dual cabs, how much more space?

Submitted: Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:30
ThreadID: 46076 Views:3575 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
any one who has changed from a wagon to a new dual cab, did you notice a considerable space advantage( with a canopy) and was it more convenient to pack. I currently have a gu patrol and am considering options for my next vehicle. Also what would be their disadvantages when used as a touring bush vehicle. cheers molzy

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:34

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:34

we converted a wagon to a dual cab, checkout rig pic, and it's heaps better, with heaps more room for stuff. At the moment we're getting a special "box" made for the back by a WA firm which will have _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx etc.

We've had no hiccups with the utes while travelling so far...

Lyn
AnswerID: 243511

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:43

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:43
Do you have kids??

I am about to go the other way and get a wagon as the kids are getting a bit cramped for room in the back seats, to compansate for the loss of storage space I have an 8 x 5' off road trailer.

Packing the ute is pretty easy but to have lift up side windows on the canopy would have been better. I just have a single open top drawer in the back and can pack a fair bit of stuff in.

AnswerID: 243514

Follow Up By: molzy - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:48

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:48
yes we have one kid and another planned for next year . we have just packed for our trip to the kimberlies this year(with one seat out) and have little space left. thought that the new dual cabs would have plenty of room in the back seat and also a bit more room out the back. thought lift up windows would give better access to gear. just not to sure how they handle reasonably tough touring (canning,cape etc)
FollowupID: 504452

Follow Up By: normc - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:38

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:38
Molzy, we did GRR, Mitchell Plateau, Cape :eveque, Bungle Bungles and much more last year in the HIlux dual cab with canopy. Easy as pie. For this type of touring the ute is at least the equivelant of the wagon IMO.
FollowupID: 504459

Reply By: Batman69 - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:45

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:45
Molzy,

Changed from a GU to a Dualcab Hilux in February. Went camping at Easter, had heaps more room in the ute with canopy, and found that with our two young girls there was as much room in the back as far as leg room goes. Just a little less shoulder room with booster seats fitted.

Batman.
AnswerID: 243516

Follow Up By: molzy - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:51

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:51
did you get lift up windows?
FollowupID: 504453

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:13

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:13
Lift ups on passenger side, sliding on drivers side.
FollowupID: 504540

Reply By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:50

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:50
Heaps more!!!!!!!!!!!!
...........space that is.
AnswerID: 243520

Follow Up By: molzy - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:53

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:53
thats a good set up john!! is it four door or single rear door conversion
FollowupID: 504455

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:45

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 17:45
Molzy

Its an ex-miner!

It started life as a single cab which they cut in half and extended the chassis by 300 mm. Then they tack the extra cab on to the back of the existing two door ute cab, bang on a new roof and hey presto 4 door, with buckets of room. The cab retains the old rear back panel to about knee height which gives the structure strength and the back doors are full size with heaps of leg room. I have mine set up for the dog in the back and chart table nav area on drivers side but for your application with kids it would be ideal as its tough as old boots with buckets of room.

There are some pictures in my rig profile before I put the Al canopy on the back but the old girl is now the mother ship for all our camping expeditions simply because it can carry all the fuel, food, water, camping gear etc for three vehicles on a two to three week bush trip.

they are a bit hard to find now as they stopped making them when the major companies started producing dual cabs in all shappes and sizes. The WA mob who made them reckon they are simply too costly to manufacture now at a reasonable profit. Conversion was around the $25-30k mark. If you were in the market for a real bush truck, they are ideal to pick up for about $15K and do a bare chassis rebuild of the lot to a stage you decide upon. This one has been pretty well done to the max and we just love it.
FollowupID: 504461

Reply By: normc - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:53

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 16:53
If you have no kids, or they are young, utes are the way to go I reckon.
In the front seat, you will notice no difference. Plenty of leg room and they are set up like a wagon anyway. In the back seat, there is less leg room. Some a a bit better than others, but all have less space than a wagon.
The real advantage is the rear load space. HEAPS more room, plus a greater load (weight) carrying capacity.

Consider getting a tray back ute and putting an aluminium canopy with full sized lift up side doors. That is the only change I would like to have made to my Hilux. We are very happy with our setup and the Carryboy canopy we fitted. It does everythig we ask of it (which is a lot). But a tray back with good canopy would give more space and be easier to pack. You also have space under the tray to add tool boxes, water containers etc if you wish.

My next vehicle will be a tray back ute (probably a Land Cruiser), but our kids are grown up. With a full canopy and racks on top for the boat and accessories, we will be able to carry everything we could need and more.
AnswerID: 243523

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:08

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:08

We went from a wagon to our Hilux dual cab and it is great.

Originally we didn't have the canopy on ours but I have since put one on and after a couple of trips we are really pleased with it. Heaps of room and the cargo area is fully separated from the driving cab which I think is great.

In the vehicle itself the front seating is very roomy with the back seating being comfortable but not earth bleep tering. Certainly OK for young kids but once they get a bit bigger then they might feel a bit uncomfortable in the back seats.

Our kids are all grown up now and not living with us and there is just my wife and I so we don't have to worry about the back seat comfort issue.

All in all I am really happy with the dual cab and when I replace this one I will probably go that way again.

One last thing is that it pulls our Goldstream camper well and can handle a heavy load also.
AnswerID: 243606

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:00

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:00
yep....another vote for cutting the back off a full-size 4x4. My Patrol now has at least double the usable space the old wagon had. And I get to retain the good aspects of the bigger vehicle.
AnswerID: 243628

Follow Up By: molzy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:08

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:08
do you have a rough price to do the conversion?
FollowupID: 504559

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 08:06

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 08:06
Molzy.....mine was already done when I bought it. Bloke who bought the Patrol new in 2000, immediately took it to Brunswick Diesel and had the 6.5 Chev fitted, then took it to an engineering place to get the back chopped off.

I would suggest you have a yarn to Mr Al and/or Lyn (see the response earlier on this thread). Al is a very accomplished engineer and his work is 2nd to none in this regard. I believe you'd be looking at anything between $7K and $15K depending on what you want done..........(ie: from simple cut-off up to fully equipped professional box on the back).

But, well worth it as far as I'm concerned.

FollowupID: 504566

Reply By: AMack - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:40

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:40
I have a Hilux and we have a Patrol as our family tourer. Much more load space in the ute but MUCH less comfort/space inside especially in the rear of it. If Nissan made a dual cab Patrol with full size rear leg room (based on present live axles, diesel, auto) it would be a winner.
AnswerID: 243641

Follow Up By: molzy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:09

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:09
they would sell thousands! makes you wonder why they dont.
FollowupID: 504560

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:16

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:16
molzy, whereabouts are you located? Al has a conversion business...if you want to contact me email is grierson @ hotkey . net .au

Lyn
AnswerID: 243669

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:34

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:34
Hi Molzy

We had a Defender 110 previously, and whilst it had plenty of useable space, like most wagons still a little hard to configure exactly the way you want it.

We wanted to go back to a 'mechanical' rather than 'electronic' vehicle, so we went the twin cab route and had a canopy designed to our specs (without over-complicating it).

The new set-up works perfectly for long-range touring; mind you customising is not always the cheapest route, but you get it the way yuo want it!

AnswerID: 243693

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:27

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:27
G'day molzy
We've done the Canning in an 80 with 2 kids. Had a roof rack for bedding etc. Everything fitted. If you have a roof rack and still can't fit it in you're taking too much! Would suggest GU will be better, more comfortable touring vehicle than a dual cab with more room for the pasengers, and on long trips that's really important.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 243733