Pre Delivery charges for new vehicles.
Submitted: Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:25
Member - Axle
Have been in fantasy land today looking at prices of new cab chassis 4x4s, and apart from the usual shock of base price+ options, one thing stood out which was pre delivery cost!! $1600- $ 2000 seemed to be about the norm!. Surely with a ute the cab could be prepared, oil water checked, rego sorted, in one day with two industrious apprentices. If it took two days!, still good money. Maybe i"m missing something here?, or is it just a normal stealer thing?
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:36
Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:36
if your fair dinkum about bying a car.
just refuse to pay it as part of the deal.
ive only ever bought 2 new cars never paid that cost.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:00
Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:00
never though about doing that myself.goodone
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:02
Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:02
Its just there to put some slack into the pricing. Whenever I've priced a new LandCruiser, its been easy to talk them off $5000 for a cash price. Might be a bit hard to do that with the 79series at present, given the demand.
Reply By: DIO - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:56
Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:56
Ah...one of my favourite subjects, Dealer Delivery Fee. One of the biggest cons going. Refuse to pay any of it. If they put on an act - walk out. If they try to spin you a yarn about the cost of delivery, preparation etc, ask them to show you the invoice they received from the vehicle manufacturer. bet you anything that the price they were charged for the vehicle into their showroom was many (many) thousands of dollars less than the sticker/suggested retail price that they are asking for the vehicle. The sticker or R.R.P. is just that - recommended. Don't pay the price they ask, haggle, make an offer, not too many vehicle re-sellers around these days that won't accept an offer for almost any make or model of vehicle. Sales are slow. The buyer that's you, the one with money in their pocket, the money that the vehicle re-seller is trying to get into his pocket has more power than most realise. It is a buyers market, be shrewd, heartless, unbending, relentless in making and getting your best deal. If you are not happy with the deal being offered, walk out, go elsewhere, you won't regret it.
Remember to buy with your head not your heart,
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 06:41
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 06:41
You're right on the money, DIO.
My son is a mechanic and he used to do them .. as he said... "it's a lot of money for an oil change".
Jack