BOATS
Submitted: Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 18:53
Axel [ the real one ]
A question for those who have done it , how often did you realy use the tinny on your trip to the cape ? We had planned to take our tinny on the roof on our trip but are now in two minds after weighing up the amount of use we would actually use it , love fishing but carting the boat ect for our 6mth trip around the top end in 3 states seems to us a bit of a waste , save the extra fuel $ ect and pay for the odd charter instead ? Thoughts from those who have done 1 and wished for the other ?
Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:14
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:14
Just me but....How could anyone else answer this question for you?
Its like saying, If you were me would you go fishing in the morning?
I live in the desert, so my answer would be yes..Rain hail or shine!
If your going to use it....
well yes, if not...no?
I wish I was in the pedicament of not being able to decide.
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:42
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:42
Which part of "Thoughts from those who have done 1 and wished for the other ?" didn't you understand?
Seems a perfectly reasonable request to me.
We didn't take a tinny and didn't regret it, and really didn't see very many being used at all.
You can hire a tinny at
Weipa for $160 a day, didn't
check other
places.
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:46
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:46
Hairy , question is 'how often " ,, because no matter what the set up for taking the tinny , there are pros and cons involved , just been on the phone to the wife's father who leaves in the morning to do a lap clockwise , last time he did the cape over a 3mth trip he only put his tinny into the water 5 times , and he is a mad keen fisherman , reckons got more off the river banks than off the tinny ,
Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:29
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:29
Gerhard1,
Which part of " just me" and " I live in the desert" dont you understand????
$160 a day to hire a tinny when you own one compared to your fuel savings through not having the wind drag......Id take the tinny.....If thats ok with you?
My point was...everyone will probably have a different point of veiw, and being I dont go fishing all that often I would be using it every chance I got, therefore I would take it.
Gday Axel,
As i said I dont get to fish very often so I would soon make up for the extra drag. And one or two good days in the boat would sure be worth it to me. Charters are great I dont rekon you can beat the freedom of have your own boat. To me and I stress ME its a bit like caring your high lift, you might not need it everyday but Ill always take it.
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:38
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:38
Hi there Axel, I was just talking to my wifes uncle on the weekend about the same thing and he has decided he is not taking his for the next 6 month trip (leaving next week). He has rang around and found that it is cheaper to pay one of these tour mobs that take you out for the day or stand on the bank at the rivers and what he doesnt catch too bad. He reckons to much of a hassle getting it up and down from his cruisers roof, and with the outboard,fuel tanks etc all starting to take up too much room and the extra fuel due to wind drag mind you he's towing a 23 footer 70k's worth behind his 100 series turbo diesel (bit of a tight ar#e I think) but anyway I dont think a tinny is gunna make that much difference with a van like that behind you. He said often enough there are other blokes that take theres and if is offered to come along for a fishing day out he will but said he will pay for there fuel. I stll reckon its cheaper buying it from the co-op but hey bit hard in the middle of now where LOL. Have a good trip wether you take it or not. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 20:41
Friday, May 25, 2007 at 20:41
Hi Steve ,I just got your measage and thanks for watching out for him ...OH and I would be over the moon if you did come accross a banner as I Like the Fort part anyway and I think I might have to hire a crane for the one out the front as I just came back from Indoor soccer and really checked out the size ..LOL
John.
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:23
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:23
I can't imagine going to the top end without a boat!!. Not like you are going to want to stand on the bank and fish!!. Ever been to the
Roper River?. I would cry if i went there and didn't have a boat, all that Barra and prawns,mmm,yum.
Cheers Lyndon
Reply By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:26
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:26
Much of this thread revolves around using a tinny for fishing.
I love pottering around in a tinny exploring creeks, waterways and sheltered coastal water, watching the bird life, and seeing the shoreline from a new, and inaccessible perspective to the solely land based tourer.
I was a mad keen fisherman and joined and worked in the WA fisheries department for 8 years (which took all fishing urges out of me).
I am now too also debating whether to make the investment to fit roof racks and boat loader to my new rig for a 6 month round Oz trip I probably will leave the dingy behind - some have suggested that its like taking the tinny for a 6 month round Oz holiday.
I will however miss to opportunity to explore some really interesting
places like
Lake Tinaroo on the
Atherton Plateau which I believe would be a highlight of such a trip.
Am contemplating a kayak/canoe though.
I will however be taking my tinny for shorter trips (on cheap roof racks) to
Shark Bay and the
Ningaloo coast where we will and have previously set up
camp for 7-10 and used the tinny every day.
With a full height van dont believe fuel consumption would suffer much.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 07:20
Friday, May 25, 2007 at 07:20
"I love pottering around in a tinny exploring creeks, waterways and sheltered coastal water, watching the bird life, and seeing the shoreline from a new, and inaccessible perspective to the solely land based tourer."
same here mate. i love exploring tidal creeks in my kayak, you don't need much water to float, and it is very peaceful.
am now being offered the choice between a 10ft Savage tinnie (about 20 yrs old) or a classic old Quintrex Pram (2.4 m tender.) The Quintrex of course would be easier to load by myself but I may need to build a loader for the Savage. Still, it's the ability for the Quintrex to reach those
places (and the nostalgic factor, it is a 1968 model) that appeals to me.
Reply By: crocket - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:28
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:28
Hi Axle. I did the Kimberly's with out a boat 2yrs ago.Between Invites and charters &land fishing we managed to eat fish 12 out of 14 days, in one stint. BUT next wk I am off to the Cape for 3mths with a boat on ct.I have a sh.t load of stuff for the boat,in back of ute.But to improve my wives water sking in rivers I'M taking a boat.On the bank or in the water it's gunnabegreat. cheers crocket.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:09
Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:09
Axel,
I can't answer your question specifically about the Cape, but would have to totally agree with Lyndon's comment if you are a fisherman at all.
When I did the trip up through the centre, I had the tinny upside down on top of the trailer. The outboard motor was laying on its side, in the trailer and on top of a spare tyre case to provide additional shock protection for it.
Mate we zigged and zagged our way up through
the Rock,
Kings Canyon, West McDonnell Ranges, through the Alice and on up towards the Top End. The boat was basically a "lid" for the trailer.
And then, we got to the
Roper River and because we had the boat, went Barra hunting. (Got one)
A while later we camped at
Mary River and again put the boat in a went fishing. This time we caught two Barra of 67cm and 79cm. Whoopee!
The boat was "washed" with liquid refreshment.
So what point am I trying to make?
A tinnie upside down and on top of a trailer or camper, or vehicle roof for that matter, will not be that detrimental to fuel usage, or other activities, and you have it when you need it.
Would I take it to the Cape?
Dunno mate, the Cape is not one of my burning ambissions. Plenty of more accessible
places for Barra fishing I reckon.
Just think, when you find yourself "up sh*t creek" you will have a boat, as
well as a paddle:-))
Reply By: Tonbo - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 10:07
Friday, May 25, 2007 at 10:07
G'Day Axel
One point to note is a croc can take a distracted fisher off a river bank very quick, whilst having a boat you are only at risk during launch and retrieval.
Charters are also very busy at this time of year over the top end so booking ahead is vital.
I myself would take the boat, it opens up other sight seeing options and secluded spots others can not get too.
Good luck with your decision.
Cheers Tonbo
Follow Up By: ODDMAN (NthQld) - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 16:03
Friday, May 25, 2007 at 16:03
Hi Tonbo & Axel, Don't think crocs will only get you if you are fishing from the bank or when putting your boat in. Two years ago, or was it last year, bloke got pulled out of his canoe near Lakefield NP. What I am suggesting is that if a croc is hungry they will have a go at you any where. If I was going to go fishing in the northern waters, not just the rivers, I would want a boat with plenty of free board.
ODDMAN
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:38
Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:38
Hi Axel, was interested in your post as I can relate to this dilemna. Having done a 2 yr trip without a tinnie, and choosing to do charters instead, and then not because of not booking ahead, and at crunch time thinking it was too expensive etc and now owning boats, I can't imagine going to the cape,
kimberley, top end etc without your own boat. These are the sites where you're likely to be able to use the boat. Seisa,
Weipa,
Karumba, Escott,
Borroloola,
Roper Bar,
Mataranka,
Katherine Gorge,
Darwin,
Victoria River, Kunnunurra,
Lake Argyle,
Wyndham,
Kalumburu,
Broome,
Cape Leveque, and if going further west, then 80 Mile Beach, Cape Kerudren,
Dampier etc. I'm giving the YES vote. Lucky bugger!
Reply By: Leroy - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 21:20
Friday, May 25, 2007 at 21:20
If you love fishing, take your tinny at what ever cost. I bought a new tinny and motor just for my cape trip as my boat is too big to take and glad I did. I used it 4 out of 6 days in Seisa and used it at
Weipa and Vyrilia Pt. Could of used it a few more times. You can hire boats at
Bamaga and I think at
Weipa also. I would of regretted not buying the boat for the trip so if you are a keen fisherman.....take it.
Leroy