Rodeo 1993 4x4 Turbo Diesel

Submitted: Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 07:50
ThreadID: 45675 Views:3311 Replies:4 FollowUps:16
I am looking at buying a 1993 model Rodeo 4x4 turbo diesel. I would appreciate any neg/pos feedback on this model. How many kms can I expect out of the engine/turbo, etc. The one i am looking at has done 200,000km and had the engine/turbo rebuilt at 170,000km, the asking price is $8990. This is my first 4wd so any advice on what to look for would be appreciated. Thankyou.

Reply By: SARocks - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:37

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:37
spare parts for Rodeo over 5 yrs is a nightmare. Rodeo spares are usually 40% more than other brands top price. Same with Jackaroo parts heaps of common parts not available from GMH. Customers have heart attacks at the spares counter and on the phone as the phone goes silent when you tell them the prices.
for a 93 model that is top $ price. Buy an agency GMH product at your peril.
AnswerID: 241148

Follow Up By: Crocabout - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 11:05

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 11:05
Thanks for your reply mate, I currently have a 1990 2wd/auto crew cab so I know where your coming from with the parts/$, but I have found it to be a tough little truck. This one I test drove (T/diesel) goes just as well as my current petrol/auto.
Thanks for the heads up!
FollowupID: 502046

Reply By: madfisher - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:53

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 10:53
Jackaroo world inb melbourne has discounted parts by up to 50% . Should be able to google it. If it has a new motor should be good buying as they are one of the most reliable 4wbys. I have heard of one of these moters doing 700000ks, but it was doing long trips all the time and seldom turned off.
Make sure it has no rust and check the chasis for cracking, even better get a professional to check it out for you should cost arround $2oo.00.
Yes parts are dear but not much goes wrong with them. My old 91 Jack had done 218000ks when I sold it and the young bloke who brought it put another 80000ks on it before writiung it off. Mates 2001 model has 80000ks and has not putr a foot wrong.
MAKE sure it has a good service history , no rust and you cant go wrong.
AnswerID: 241152

Follow Up By: Crocabout - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 11:12

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 11:12
Pete,

Thanks for the info on Jackaroo world and feedback. This Roey has the invoices with it as proof of rebuilt engine/turbo, spent $6000 on it 18mths/30,000kms ago, so im thinking I should get a couple of years and at least 150,000kms plus out of it.
Thanks again.
Croc
FollowupID: 502048

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:42

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 13:42
No reason you will not get 4oooooks out of it. remember to replace the injectors at 150000ks or you can burn a hole in a piston, other than that their one of the most reliable small diesels arround
FollowupID: 502073

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:52

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:52
Madfisher,

I heard that Jackeroo world had closed its doors??? Anyone aware?? I tried ringing them a couple of weeks back and got a 'pleae check the number and try again"

Also been waiting that long for a reply via email

FollowupID: 502138

Follow Up By: Crocabout - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 08:18

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 08:18
Pete,
Thanks for your advice about injectors/150,000kms, I will keep this in mind. I will be a very happy little camper if I can get 400,000kms out of it.

Croc
FollowupID: 502284

Follow Up By: Crocabout - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 08:22

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 08:22
Mike,
After Pete's advice I checked out "Jackeroo World" and the web site still looks active although I didn't try to contact them so can't say for sure.

Croc
FollowupID: 502285

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:00

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:00
Thanks croabout, there website was where I took their number from and got the email address. Perhaps they are 'busy' and will get back to me when they can :(
FollowupID: 502290

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:58

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:58
93 model and only 200,000 km...Im impressed, my 02 already has 175,000km!

As mentioned, some parts can be quite expensive, however it pays to shop around and look at after market. Recently I required a new starter motor, genuine was in the vacinity of $1400, got an aftermarket for substantially less. Also there are many wreckers around that stock rodeos as they were a popular farm vehicle, so second hand parts are not out of the equation. Keep the services up to them, treat them nice and they'll look after you for a long time.

$8990 would be, IMO a tad too steep, however if its only done 200,000 and the recond motor is 30,000 km old, it could be worth it.
AnswerID: 241244

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 21:10

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 21:10
Gee Mike. My 02 july has done 60000, where do you go. Brian
FollowupID: 502175

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 21:13

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 21:13
LOL, a trip or two to Wagga and back certainly clocks up a few kays!!

Also a daily driver, average about 500 a week
FollowupID: 502177

Follow Up By: Crocabout - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 08:39

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 08:39
Mike,

The dealer is going to give me $2500 trade in on my rodeo, it has done 360,000kms and can only be decribed as "fair condition", this means a $6500 changeover which suits my budget. Also the the "new one" has an arb bull bar and tow bar and the whole thing is in pretty good nick. What do u think?
Thanks for the advice.

Croc
FollowupID: 502289

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:02

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:02
MAte,

if its in good nick and is within your budget, why not. For the same money you will get a 'fair' 96 model, so the one you are looking at sounds alright to me. Make sure you have a gtood look at the mechanics of it (look for oil leaks, blown seal, yada yada) , and if it looks good from that perspective, it should see you through for a good length of time.
FollowupID: 502291

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 19:10

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 19:10
Croc Hi,
I have always found it cheaper in the long run to pay a bit extra for a good one, it will pay dividends in the long run. Short runs and too much ilding do kill diesels,

Give it a good long run, give it plenty of stick without over reving it and it will go like a dream. A arb bar and tbar would be worth close to 2 grand.
Good luck mate Pete
FollowupID: 502398

Follow Up By: Crocabout - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 09:17

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 09:17
Pete,
Thanks for the words of advice and encouragement, I will post a comment after Ive picked it up and had a chance to try it out.
All the best,
Croc
FollowupID: 502458

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 21:29

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 21:29
G'day Croc.
Our 1994 unit had 280000 when sold in 2002. Had to replace a power steering hose, (bummer!!, the cost probly hurt!)no, had one made locally : fuel economy was pretty good (better than our 2002 model by 12%; turbo lag was appalling [but I believe that that is a matter of tweaking], and I'd be happy enough with such a reliable vehicle again.

Begs the question though - why the rebuild at 170000 ? Unexpected water encounter....?
Good luck eh: shame GMH has dropped the ball since then. Jeff H.
AnswerID: 241266

Follow Up By: Crocabout - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:05

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:05
Jeff H
Thanks for the feedback.
I talked to the mechanic that did the work and asked that question, he said the vehicle had mainly done short trips around town with only 1 or 2 long trips and that may have contributed. I live 30km from work and travel to a mates farm (500Km) every 2-3 weeks, so hopefully I won't suffer the same prob.

Croc
FollowupID: 502293

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:05

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 09:05
Jeff H,

funny you mention the difference in economy between models, My previous 96 from memory was always better on ecomomy, and one of my travelling partners who has a 96, camper and fairly well loaded seems to outdo or equal me on the economy stakes in my 02?? I would have though it would have been the other way around.

FollowupID: 502294

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:48

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 21:48
I've got a bad feeling that this follow-up will go to the wrong mail, but that's life.
Mike W, I thought you bought the last of the fantastic 2.8L jobs. No?
If 'yes', then how did Isuzu/GMH compensate for the appalling drop in fuel economy?
We (I), were/was naieve enough to think that a revised, intercooled 3L engine (built date 12.01), would be better all round. Sure, performance is up : I can now overtake a B Double (When I let the Driver know, from within the dust,), in about 2 airstrip lengths: previously it took 4 or 5.

Am pretty well resigned to spending $3000 on a Beaudesert exhaust plus gas:
(any comments would be welcome).

It strikes me as sad that our "baby" 4wd vehicles have become softer and softer.(Hilux, Navara, Bravo, Rodeo) More comfortable, electronic every thing, all singing ,all dancing.
So if it fails, you're ffffffffffar from being able to fix the bloody thing.
What happened to Diahatsu Rocky?
What, not enough prestige at the school pick-up point?

Just keep an eye on the Chinese invasion (sorry Doug'n Dusty).
Jeff H.
FollowupID: 502442