Ripped off........nearly

Submitted: Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:34
ThreadID: 45831 Views:2704 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
A lot has been said about different companies, and what they charge for replacement bits n pieces.

I need a new front vinyl mat for the Troopy..off to our local Tojo place.

Please sir how much? $733.oo says he. Don't know what his mark up is, but I found that to be a tad too dear......a bluddy big tad.

Sourced an aftermarket one for $99.oo. Just hope it fits when it gets here......lol

Question is, how can such an exorbitant price be justified? Or are the genuine parts that much better?

Michael

Reply By: True Blue - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:50

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:50
Michael J (SA). I hope the new mat is perfect in every way and you can go and show the boys from the local Tojo place whilst mentioning the price.

Do we still have an authority which is called "Prices Justification Tribunal"? Asuming, of course that the $99 mat is comparable to the Tojo article.

It's unbelievable, how do they get away with it? Not to mention the exhorbitant price they want for accessories in the first place.

AnswerID: 242049

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:17

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:17
Probably put up with a little bit of imperfection for $600.oo odd dollars........
anyway can put a mat over it and still have change left....lol lol
FollowupID: 503048

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:51

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:51
Parts no better mate. Just the typical spare parts BLOODY RIP OFF.
For what it's worth ... they're all thieving mongrels .. regardless of badge.

AnswerID: 242050

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:38

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:38
Interestingly I know the guys at the Tojo place and they are all nice guys.
In fact the bloke I spoke to has just telephoned to say that he could get me an aftermarket mat for.....wait for it.....$198.oo. Big difference.

Still he may just be a nice, thieving mongrel......lol lol
FollowupID: 503052

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 16:19

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 16:19
I've no doubt the poor bastards fronting the counter aren't to blame. The mongrels reside in UK, Japan or USA eg.

FollowupID: 503057

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:56

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 14:56
LOL look out Michael. The "you only get what you pay for" dilletantes will be shaking their fingers at you.

Everyone knows Toyota's vinyl mats will survive a nuclear explosion that's why they cost $733. Your el cheapo solution will probably only last 20 years!!!! Poor, poor choice :)))))))
AnswerID: 242051

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:42

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:42
I guess you are right Gramps. I am suitably chastised and will cancel my el-cheapo mat and support the mighty Tojo..........LOL LOL.........NOT
FollowupID: 503053

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:03

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:03
Why are some prices so high? Because there are plenty of resellers who charge what ever they like because there are plenty of ill-informed and naive consumers out there who have more money than sense and ahppily pay whatever is asked. They're the ones that are making it b***** hard for the rest of us.
AnswerID: 242052

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:55

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 15:55
Michael
Good Day Mate. I know how you feel about prices , I fear the bill I'm going to get at Prosser Toyota when I go to pick up my Troopy after getting a full re-build to the Transfer Case ..$ $ $ $ but it will have the 12 months parts and labor warranty,
I can still feel the pain from Mt Isa when I bought an aftermarket brand water pump , Crocodile brand or whatever, (I think little bugger bit me ) anyhow it lasted about 6 months and began leaking, so they replaced , thats ok but it cost me to have it fitted. well that one lasted 11 months, so Into Bell & Moir Toyota and had a genuine fitted , No more leaks for the last 2 years and the original lasted 11 years. but then a MAT is not a vital part so the $99 mat should do , as for mine I wouldn;t have bothered about a mat, just stick the hose in when it needs cleaning.

Doug

AnswerID: 242063

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 16:23

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 16:23
Hmmm ...... it might be made in China though!
FollowupID: 503059

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 16:24

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 16:24
Shaker
You know you could be right, I must see if I can find out where that Crocodile crap comes from

FollowupID: 503060

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 17:30

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 17:30
Beat me to it Shaker;)))

G'day Doug,

You are right, sometimes it pays to get the right bit from the right people......
however I just reckon that a MAT is vital part, well that's what Gilly kept telling me.
Have not had one in the Troopy for about 18 months and she keeps whinging.....lol lol

Still don't think you would have much cause to complain, your wagon must have done several hundred thousand K's by now.......but, might be the thin edge of the wedge. Lash out now and buy a new 70 series, Dusty deserves a decent ride....................LOL LOL

Michael
FollowupID: 503074

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 18:06

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 18:06
Michael

...Lash out now and buy a new 70 series, Dusty deserves a decent ride....................

I wish I wish .......dreammmm ..............sigghhh

FollowupID: 503086

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 16:16

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 16:16
I got a huge shock when I had to replace the water pump on my 80 Series. Went to the local Tojo dealer and got quoted $165 ish and then thought to myself - geez not too steep - i'll still check out aftermarket so I went into Repco and the bloke quoted me $194 ish for a non-genuine.

I obviously got him to check and told him the price of the genuine article so he checked and he re-checked but kept coming up the same!

I guess it pays to shop around - genuine's not always the most expensive! I will admit this is the only case of this I've found, but still... haha!

Scoey!
AnswerID: 242065

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 18:04

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 18:04
Scoey
Your so right, I also thought the genuine W/Pump was a good price, and when you think about so are Disc Brake Rotors

FollowupID: 503085

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:27

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:27
I always call the Dealer first for a price, then the aftermarket guys, then make a decision based on "cost v's percived value"

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 503120

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 18:47

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 18:47
Michael
Yoyota just phoned , mine is ready to go, all fixed , will go and get it in the morning when thier car picks me up, not going now as i would have to use a Taxi, Bill is going to be $2180

AnswerID: 242086

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:02

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:02
That's some bill just for the taxi.....how much for the Troopy repairs??? LOL LOL
AnswerID: 242090

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:11

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:11
Hi there Michael, Toyota have a series of prices, one is "cost price", the next "trade price", the next "nice customer" price the next is "arrogant price", the last one is "as#whole price". I kid you not I use to work for them and my mate still does and his wife use to work in spare parts. She use to get everything for me cost price and I still do through other people I know there. If you walk in mouthing off and giving them a hard time it becomes instant as#whole price which can be well above cost price in the way of double or more I kid you not. I still have receipts here for parts I had bought for the hilux, eg water pump I paid $78 maximum price could have been just under $200. So pays to be nice to them. I'm not saying you werent in anyway just a tip. Bit like if the cop pulls you up,yes sir no sir thinking maybe Ill get off this one. Open the door and mouth off to him what the fu#k did I do wrong your gone straight away. My mate bought new carpet for his hilux did have vinyl but wanted to get carpet in it. Anyone with carpet in a hilux 98 SR5 look after it, $1300 from Toyota got it before he spoke to me wouldnt have saved him that much seen it wasnt for me and the people that I know there will only give me cost price but I might have at least got trade for him. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 242093

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:11

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:11
Hi Steve,

I believe you. There is nobody to check, and the mark up the retailers put on their goods is not subject to much scrutiny.

But, as I said earlier, I do know the guys that run the place, and get on well with them all. Would not be too many places offer to source an aftermarket item in lieu of the original equipment. -s'pose he would still turn a dollar tho'.

Proof of the pudding will be next week when the mat arrives......might just be $100.oo down the tube...

Michael
FollowupID: 503239

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, May 25, 2007 at 08:10

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 08:10
for 733 bucks you can go get a custom carpet job done.....better than that cheap plastic your going to be putting in
AnswerID: 242218

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:15

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:15
Plastic, plastic.....I would hope that it is thick, hard wearing, tough, good quality vinyl.......and a nice shade of Toyota brown.....lol lol

Anyway, if I put carpet in it would show up the rest of the Troopy........LOL
FollowupID: 503241

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, May 25, 2007 at 15:31

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 15:31
carpet does hide a lot of dirt but...youve heard of sweeping under the carpet?
FollowupID: 503282

Reply By: sdr00y - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 15:09

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 15:09
It also depends on what you ask for. I wanted a new gear stick knob for my old hilux. Went in and asked for a price on a '85 hilux one and it was something way too much, in excess of $100 or so. Then asked if he would check the price of the 2006 model one... $20! Needless to say I bought that one.

The thing with toyotas is sometimes present model items will fit and are cheaper! it costs no more to ask the guy behind the counter.

BUT I do agree sometimes partsdo cost TOO much.

AnswerID: 242327