Troopy suspension ironman, OME, EFS????

Submitted: Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 17:51
ThreadID: 45691 Views:13094 Replies:14 FollowUps:8
Hi, just wondering if anyone can guide me in the right direction with suspension choice here. Currently the suspension on the 96 troopy is sagging under the weight of the new bull bar and the rear is also below its proper height. I am thinking of getting the Ironman kit for it but there is a lot of negative coments going around but there also is some positives.
I am doing a trip up north to the cape and along the savanah way to Darwin soon so I want it to be good enough to handle those roads with a bit of weight in the back and pulling my builders trailer (just a single axel, not that heavy)
Ant advice would be appreciated
Joe

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:05

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:05
Joe,

I have never been a big fan of Ironman suspension.

In my old 75 Series I had Lovell's springs. A very big spring pack, great when loaded but take the weight out and the ride was hard.

When I changed the suspension on the 78 Series I went for TJM Series 2000 plus air bellows in the back. This means that I did not have to go the heavy duty, but a medium lift. This still takes the weight when loaded up for a trip and will still give a good ride when empty.

Lovell's, TJM or ARB would be the suspension to look at.

AnswerID: 241214

Follow Up By: Bluey221 - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:15

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:15
Thanks for the advice Wayne. I am not looking to spend heaps of money as I would rather spend it travelling. I thought the Ironman lift kit was a reasnoble choice for the money. Just looking back over their add though in 4WD monthly it says lift kits for 75 series cruiser is $1174with nitro gas shocks......now is that just for 4 shockies or springs as well????? hhhhmmmmm has to be the full kit aye?
What is it that you don't like about the Ironman range?
Joe
FollowupID: 502115

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:32

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:32
Joe,

Ironman is not that good for the money, really they should be a lot cheaper.

The reason that they are so cheap is the use crap steel in the springs.

They don't work out cheap when you have to replace the suspension in 6 months time when it sags again.

If you wanted to sell the vehicle in a month or two use there suspension, but if you want travel and carry a load and keep the vehicle for some time, put a decent suspension in. It will cost a bit but it will be an investment.

FollowupID: 502118

Follow Up By: Bluey221 - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:58

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:58
Ok Wayne you seem to know your stuff......how much do think a good all round suspension package would cost me.....springs....shocks....bushes....shackles??? and what brand.....rancho seems to be the pic reading back through archives.
Joe
FollowupID: 502123

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:07

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:07
Joe,

You would be looking at $2000 plus for the lot.

With the leaf springs on the Troopie, you don't have to go over board with the shocks. The springs do a lot of the damping just by the leafs rubbing together.

As for what brand that will be up to you but the three that I have said I don't think that you could go past them.

BTW make sure that the "U" bolts are changed. The old ones would be stretched.

FollowupID: 502127

Follow Up By: Bluey221 - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:16

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:16
Thanks for delivering the bad news wayne. looks like I will be up for more money than I thought. The shocks in the front are monero and are not that old so with your advice with the leafs taking most of the dampening I will just keep them in and get some new springs. I was also thinking of just getting them re-set but I get too many mixed opinions on this topic. I can get it all re-set for about $570 so i still might consider that and a pair or new shocks for the back. Sorry to keep bothering you but what are your opinions on re-set springs?
Joe
FollowupID: 502130

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:36

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:36
Joe,

Re setting springs is again is only a temporary fix.

They will sag again.

Even if they were done as a cold reset they will still sag.

FollowupID: 502134

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:08

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:08
Hi Bluey221.
I have had trouble with Ironman as well and I am a mechanic with my own shop. (Hi Wayne)
The foam cell shocks are supposed to be better but I won't be using them again. I have had alot of success and great feedback from EFS and their price is reasonable as well.
I run Lovells and Bilsteins in my prado and I can't be happier. I also have firestone airbags in the rear for the same reason Wayne has them, once the weight is removed the HD springs are way to hard so with air bags you have the best of both worlds.
Koni shocks suit the troopies really well and if you are intending on going to the cape in the future, you will need good shocks for the corrogations. I think with Ironman you will have to replace it soon enough so better spending the money up front once and do it properly. I am not a fan of OME and if it was mine I would be talking to EFS. Just my two bobs worth.
Scott
FollowupID: 502143

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:14

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 18:14
Bluey, Have you considered using auxillary coils front and rear instead of replacing the leaves? I did this to an MQ long time ago and it transformed the vehicle. Have them fitted to the rear on my GU ute, again transformed the vehicle. Try www.freds4wd.com.au It used to be just as cheap to add the coils as it was to change spring packs, not sure now thouggh. Something to consider. John

AnswerID: 241216

Follow Up By: Bluey221 - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:01

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:01
Thanks or the advice, I checked out the site. Which package did you go for and how much was the total cost? Do you need to buy new shockies or are they supplied in the total?
Joe
FollowupID: 502125

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:15

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:15
Bluey, I only had coils fitted in the rear of my ute, was already coil front, was about $600 to fit those, I already had longer shocks to fit. With the MQ I used koni shocks, but destroyed them on the CSR, they where rebuilt and no problems after that. I am using Rancho adjustables in the rear and Togh Dog adjustables in the front. I have found the Ranchos are not suitable for the front of GQ/GU's. I have had no experience with Toyotas at all, so I will not comment on what shock to use etc in your situation. Hope this makes sense and is some use to you. John

AnswerID: 241237

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:52

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:52
Joe
I'm not going to say I fitted OME because all the others will roast me for pushing a product , so No I won't say I got OME , what I will say is that my Troopy was like yours, , once I fitted the new system it was like driving a different vehicle, It's a bit like driving a gutless Rally car but when you get it wound up on a dirt road ...Wow.
ARB will ask you what weights etc and fit springs to suit , the rears on mine are hefty , more so than a trayback , So now the choice is yours , it's your dollars your spending, Don't rush in , absorb the feedback from here and elswhere,

Doug

AnswerID: 241241

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:22

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 20:22
ARB have always had good leaf springs, and I think you'll find their Dakar range is cheaper than you think. I've got their heavy rear leaf springs on my 79series, and they have been good. They will push you to replace with their shocks - thats up to you. If your Monroes are near new, I'd be keeping them.
AnswerID: 241251

Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 23:49

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 23:49
Hi Joe

I see your reference about not spending the $ ,,, but we fitted new springs and shocks F & R as a part of the upgrade to 3,700kg GVM on the LC79 ute,,, ARB have the ADR approved mod,,, all legal and accepted by insurance company.

Done about 7,000 km since fitted but SWMBO did about 4,000 of them,, I'm impressed as I expect this to be a long term investment but the cost may put you off.
However,,,
You get what you pay for so as mentioned above in some other replies, think carefully $1200 wasted now then more $ to corect any problems could be ultimately more expensive.

New set up is like chalk and cheese.

2 cents worth , hope there is some logic here.

Barry
AnswerID: 241317

Reply By: Ford Rodeo - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 00:28

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 00:28
Bluey, I put Ironman F&B in my Rodeo, 60k and Cape York twice, no drama's.
I think people FEEL better when they spend more. Just my opinion. Just go Ironman.

Phill
AnswerID: 241322

Reply By: Member - John L G - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:08

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:08
Bluey

I have just been through this exercise with my cruiser pictured and it takes a while to sort all the BS! from what works.

Had jaw dropping quotes for OME/Dakar at $3000+ for the springs and shocks, ubolts, shackles etc and ended up giving the business to West Coast Suspension at less than half that price.

Vehicle transformed now in its drive-ability.

I already had air bags in the back but found them doing all the work for a basically tired old suspension. Now they can do what they were designed to do and assist when the vehicle is loaded to the gunnels
AnswerID: 241382

Reply By: Bat - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:55

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:55
Hi, Bluey I have a 1997 Troopy with Ironman suspenion it has done about 110,000km the back sagged a bit so I put air bags in it ,the front is still good.It has being to the cape,the canning, simpson desert and a lot of other places.Last year after coming off the Rudall River one front schock was leaking so replaced both,plus it has towed a 21 foot caravan for 4year,I would give it a go it will do the job.Bat
AnswerID: 241385

Reply By: Black Stump - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 15:44

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 15:44
Gday Bluey,

I have a 92 Troopy and fitted Ironman about 2 years 50000k ago. Haven't had any problems. The ride is hard when empty but when loaded for a trip you can really feel the suspension working and the ride is much better - not so harsh / rough.

Ironman been fine for me but no doubt if you spent more it would be better again.

Bj
AnswerID: 241404

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 15:53

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 15:53
Hey Joe

Just be careful if you put springs on that are to stiff you could end up cracking the diff houseing.

I alway had mine reset and an extra leaf , it worked for me I would get 18 months with 9 pax and a trailer.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 241405

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:49

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:49
have a look at ride pro.
yes we sell them at work and we used to sell another brand but wernt up to the job on the mine vehicles.
been using ride pro on mine vehicles for around 6 months now and so far no problems.
AnswerID: 241423

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:01

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 18:01
I'll admit I am an OME fan and had them in the hilux. 270k before I had to replace the front springs due to them sagging but only minimal and had OME shocks as well. They got replaced at the same time as the front springs. The rear springs were still great when I sold it and had done nearly 300k just changed rear shackle rubbers and put in greasable shackles. I reckon its a great product. I used the dakkar springs. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 241426

Reply By: PatNav - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:51

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:51
Hi bluey221
I have had ironman in my GQ patrol for 3 yrs now i dont have any probs with it yes in may have softened a little but i realy havn't lost a great deal of hight as in saging,I also have in in my old navara 89 model an it does alot of work around my place from carring wood and dirt and has been over loaded more than a few time and they r still fine i recon they r woth there money
hope that helps
Cheers patnav
AnswerID: 241643