I have heard they go bang...no first hand exp of such and many say it wont happen...

Stefan
FollowupID: 501956

Follow Up By: Leroy - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 20:44

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 20:44
Stefan - no rumor, it's true. The 4.2's have overheating issues. I know this for a fact. I was driving a mates 4.2 up Billy Goats Bluff new years 05 and it was stinking hot - 40 deg. I had to pull over several times to let the big girl cool down. The air con cut out and I had to wind the windows down while waiting. The 3l's just cruised on by with windows up, aircon on and never looked like stopping. So I don't know how one gets on towing 1.5T around the block in summer.

Leroy
FollowupID: 501971

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:07

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:07
Leroy,
some may have...perhaps poorly maintained cooling systems.
my experience,
i recently towed my boat, approx 1.5t...but it draws a lot of wind, perth to karratha, 1600km, 45+celsius, sat on 100kmph, aircon flatout, engel, flatout, DVD on for the missus....overtaking road trains (slow ones) no problems at all.
Only down fall is the air to air intercooler. If you stop and idle, the rising hot air heats the intercooler right up, and it wont cool back down for a long time at highway speeds, so a slight decreasin in power can be noticed, a water to air, would fix this but not that big of a problem, the big girl would still do 140kmph (not on purpose before the bullets come, i was overtaking an misjudged slightly) with the boat on.
Wayne-o
FollowupID: 501977

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:34

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:34
Leroy.....did it actually "OVERHEAT"? (as opposed to you witnessing the temp needle going over to the right side of the gauge?)

I've written more on this forum than just about anybody else. My 4.2TD used to get warm on a hot day (just like it's owner). I overcame the air-con cutting out quite simply by unplugging the switch in the bottom of the radiator (passenger's side one).

On New Years Eve 2004/5 I did a trip from here to the riverland. The ambient temp was about 43oC, even though it was 5.30pm when we left. I decided to just drive the bloody thing without slowing down, to see what would happen. I drove it for nearly 2 hours (to Gawler, where we stopped for tea). I never slowed down due to the temp gauge being right over on the right side of the gauge. The VDO gauge I'd fitted was sitting on a constant 118oC. The ol' girl never missed a beat.....it didn't "OVERHEAT". There seem to be a lot of blokes who, upon seeing their temp gauge go beyond the halfway mark, immediately jump to the conclusion that the motor is "OVERHEATING". I'm not sure what the real definition is; but to me it means that the vehicle has reached a point where steam is eminating from the engine bay and you need to pull over and top up the radiator......THAT never happened to me during the 212,000klm I owned the 4.2TD. It's a great truck; (but the 6.5 is better...hahahaha)
FollowupID: 502161

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:44

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:44
Roachie,

It was similar ambient temp when I was driving this vehicle. It was a mates vehicle and I was not happy to see the temp gauge go as high as it did so I drove acordingly. I had a responsibilty to look after his vehicle hence I was not prepared to dirve it until it boiled just to see if it would blow a bit of steam!

Leroy

FollowupID: 502166

Reply By: Member QLD Steve & Lorraine Mc - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:12

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:12
Juangio
Go the 4.2 they are like a old cattle dog faithful as all hell & just keep workin, better than than buying a stick of dynamite.
Hope that gives ya something to chew on?? But its your choice.
Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 241032

Reply By: Wayne-o - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:46

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 18:46
go the 4.2,
spend a grand on the exhaust, give is some new oil.....top truck
enjoy
WAyne-o
AnswerID: 241043

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:34

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 19:34
Go the 4.2

BUT remember some 1999 GU's had a gearbox problem. Not sure what, but I think it is 5th gear.

Why not buy a 1997/98 Nissan 4.2 Turbo. Much cheaper and you can spend the money saved on fuel or side trips.

AnswerID: 241057

Follow Up By: Leroy - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 20:39

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 20:39
'Why not buy a 1997/98 Nissan 4.2 Turbo. Much cheaper and you can spend the money saved on fuel or side trips'

Becasue they factory didn't bring them out until '99

Leroy
FollowupID: 501969

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 20:47

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 20:47
William
Definately 5th gear and 2000's GU's had the problem as well. Did ours after driving 17000ks or so from Brisbane back to Brisbane via WA about 300ks from home. Lucky in a way on the last day and not the first day of the trip.
Jenkie

FollowupID: 501974

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:19

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:19
Yerr Leroy, you tripped me up again, Only the 2.8 was turboed.

Anyway he could fit an aftermarket turbo. I'm not a fan of turbos though, too problematical according to posts here.

Robyn

William???????

FollowupID: 501980

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:34

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 12:34
Mine and my uncle's 4.2, 2000 and 2001 models respectively, have both had the spline shaft strip on the 5th gear so I agree with Robyn in saying it is a problem with those built around this date.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 502058

Reply By: Juangio - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:07

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:07
Jesus Fellas what a responce sorry I asked such a loaded question I did not mean to start a Grenade-athon , throwing contest , I thank you all for the time to respomd I put it out there because I had no one to bounce the idea off and wasn,t going to bring it up with a dealer. Once again many thanks I can see the general consensus

As granpa Fangio always said if it,s not flat to the boards Son your'e not trying hard enough !
AnswerID: 241081

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:10

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:10
Go hard or go home.....what you didn't get bogged? You obviously didnt try hard enough!

Shiny side up fellas,
Wayne-o....OUT
FollowupID: 501978

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 23:02

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 23:02
Hey Juangio

Look at all the negative responses that Nissan owners have said, you know the ones EG: 3.0 lt goes bang the 4.2 gets hot and so on.

Well Go the Cruiser cos it just keeps on going, no bang or over heating it just keeps on going.

Better interior, cheaper parts etc.

I wouldn't buy anything else, as it just wouldn't be good business sense.

To prove my point I have not seen one Nissan, with tour operator rego in the NT, now that must tell you something.

Start shooting

Steve.
AnswerID: 241101

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 00:35

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 00:35
Well bugger me Steve ...i wasnt aware that Toyotas never have any probs....havent you just done gearbox up in one of yours??...i own a Nissan 4.2 TD and yep i have had my share of probs with it, can honestly say though that i have never had an overheating prob....my oldest son also owns a 3.0 TD patrol just clicked over 250000 ks and never had a prob until these last few days when the clutch decided to crap itself......so in answer to your ( To prove my point I have not seen one Nissan, with tour operator rego in the NT, now that must tell you something. ) i say so what!!..........Cheers ......Dave
FollowupID: 502006

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 08:27

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 08:27
Hook Line and Sinker

Steve.
FollowupID: 502017

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 23:11

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 23:11
For your light weight van, the 3 Lr makes an excellent tow vehicle - rest assured the one you have listed is not in the "grenade" series, as so many cynics here love to call any 3 ltr Patrol. Take it easy, and don't flog it hard when towing, what ever vehicle you choose.

I sure hope you are going to allow more time than September to do the trip!

AnswerID: 241102

Reply By: Phil P - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 01:03

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 01:03
I can't believe the passion people have for a vehicle, who cares if it's a Toyota, Nissan, BMW etc. These corporates are laughing all the way to bank with these sorts of comments people have about their brands.

I have personally owned nearly every brand of vehicle ever made and guess what? even the $300K Porsche had issues!

It's just a vehicle.

My experience is, the newer the vehicle the more comfortable it is. The 3.0 Nissan is extremely good value. A very few have had some engine problems, whilst the majority have had a fantastic experience with them. Other brands have Diff problems, front ends collapsing, over heating problems etc and have to rush off and get them serviced every 5000klm.

My 2c, there is no dilemma, go for the newest, lowest klm vehicle in your budget range, in this case the 3.0 Patrol and enjoy the big lap!

AnswerID: 241121

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 08:40

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 08:40
Juangio

I have a 2000 4.2 TD Patrol and it is a very comfortable vehicle to drive.
It has been very reliable. Towing my camper trailer I use about 15 lts / 100 km. Mine has now done over 177,000 kms and runs better than new. The 4.2 is run in at about 150,000 kms.

I know others with the 3.0 TD patrols. Their economy when not towing is far better than mine but when towing is about the same or worse. The 3.0 TD motor is not a reliable motor. They self destruct. The fuel pumps go at the sniff of contaminated fuel and cost thousands to replace.

The 4.2 you are looking at is a 1999 model. Get the VIN and contact Nissan Customer Service. It was some of the 1999 and 2000 models that had the faulty fifth gear spline. Check if the one you are looking at had the faulty spline and if so has it been replaced.

I hope this info helps.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 241132

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 16:32

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 16:32
Wow, that question really does set the cat in with the pigeons. If you search previous threads you just might buy a Toyota, at the very least you will go the 4.2 Nissan. The 4.2 is an out dated motor(why you can't buy it new any more).
If you read all the previous posts/threads and still buy a 3ltr, well :)))). Enough said!
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 241197

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:10

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:10
Get the 2002 one you will love it!

Much more creature comforts for touring.

And better fuel economy.
AnswerID: 241235

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:40

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:40
Why are you so set on a diesel ?
A 4.8 will be cheaper than a 4.2 to purchase, only use 2.5 km/lt more fuel than the 4.2, no chance of going bang like the 3lt, no overheating issues, and look in the archives for any problems... you won't find any. And best of all....185kw !
How many 4.8 owners do you hear trying to find more power compared to 4.2 and 3lt owners ?
With the price of diesel now being more than petrol most times brings the running costs closer, then add in half the service costs, finished with cheaper purchase price and you'll probably be ahead.

Happy travels
Pezza
AnswerID: 241252