Cape Flattery

Submitted: Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 19:50
ThreadID: 45695 Views:7699 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
Hi, can anyone tell me if a 4.5 mtr tinny would be adequate for camp site on the Northern side of Cape Flattery. I have a copy of Ron Moon's Adventurer's Guide and it says most people who camp there are fisherman towing boats. Also, if this is big enough boat, are there any creeks/ rivers nearby suitable for crabbing?
Any help would be great,
Dusty.

Reply By: Stu050 - Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 21:32

Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 21:32
As long as the boat can go faster than the crocs you should be ok.
AnswerID: 241269

Reply By: Ron George - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:53

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 12:53
Dusty, from what I`ve seen of the place it could turn out to a mega pain in the arse, have a mate who is a foreman at the silica mine, we went to one river/creek & I was thinking I`m glad he knows where he`s going, tracks everywhere, boggy salt pans, & it`s traditional land so you have to have permission. I don`t know about getting access to the rivers/creeks from the sea, if it could be done I would imagine high tide only. They used to let people camp at a place called Connie beach which is just down from the old loading wharf, If you are prepared to go the hard yards your tinny would do the job & I`m thinking you will be rewarded for your effort, the biggest Black lip oyster I`ve ever seen came from that area.
There is another river in that area, I can`t think of it`s name at the moment but it runs parallel to the beach access track, sort of, again as with most things in that area finding & accessing is not easy, I know of only 1 track & she`s a bit rough, could be a real problem if it`s been raining to. If you`re still interested... I think I`ve still got some co-ords in the GPS, also got some pickies of the said river & Cape Flattery, If you have Email let me know & I`ll patch em through.
Cheers Ron.
AnswerID: 241384

Follow Up By: Ron George - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 16:14

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 16:14
McIvor river... In ref to what Stu is saying, last time I was up there was talking to a local, a mate of his told him about a bit of a moment he had up a tribituary of the McIvor... was an almighty commotion from the scrub on the edge of the creek, next thing he saw was the biggest "snappy lizard" he`s ever seen, fly into the water... Needless to say he didn`t hang around. So be aware, even when you`re siting your camp.
Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 502353

Reply By: Dusty Miller - Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:16

Monday, May 21, 2007 at 17:16
Thanks for the tip Ron, from what I read in Ron Moon's book I thiught access to the area wasn't a problem, but I suppose I'll just have to ring Hopevale?
As I live in Cairns now, I was looking for an area close enough for long weekend/ 1 week type trips. Now that there's bitumen all the way to Cooktown, I thought that area would be good place to start. I bet I'm not the only one with this idea though.
AnswerID: 241416

Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 09:56

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 09:56
G/day Dusty, access to Cape Flattery is pretty well straight forward, it`s when you start straying off the main drag. Might be worth doing a recce over a w/end just to get a feel for the place before you actually drag the boat up there, excellent fishing can be had off the rocks just about anywhere around the Cape, not to mention the rock oysters. With a bit of luck I`ll be in the area myself around July/Aug, I have a hankering to explore further up around the Sth/Eastern side of Cape Melville.
Good luck. Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 502466

Follow Up By: Dusty Miller - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:50

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:50
I too have been eyeing off further north, but thought I would head there on the annual trip ( approx 2-3 weeks at a time). But I do take on your idea of a recon trip over a weekend, nothing like seeing things for yourself.
FollowupID: 502572

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 16:34

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 16:34
Dusty,
Been to Connie beach at Cape Flattery several times, but not for at least 5 years.
Every time we went there the rules changed, eg pay the locals, sign in at the mine, etc, etc. No major problems. We used to take 3.7m tinnies in on top of the vehicles. As someone said, big black lip oysters around towards the point in walking distance. Only one creek of any signifigance we found and the two times we fished it the fishing was poor or we were not good enough fishermen. Fringing reefs around the bay could produce some lively action. GT's and Macks around the front and on one occasion we were invited to fish off the main wharf and could not hold whatever was biting. We used to use Cape Flattery as a recreational place in between trips to Cape Melville, Ninian Bay or the Starcke River area. You used to be able to have a cold shower at the Tug wharf out of a 2inch hose. You turn off to the right just before the large stand of date palms before the remains of old Starcke Station. Road to the beach can be sandy boggy and then approx 20k trip north along the beach to Cape Flattery. Always found the beach firm, especially at low tide. A beautiful place to be at sunset with ale in hand and surrounded by friends.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 241608

Follow Up By: Dusty Miller - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:58

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:58
Yeh Bros, I was thinking of using Cape Flattery the same way you mention, ie short trips. Would you recommend heading to cape Melville via Starke or Lakefield Nat Park? Have read other threads on both routes, and it seems a fairly quick trip to Kalpower. I believe it's still 100 odd k's from there to Cape Melville, but it seems it's a slow trip once past Hopevale area coming from that way. I have heard the crossing at Barramundi Creek? is pretty bad/ deep. Are there any deep/ bad crossings coming up the coast track? ie via Starke?
FollowupID: 502573

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:18

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:18
Dusty,
If you are at Cape Flattery it would be shorter to go via Starcke to Cape Melville/Bathurst Bay. If you are starting out from Cooktown or Lakeland Downs it would be better to go via Lakefield. The crossings at Barramundi and Sandalwood Creeks can be tricky or deep or both. Last year i missed the right track through both and finished up taking water over the bonnet. (snorkle) All the other blokes learned from my mistakes and chose the right track and no problem even without a snorkle. The coast road through Starke last year was pretty good compared to previous years. (9 hours from Cooktown) We have taken up to 14 hours one year. Your best option to get up to the minute reports on the both roads would be to ring the Cooktown Rangers (40695777) and ask for Barry Lyon. He goes to Bathurst Bay quite regularly when the roads open. The coast road has no bad/deep crossings provided that the road has been declared open. (rough in places, bulldust and slow) If you have any more queries then by all means ask and i will do my best to answer.
Bros.

AnswerID: 241700

Follow Up By: Dusty Miller - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 15:10

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 15:10
Thanks heaps Bros, might bump into you up that way one day. I'm not sure if it will be this year though, head back to sea soon and won't be back till November. By then the rellies will want to visit the grand kids plus Christmas and all that. Might sneak away to Elim beach and Cape Flattery for a recon trip though.
Cheers Dusty.
FollowupID: 502808

Follow Up By: Ron George - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 15:21

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 15:21
G/day bros, as you have no doubt read my bit about exploring the bottom S/E side of Melville, looking at my map there appears to be a couple of beaches that may or may not be accessible, there are tracks marked on the map but they are very feint, sometimes it`s hard to make them out from the contour lines. Have you ventured off the main track system in that area towards the beach, I have a 4X4 Polaris quad bike which I cart around in a trailer, Just adds another dimension to the exploration thingy, plus I just love them oysters!!!! Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 502809

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 09:26

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 09:26
Ron George,
You are probably talking about Ninian Bay. Been there a couple of times, but again, not for at least 5 years. The road in is not signposted but pretty clearly defined. I don't take a GPS so don't know exactly the co-ordinates. There is a pretty long beach just north of Ninian Bay that goes all the way to the start of the rocky headlands prior to Cape Melville. Been scavenging on a couple of the small beaches between here and the Headland at Cape Melville Our only access was by boat. Seen crocs on a lot of the ocean beaches along here as well as pig rooting up along the tide line. One small beach has the rear end of a trawler on it, with the motor, gearbox and winch gear just in the water. Certainly a wild place. Nearly all green area, so no fishing. Ninian Bay is yellow zone for fishing, as per the relevant zone charts. There was a turn off to the right just before you descended the hill into Ninian Bay, and this took you to the beach just below Ninian Bay. There is a creek at the southern end, but this is all green zone except for inside the creek i suppose. There is a fresh water lagoon at Ninian Bay that we used for bath water. The rule was, two blokes bathing and one on lookout with the 30/30. Seen plenty of croc tracks between the salt water and the lagoon. There is a shelter shed there now so i am told.
There are a couple of tracks going off to the east between Wakooka Outstation and the Ninian bay turnoff, but i have never been down them to investigate. Should be just the thing for the quad bike to investigate. Looking at Google earth there are plenty of tracks.
Bros.

FollowupID: 502997

Follow Up By: Ron George - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 10:00

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 10:00
Thanks for that very detailed & accurate report Bros, pretty much confirmed what I had in my minds eye, you`ve just whetted my appetite. What version of Google earth do you have, the freebie or the bought one?? I understand with the latter version the resolution is good down to ground zero, I`m going to down load the freebie any way so I`ll check it out.
Have you any aspirations of going back to that neck of the woods in the future??
Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 503004

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:06

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:06
Ron,
Only have the free version of Google. Will probably be going to the Bathurst Bay area mid 2008 or thereabouts.
Bros.

FollowupID: 503041