Submitted: Monday, May 28, 2007 at 09:59
Topcock
My '91 Troopy has a
water leak into the cabin area that seems to be coming from high in the under dash area. If I hold a hose on the grill between the two wiper pivots I can imitate the leak. I suspect that the drain pipes have perished or been damaged that direct
water at the base of the windscreen either into the inner guard on underside of the vehicle?? The screen has been replaced recently including a new seal rubber, the leak existed before and after this was done.
Does anyone know the location and easiest way to replace these drain pipes????
Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 10:25
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 10:25
Hi mate
I posted the same question on the 'Troopy Oz'
forum just last week. Got some interesting answer- you might want to check it out !!!
Reply By: Topcock - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 10:37
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 10:37
Thanks for the prompt reply. Do you have a link to The Troopy Oz
forum??
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 10:43
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 10:43
autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/TROOPYoz
Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 10:48
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 10:48
If you take the wipers off and then remove the screws along the back of the bonnet to remove the panel in front of the windscreen you will be able to access the area.
What happens on the earlier ones was that the firewall cracked from the rear of the recesses that the bonnet hinges go into and then out to the side and down the inner guard.
Repairing it properly entails removing the front mudguards and welding it up.
A short term fix to enable disposing of the vehicle is to run abead of silicone over the crack which will stop the
water leak but doesn't help structural integrity.
They don't have rubber drains from the plenum chamber but there are gaps in the end which allow the
water to drain away.
Follow Up By: Topcock - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 11:30
Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 11:30
Started stripping it all apart last night, wiper blades, plenum grill panel etc etc. All looks pretty good, no rust, but minor cracks in the original panel sealant around the bonnet hinge area. The sealant cracks look to be too small for the amount of
water entering the vehicle. Overnight rain seems to deposit about half a small cup full in each foot
well. I will have a better look in the daylight when I get a chance and see what else reveals itself. I did notice evidence of
water dripping off the bottom of the fan cover on the passengers side. The leak is on both sides.
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 14:25
Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 14:25
The recesses to let the
water out are down the side, you can just reach them from the top if you have small hands.
On my 87 troopy the cracks ran down the vertical sides below them from the bottom of the A pillars for about 200mm. The 90 model one only had small 50mm long cracks which still let heaps of
water in as it came down the A pillar to the crack and then inside.
Have a good look at the top of the A pillars near the top of the windscreen as they crack across to the actual gutter there too.
Reply By: disco driver - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 13:22
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 13:22
As someone said in another post.
Jeep invented it, Landrover perfected it and the japs copied it.
Even the
water leaks.
Disco
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 13:55
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 13:55
At least the Japs haven't copied the oil leaks from the Pommies !!
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 18:56
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 18:56
Have you got wires (eg 2nd battery) going through a punched hole in the firewall grommets?
If so, the
water drips off the cowl, down the firewall and over these grommets - the
water then follows the wires into the cabin. I sealed
mine up, and leak was solved.
Follow Up By: Topcock - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 11:32
Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 11:32
No second battery or stray wires heading through the firewall grommets. I will seal the grommets themselves to discount that possibility.
Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:36
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:36
Mine too ....
Same solution ... worked like a charm !!
Reply By: dieselup - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 20:14
Monday, May 28, 2007 at 20:14
Had a leak dripping down onto the air con fan in my 94 mod ,found that behind the LHS windscreen hinge the seal had broken when I looked into it there was a small rust hole
I undid the windscreen and roof bolts and lifted the screen frame up enough to clean out the rust and smother it in fish oil ,left it for a day or two and then sealed behind the hinge and along the seal with sikaflex - seems to have done the trick
Cheers Diesel
Follow Up By: Topcock - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 11:34
Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 11:34
Mine doesn't have the windscreen hinge (was this on a ute?) I will check that area while I am at it.