whats a good brand UHF to buy

Submitted: Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:31
ThreadID: 45924 Views:9579 Replies:18 FollowUps:30
Gday everyone. I am in the market for a UHF, nothing fancy, just something that works and works well...Ive heard a few stories of some brands being better than others, so am looking for your experiences. I am looking at Uniden and GME as two major brands, ive been managing with handhelds, and they do a good job, but i want to have something in the cruiser for a home base when we camp.
Thanks for your replies in advance

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:32

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:32
Uniden :)
AnswerID: 242547

Reply By: PeteS - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:53

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:53
Hi ya Dozer
A good debate this one, bit like do you prefer a Toyoto or Nissan question.
Anyway my vote = GME (Ozzie company)

Had a look today at the new GME TX3440 which has all the controls on the microphone, thus no need for a remote head. Seen priced at $429 which is not bad.

PeteS
AnswerID: 242552

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:54

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:54
One of these would be pretty good.

Site Link

No doubt Doug will agree.

Kev

AnswerID: 242553

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:54

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 16:54
Uniden and GME are as good as each other.

Don't believe anything Doug says about Uniden.

AnswerID: 242554

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 17:17

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 17:17
I will stay out of this one....hehehe....As an Electronic Tradie, there really isn't much difference between them.....Don't want to get in another ***** with Doug......Though some things he does say are correct.....And others not IMO.......Each to his own......You will do fine with either. Just make sure you get a good quality aerial to match the particular unit you are going to purchase......

Good Luck
FollowupID: 503508

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:28

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:28
Gone Bush
So you reackon what I hear all over the highways is BS eh well actually i don't give a Rats A#se , if he wants to go and spend over $400 bucks on a radio thats gonna sound like crap to every one that hears it then good luck to him , Why Don't he go and get a Kenwood UHF and be done with it '

FollowupID: 503544

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 17:18

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 17:18
We have used GME TX3000 for about 20 years without a hiccup. I have just bought a GMETX4400 on ebay for $377 delivered free. It is still 5 watt output but has 20 extra receive only channels outside the 40 normal UHF lot and has Selcall so you can call a selected other user without anyone else hearing. Sometimes handy in a convoy!!
I havn't heard anything negative re Uniden but I stuck with the Australian product that I KNOW is reliable.
AnswerID: 242556

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 17:19

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 17:19
I meant to add that the antenna is very important to get right. Look at the GME web site for details.
FollowupID: 503509

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:24

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:24
>and has Selcall so you can call a selected other user
>without anyone else hearing.

Don't think so.

My understanding of a selcall enabled radio is that, on receive, it will only allow signals which correspond to it's selcall ID to pass through to audio, the idea being you don't have to put up with a lot of chatter from people which you have no interest in who are using the same frequency

However a _non_ selcall enabled radio will pass all information on the frequency to which it is tuned so my aged Uniden set to scan will tell me you're saying bad things about me :) Caution is advised.

Indian beef curry is slowly cooking, the chardonnay needs refilling and The Wailin' Jennys are sounding magically melodious in the background - I love Saturday evenings :)

www.thewailinjennys.com/

FollowupID: 503521

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:52

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:52
Mike,

Curry sounds good, Chardonnay is for shielas and the Wailin'Jenny's is enough to make you want to slit your own throat........Very sad Mike......hehehehe...Very TIC.....
FollowupID: 503525

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:56

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:56
Sod off you little git :)
FollowupID: 503526

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:58

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:58
Now that's not nice.......hehehe
FollowupID: 503527

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:03

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:03
The chardonnay... I can understand BUT... The Wailin' Jennys!!! I'm going to marry all three of them! :)

PS. What's TIC?
FollowupID: 503530

Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:22

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:22
Tongue In Cheek
FollowupID: 503542

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:29

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:29
OK, I'll forgive you... but if we ever end up in the same camp spot I'm going to play them over my vehicle stereo just to annoy you :)
FollowupID: 503545

Reply By: Fleggy - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 17:52

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 17:52
G'day Dozer, I was in the same boat as you a few months ago - GME or Uniden - and was all set to buy the GME T3400 (or 4400? can't recall now...) and then stumbled upon the Uniden UH015SX. I've not had it for long, but seems to be a good unit and was about $100 cheaper than the equivalent GME at the time. Check out these guys (no affiliation, just happy with the experience with buying from them) - Site Link
AnswerID: 242563

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:14

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:14
Saw the Uniden UH-088 (a standard DIN-sized UHF) on Ebay for $238 delivered. I've had one for 9 years without a problem until last week when a wire in the microphone broke (easily repaired).

Roof mounted antennas work best for obvious reasons - mine's gutter mounted with the coax hidden under the channel. I use a stubbie antenna 99% of the time.
AnswerID: 242569

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:33

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:33
NO COMMENT

AnswerID: 242572

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 16:34

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 16:34
That's the most sensible thing you've said lately.....
FollowupID: 503698

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:01

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:01
Gerhardp1
Pity you can't learn from it

FollowupID: 504618

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:01

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:01
When you are so full of yourself you can no longer send a prompt riposte, you should take stock of the fact that there are many Gods, but you're not one of them..

Cheers :)
FollowupID: 504639

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:38

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:38
I have a Uniden 088 purchased 2005 and worked great untill the aerial parted company. My origional aerial worked well even broken at the base.

So after the departure, I purchassed a new one and it has never worked the same have had it checked by two companies and they say its fine.

To me its all static now when talking and hard to hear replies. I'm at a lose and experts tell me everythings is fine as per there metres etc, they have checked all connections and still the same.

After my SA trip if it is still the same it will be turned into landfill or I may change to a different aerial and see how that goes.

What do I reccommend .......... well at this stage not Uniden. I'm sure many will say Uniden but the above is just MY experience.

AnswerID: 242573

Reply By: Stu050 - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:46

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:46
I am using a Sawtron 999 which I bought new in 1985. In the time that I have owned it, I have had no problems with it whatsoever. It has a GME AE409L antenna plugged into the back of it, and mounted on the right hand guard.

It is a DIN sized unit, EPROM programmable, and the commercial version, the KG107, punches out 25W

They are often on ebay.
AnswerID: 242576

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:05

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:05
You forgot to mention how you'd decreased the power to stay within the ACMA limit :))
FollowupID: 503532

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:39

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:39
Who really cares what power you run aslong as it is clean power....

Regrads Richard
FollowupID: 503550

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:44

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:44
Richard, and of course you've had yours on a spec analyzer?
The ACMA regs on UHF CB are there for various reasons.
As are the penalties (and yes they do enforce those who shout their 35watts to the world...at least up here)
FollowupID: 503551

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 20:32

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 20:32
Footy,
My 999 is still on the original 5W output that it came with from Olbis. (yes strange, I know, but true)

The Sawtron 999 is the UHF CB and the KG107 is the commercial UHF.
FollowupID: 503565

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 11:07

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 11:07
In life not every thing we do is legal........are you a coppa or something.

There is always one person to ruin a party, If you are worried about extra power on UHF JEEEEESSSS I would hate to live next door to you.

7 radio inspectors and 4 vehicles to cover all of Australia....mmmm

If you worried about every thing we did if it is legal or other there would be no time left in the day for any other activities.

I am going out tomorrow and buy my self one of those 75 watt power uppers for my UHF!

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 503647

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 11:26

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 11:26
Good on you ! No I'm not a coppa, just a responsible member of radio community. I do this stuff every day all day professionally.
And there are remote monitoring stations for those inspectors by the way.
You're going to be sadly disappointed if you think higher power will give you more distance. Unless the other end has the same power and aerial, all you'll achieve will be a very loud but relatively local signal. Excellent for upsetting TV's, some car computers and other spectrum users. As I said, there are some good reasons for the regulations which may not be obvious until you find yourself in some degree of strife.
No, not everything in life is legal. There are good laws, petty laws and bad laws. In Australia there are far too many laws. But simply ignoring a law because you don't like it, or because it's inconvenient, doesn't make you a hero.
If you don't like a law, get it changed or deleted from the statutes.
FollowupID: 503649

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 16:20

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 16:20
I've been a radio pirate in one way or another since a young boy. I eventually got my ham ticket back in 79 but there's always one reg or another I'm at odds with but never mind life goes on, the rich get richer and I get poor.
FollowupID: 503691

Reply By: Grungle - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:57

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:57
I work for a company that sells and services most major brands of radios to both the retail and commercial market.

My personal choice is Icom - in particullar the IC-400Pro due to its build quality and reliability. We sell aproximately 20-30 a week and rarely see any come back for repair. After that I would probably go for GME slightly ahead of the Uniden due to better audio quality however as mentioned before, it is hard to go past the Uniden UH015 which is a great unit will all the bells and whistles at a great price.

In my experience, the GME and Unidens are on a par regarding reliability.

Just my opinion.

AnswerID: 242579

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:01

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:01
Interesting.

Icom have a large base in the Amateur Radio market which is _very_ discerning about it's radios. Neither Uniden or GME have any products in that market. Is Icom much more expensive for CBs?

FollowupID: 503529

Follow Up By: Grungle - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:11

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:11
Hi Mike,

Icom have 2 radios that they sell for the general CB user. The mobile IC-400Pro and the portable IC-41s.

IC-400Pro - $470 inc GST
IC-41s - $490 inc GST

These are RRP so you can always do better than these prices from companies that sell them. Icom mostly focus on the commercial market with a huge range of VHF and UHF radios but also have a HF unit and a range of amatuer units as well (as you mention).

Please don't think that I am trying to sell anything or focus people on a particular brand. I owned and used several Uniden radios and scanners since the early 90's and was very happy with them during that time.

FollowupID: 503535

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:16

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:16
So they are comparable in price, for CB, with the others. I reckon if I were in the market for a CB I'd probably buy the Icom.

>Please don't think that I am trying to sell anything or
>focus people on a particular brand.

The though never entered my or, I'm sure, anyone else's head. You're just imparting information as you know it, which is exactly what these internet forums are all about. Thanks David.

FollowupID: 503539

Follow Up By: Grungle - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 20:31

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 20:31
Cheers Mike.

There are others out there though that like to jump on posts such as mine so I make it a point to try and prove that I my views are 'reasonably' impartial and that my 'experience' is just that and nothing else.

Might contact you in the near furture about some HF queries if thats alright.

FollowupID: 503563

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 21:27

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 21:27
>There are others out there though that like to jump
>on posts such as mine

Tell me about it! :)

>Might contact you in the near furture about some
>HF queries if thats alright.

Of course, always pleased to help if I can.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 503572

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:58

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 18:58
Uniden UH-088 does fine for me. No Bells and Whistles just a good honest unit.
AnswerID: 242580

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:21

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:21
Waeco :))
AnswerID: 242585

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:31

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:31
Rubbish! Don't listen to him! Buy a Honda!
FollowupID: 503547

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:34

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 19:34
Isn't that the name of the missing goat's shoelace ?
FollowupID: 503549

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 21:49

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 21:49
Doesn't matter which one you buy - either way you'll get it home and someone will tell you about a better/cheaper/more features one they just got from somewhere else!!
AnswerID: 242606

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 22:16

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 22:16
Nothing Fancy? GME 3200 it has all the features you will need. 40 channels, ability to send recieve and also scan.
people go on about sell call and extra channels,25 watt capabilitys etc etc but who actually uses any of that? (on an UHF)
also no need for a remote head etc when the thing is barely bigger than a ciggie packet and slots in under the dash or wherever without extra wiring.
Also has the aded bonus of being a proven performer in the toughest of conditions being commonly used in mining and exploration activities. Wont get into the bagging match but yes i have had issues with "the other brand" and NO the local people wont sell them due to lack of backup
AnswerID: 242609

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 22:48

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 22:48
Thanks for the awsome replies everyone. Kenwood is one brand i hadn't thought of...i take it you are a trucky and use them often Doug??? Icom ive heard alot of good about...Phillips is another popular one that comes to mind when talking amature radios... I listed GME and Uniden because ive previously owned both...things like after sales service is definately something that i will use to rate the short list....(ive heard they also wander off frequency)
Anyway, again thankyou for the many responses......the brain will be "Tilted" for a while till i sort thru all this info :) Lucky im on N/S
AnswerID: 242611

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 00:34

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 00:34
Mike Harding,
You are note quite right about Selcall.
If you were to read the GME web site it explains in better way what I was trying to say but I think it goes like this.
If you want to call to another Selcall equipped UHF then you enter their code before calling. Only that radio will let the signal through to the user as it carries a Morse type code that only that radio will recognise. There, I think that is how it works but am open to clarification if not correct.
AnswerID: 242619

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 11:48

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 11:48
Hi Ian,

Selcall can be heard by anyone on the same channel as you, if you need to get in contact with a friend and you don't know if they are on the channel instead of calling them over and over until the reply or you can selcall them (every one else will hear the selcall tones aswell) and if they are on channel 2 things happen....

1) There radio responds with a tone to you and on some on radios it will appear on you screen as you have made contact.

2) The radio you selcalled will have your number come up on the screen and usualy and message saying "calling" or some thing like that, so if they are at the radsio they call talk to you or if they are away fom there radio and it is switched on the know someone has called and who it is.

Selcall is not used much on UHF CB, in commercial UHF it is used alot and is a must have for HF radios using VKS, Radtel etc.

When you UHF radio is on it is in a hear all state meaning you will hear selcall, data, voice and abusive behavour.

Look at selcall like a telephone number with 4 to 5 didgts, not all secalls on all radios are the same there are about 5 standards so you have to program you radio to the standard you want to use.

All CB radios are set to the same standard from the factory and can not be changed, only the Icom IC400 and the IC40/41 handhelds can be changed to a differant standard in the programming software, all commercial radios can also be changed in the software.

If you only want to hear your friend or you group you can use CTCSS encoding/decoding, there radio need to be set the same as yours. This should be outlawed on CB radios because someone may be able to hear you and need help or to warm you about something but you will not hear them unless the use to same CTCSS code as you.

CTCSS coding can not be heared by anyone only the enabled radios, the tone is silent and is sent as a sub carrier with you transmission.

Some radios have a function that can decode the CTCSS tone from other radios using it and display it on your screen.

CTCSS is used in all commercial radio applications to allow uses access to the network or the repeater. You can have 30 companys with 100 radios each and only hear your company.(you would not run this many radios on a single channel)

CTCSS stands for "Continuous Tone Coded Squelch System".

Look at CTCSS as a cone of silence for you and you friends because you will not be th hear anyone else on that channel, but anyone will be able to hear you and your friends.

Some times of UHF CB you will try to break into a conversation only to be ignored, they are proberly not ignoring you they proberly have the CTCSS function switched on.

Regards Richard

You may be getting mixed up
FollowupID: 503653

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 15:45

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 15:45
We have a Uniden model and the CTCSS and those sort of features is something I've never managed to get a full grasp on, nobody to practice on I guess.

Just following this thread as Hubby was thinking of possibly upgrading the in car UHF if he can get some sort of package deal when we buy a couple of hand helds for portable use. Personally I think probably no need (it's a UH088SX I think) as he would likely try GME (or Icom if I could convince him) but from what was said here they would be pretty much horses for courses and I guess we would be better off upgrading the aerial or something!

The Icoms seem like a pretty good brand and it seems they have stepped up their advertising with the 4wd mags and the like in recent times. I do like the Icom handheld units but price may be a bit rich if they end up being used by the kids?

Well this thread got me researching anyway & I've been browsing this place for pricing ideas...

www.prestigecom.net.au/
AnswerID: 242701

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 16:21

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 16:21
This page may be of interest:

www.andrewscom.com.au/site-section-02.htm

FollowupID: 503692

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 15:20

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 15:20
Thanks, having a look right now.
FollowupID: 503954