camper trailer for a female solo traveller

Submitted: Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:02
ThreadID: 45856 Views:10868 Replies:13 FollowUps:5
I am in the market for a camper trailer to tow with my Subaru Forester. I intend to do long distance dirt roads like the Birdsville Track and wonder if there are any solo female travellers out there with advice as to suitable camper trailers. Light - easy to erect etc.

Reply By: Member - Tim - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:40

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:40
Hi Trikki_y,

Have a look at these - " target="EOF" class="lbg">www.aussieteardrops.com/. I think the offroad version would probably be perfect for a single person towing with a Forester. The guy who builds them posts here on the forum sometimes as well.

Tim.
AnswerID: 242164

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 22:26

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 22:26
Thank you Tim
We have quiet a few customers towing with a Forester and single Ladies too who bought Teardrop Campers.
We are on Brisbane's southside and this link should work .
www.aussieteardrops.com

Reiner
Aussie Teardrop Campers

FollowupID: 503167

Reply By: S&N - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:51

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:51
does it have to be towed? i believe you can get a rooftop camper for the fozza.
also, check tow capacity, i think some of the foresters were less than others! my wifes GT Forester owners manual states that you have to ring subaru with your rego details and they will check up on the towing capacity of your vehicle. one of the latest 4x4 mags has a rooftop camper in it that is built on 2 stretcher type beds (verylight). hope this helps.
shannon
AnswerID: 242165

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 22:32

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 22:32
By far the quickest and best is a Tvan for our money, if you want you can get into bed in 30 seconds.
Good Luck
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 242176

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:00

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:00
I agree, an Avan is the best way to go. Quick and easy and solid walls, no canvas.
FollowupID: 503177

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 07:13

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 07:13
: )

There is a ***HUGE*** difference between a T-Van and an A-Van.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 503193

Reply By: Eric Experience - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:10

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:10
Trikki_y
The concept of a single person towing a van is not logical to my way of thinking.I don't know of your physical strength but handling a trailer is not easy, the tracks like the Birdsville track do not require 4wd. For the same cost as a trailer you can get a van like a Vw transporter or a Hi ace . The advantages of a self contained unit are huge, safety, you can simple drive of if you don't like your neighbours, cost, it is cheaper to run 4 wheels rather than 6, reliability, trailers give trouble and things get broken while a van is unlikely to fall apart. Parking, you can use any shopping centre car park and you possessions are secure. good luck, Eric
AnswerID: 242193

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 07:32

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 07:32
" tracks like the Birdsville track do not require 4wd." In the dry, if its been graded.
FollowupID: 503198

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:58

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:58
trikki_y

Are we related

Trekkie
AnswerID: 242206

Reply By: Middle Jeff - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 07:28

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 07:28
HI

Have a look at the cub range, really easy to put up and down, some are easy to put up but you need ten arms to try and stuff it all back in, with the cub you can stop half way walk around tidy it up and then wind a bit more. The newer off road ones are strong enough to do anything you can think of.

Have fun

Craig
AnswerID: 242212

Reply By: Joe - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:10

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:10
Take a look at the Aussie Swag camper trailer. It is lighter than the Tvan, Camp/o/matic, Cub etc etc, but it is still a strong unit.

My wife and I have met a number of ladies travelling round with this type of camper trailer and they have all been very happy with it.

The Cub on the other hand has a very useful and easy to use winch system for opening and (more importantly) closing the camper and this (as a previous poster said) may be important to a woman on her own.

Enjoy your travels and don't be put off by anyone, just make sure you plan each trip.

Joe
AnswerID: 242236

Reply By: Tonbo - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:49

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:49
G'day trikki_y

If you want ease and comfort at a good price have a look at this option, they will build to suit yor requirements. Your Suburu will tow it no problems and it will be easy to reverse or even push if not hooked up.

Stay away from roof top tents as they can prove a hassle if you want to leave camp set up and still sight see.

Also invest in a tow hitch lock if leaving your camping while sight seeing.

Good luck and dont let the negative people on this site steer you away from a great adventure!

Cheers Tonbo

" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.backtrax.com.au/
AnswerID: 242244

Reply By: Tonbo - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:54

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:54
www.backtrax.com.au

That should be better ?
AnswerID: 242245

Reply By: Redback - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 10:26

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 10:26
CUB Kamparoo, light, roomy and very reasonably priced, they 2 models the Brumby and the Sprint in onroad, offroad and semi offroad.

CUB Kamparoo

AnswerID: 242258

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 13:12

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 13:12
Check out Trek trailers, particularly the Kudu .... www.trek.com.au/kudu.htm
AnswerID: 242298

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 22:08

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 22:08
I’ve got a Trek Trailer, got to be the biggest waste of money I have ever spent.

The trailer is a piece of crap and the warranty service is non existent and I’m not the only owner that feels this way about their Trek Trailer.
FollowupID: 503376

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 06:22

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 06:22
A mate has a TVan and he finds it a mongrel to line up the Treg coupling on his own. Its also pretty heavy with the long draw bar. This said, he loves it.

A lady in our club had a small off road trailer built to tow behind her Challenger. She also had a folding ribbed tent made to fit it.

I traveled in a group with these campers into Bendethera in damp conditions and both did the job.
AnswerID: 242462

Reply By: trikki_y - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 21:49

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 21:49
Thank you everyone for all your replies. I think the Cub Kamparoo seems best and very easy to put up - saw it this weekend.
Thanks again.
AnswerID: 242607