Not a Nissan/Toyota bash
Submitted: Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 19:57
Footloose
Please don't turn this post into a brand slinging match, that's been done to death.
Ok so we've been a Toyota family for a long time. But I'm not one eyed, horses for courses. 4wds have come a long way since I first bought my series 2 Landie.
Why, exactly, did you choose your particular brand of vehicle ?
Because it was the one you liked , of course. But exactly what did you like about it ?
Was it a matter of money ?
Inclusions ?
Power ?
Ability to tow ?
Fuel economy ?
Reputation?
Colour ?
A mate has one ?
Your wife chose it ?
You just wandered past and thought hey I like the look of that :))
Please dont post why you didn't buy the opposition, just why you bought yours.
Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:12
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:12
Hey Footloose,
I had a VR Calais that i wanted to swap for a 4WD (didn't care what, just wanted a 4WD)... I had a guy send me a message asking if i wanted to swap for the Pajero... I went & looked at it, took it for a drive, & the rest is history... I'm happy with the Paj, its surprised me & a few others. I think i'll keep it for a while (
well... until SWMBO lets me upgrade, anyway LOL)
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Batboy - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:14
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:14
GU 04 Cab chasiss. low klms 46,000 6 months ago and proven reliability
Don't really care about 16l/100klms economy but love the 450,000 (hopefully) trouble free klms ahead of me
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:16
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:16
Couple of friends bought Sahara hj 61's in 88 and 89. I liked them and so bought one. Never seen the need to upgrade. Has never let me down. 415200 on the clock now.
Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:16
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:16
Good evening there Mr Footyloosey.
We bought the Zuk to tow behind the motorhome it is light is 4by 2seater can take half the roof off if we want to enjoy the fresh air more & got to see more
places off road.
Then i/we bought F250 1& 1/2 cab tray back which is used for rooftiling business,& which will ultiately be used to travel outback when i retire soon maybe 5yrs & will have it fully set up for that purpose.
Cheers Bob.
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:19
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:19
Footy,
As a stock photographer I do not want to have pictures of the same vehicle all the time so once every 3 years I buy a new vehicle.
Although this latest (only 11 mths old) I really wished I hadn't but you live and learn. And due to customer service will never go that make again.
Will be ordering the next one in a month or 2.
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:20
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:20
I had an old clapped out XD Falcon ute that I drove into the ground, SWMBO ended up refusing to drive it if it rained, it leaked like a sieve.
We bought her a 2 door Feroza and I had to have another ute so we ended up with the Triton, partly because SWMBO like the colour :) and the Toyota Dealer refused to sell me a new Hilux (they reckon I couldn't afford it) so I paid cash for the Triton.
I am now considering upgrading to a Wagon (either Toyota or Nissan) as we need more leg room for the kids.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:28
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:28
I've always driven busted arse 4x4's including Landrovers, Toyotas, Nissans and Suzukis and some others.
My latest acquisition(2004) is 13 now years of age.
I wanted a strong 4.2 litre diesel non turbo, for the simple reason of fuel availability in the outback and non turbo because turbos are finnicky things.
My 4x4 before this one was a Nissan and the one before that a Toyota.
Nissan are $10,000 less expensive than Toyota's so they take preference in my way of thinking as both vehicles are very capable on and off road.
So after looking around and the missus wanting to buy a Xtrail I saw this old GQ in the same yard at a rediculously high price. So we offered them a stupid price for the two vehicles and they accepted it. Traded in a a Commodore Wagon as
well.
And that was that. Have done 70,000km with the GQ since buying it and it is still sailing smoothly. It has acquired a few small dents along the way since then and lots of scratches. I service it regularly and it should last a while.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:29
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:29
Lucky them...the commodores probably still going! LOL
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:51
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:51
Whats that supposed to mean?
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:29
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:29
Wanted a low km, new as possible proven 4wd. That would tow my van around australia and have a wide range of aftermarket acceries available. Was after a GQ 4.2td but couldnt find one with low km's so ended up with 97 80 series with 140Km on the clock for $16K(18 months ago). Wish I had of been able to find a turbo but they were all 92-93 with high km's and high prices. Happy with my choice. Fitted it with what I wanted how I wanted. Capable and tows
well. Though if I won lotto a brunswick diesel conversion and twin air lockers would be on the card.
Matt
Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:50
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:50
ps
Have owned a 88 Navara twin cab diesel(good car just hated the lack of
suspension travel in the front), A F20 Diahatsu Scat(Dont ask why, yes it had a bleep load of rust, No I wouldnt recoment buying one) and I also have a 88 Zook that I am about to sell because aparrently 3 cars, 2 caravans(have to sell one of them too!), 1 Boat and a trailer is too much rego and insurance for one household(according to SWMBO)
Matt
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:32
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:32
Hey Footloose.
In 1976 my old man bought his first Cruiser it was a 1974 soft top short wheel base petrol.
This was the first 4wd I ever had a drive of, age 12.
My first 4wd was a 1984 BJ 40 4cld diesel.
Since then I have had a 82 Hilux a 78 short wheel base petrol a 86 troopy a 89 Hilux a 93 80 series a 99 troopy currently a 2000 STD 100 series , 2000 troopy , 2002 GXL 100 series and a 2003 GXL 100 series.
My Fathers side of the family has always drive a Toyota, Dad currently has a 2006 RV TD ute my sister just traded a RAV 4 for a 07 Carolla.
So we have always been a Toyota Family.
In my Survey years and Touring years It has always been Toyota's.
I simply couldn't imagine driving any thing else.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 01:35
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 01:35
I have driven a lot of different 4WDs through work. I have also owned three Nissan Patrols and one Langcruiser.
I prefer the Patrol for a number of reasons but it is personal preference.
My experience is that the Patrol and the Landcruiser are the two best 4WDs on the market.
If you are happy with Toyota's stick with them. Better the devil you know than the devil you don't.
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:34
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:34
Living in
Darwin Makes the choice easy, as Toyota parts and service are way cheaper than Nissan, that is a fact.
EG: I over heated a 2h motor and had the head done, so a shave, valve grind, gasket kit fitted by a mate was $900 odd.
He happened to own an equivalent model Nissan and the same work and parts for his were 2/3 more than
mine.
Toyota in
Darwin are about $80 per hour and Nissan are $120 per hour.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:39
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:39
First, let me say how
well behaved everyone is, so far. I'm impressed.
Fascinating reasons for your selection. I'm not doing market research, but just looking around and wondering. You never know, we might all win Lotto one day.
Reply By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:51
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:51
Why the Patrol.
Brother owns one and is reliable.
Tough and proven IMO
like the styling
Like the engine, 4.2iTD
Like the room
Like the 3.5t towing ability
Like the availability of parts + accessaries
Found one with the major add ons on it, bull bar etc, with low km, 64000 when i bought it, and for a gold price $42k
Modified it to my liking,
and love it to bits.
not the most powerful, not the most economical, but you can't have your cake and eat it too (which i think most people want) ie V8 turbo, with low 10's fuel consumption........hhmmm
and now it is exactly what i like and love, and is unique!!
cheeers Wayne-o
Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:53
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 20:53
Hi Footloose, we were in the market for a 4wd wagon to replace the ageing Pajero we had. We looked at Patrol's and 80 series Cruisers. Main reason we chose the truck we have now was price and value for money.
We were camped at
Bendethera at the time and was browsing the local Southern Trading post when we spotted the Patrol. I took one look at the price and immediately thought it was either a 3 litre they were trying to off load, or it had very high k's.We looked at all the extras it had at the time,
snorkel,outback roof console,new GME uhf,IPF lights,XD 9000 warn winch, ARB winch bar, Hayman reese towbar. Rang the dealer to get the rundown and check that the price wasn't a missprint and to check k's.
1999 4.2 diesel/ non turbo 197000k's it was originally priced at $19999 and after some swift talking we paid cash 3 days later at $17000. Ex Narrabri council all books and
services kept up to date.I'm the 3rd owner , the guy before us didnt keep it long, he was preparing for a cape trip and his wife got very ill.
Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:17
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 07:17
Forgot to mention we got $3000 for the Paj, so brings it down to $14000.
Reply By: obee - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:02
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:02
I hate vehicles and I hope one day to be able to do without. So much money and work and traffic and other drivers its a pain. Trouble is I like travelling in the bush so I put up with it. When I am older I may get bored with all and start taking the bus and taxis. You can buy a lot travelling with what it cost to own a car a get a chauffer to boot. (taxi). I will have plenty of time anyway so no need to have the getaway vehicle in the carport.
Maybe a small house in a country town? Sigh..
Owen
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:11
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:11
What an interesting response ! We'd all like to be able to do without buying and maintaing them, but they are so expensive to rent.
Taxis and buses usually dont go far enough into the bush, and you have to go where they're going.
Now if only Scotty could beam me across to
Broome :)))
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:05
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:05
Because Nissan Don't Make Troppy's easy peasy.. :-)
Reply By: Blaze - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:13
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:13
Hi Footy,
Bought
mine purely on bamg for my bucks. Enabled me to have a Vehicle with all the running gear of an earlier model Paj but at about half the price, also wanted duel fuel and at the time of purchase ADR's had made it that all new vehicles had to pass for LPG.
Lastly Mitsi's 5 yrs full warranty with 10yrs drive train. Means I don't have to stress to much with repairs for awhile yet..
Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:15
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:15
Created a spreadsheet , with values I thought impotrant , and got specs relating to those , to arrive at a short list.
This was simple part - it lead to 3 big wagon finalists.
Got hold of one of them and it didn't match the
old car so it was down to 2.
Both were excellant cars and splitting them was really hard.
List was weighted towards 4wd touring performance and saftey, one had
slightly better performance and other had slightly better safety.
Drove a couple of samples and still couldn't quite decide.
Then at next 4wd show went over them carefully on stands , on one the gear
lever throw was long , and centre armrest was to high to rest arm on.
Figured I could modify arm rest - but decided that no real fix for gearbox
shift on the other.
Went over to opposition stand and did deal on
the spot.
Reply By: Stu050 - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:17
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:17
Footy,
I bought my Landcruiser HZJ105 because I couldn't walk away from the deal that I was offered.
Also, in every 1/2 horse town in western Queensland, therein lies a Toyota dealer, so there is no problem with spare parts.
And another thing, most mining companies use them, and they don't often get it wrong.
My .02
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:30
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:30
Gday Stu
After a change of career 7 years ago and getting into the mining industry......from what I have seen so far, they often get it wrong, very wrong! Not really the type of vehicle, I think they do ok with the toyota's, but I would never buy anything because it is used in the mines. In my short career in the industry, I have seen some unbelievable decisions and directions taken.
Cheers Andrew
(drive a nissan at
home, a toyota at work. wouldn't have my car for work, wouldn't have the work car for
home, 50/50)
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:34
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:34
I work for an international Oil company, offshore, and you bet ya these big companies can get it wrong, VERY WRONG.
But it puts diesel in everyones' tanks i guess.....lol
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:54
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:54
Don't worry Andrew, I have seen some strange decisions made in the mining industry as
well.
One particular instance springs to mind. One of the underground gold mines in a western NSW town was concerned that they were only getting 3 years life out of their 75 series landcruisers underground. The
mine purchased a Hummer, to evaluate it's longetivity underground. They figured that if the military used them, they couldn't be that bad, could they?
Anyhow the
mine spent $140K on this Hummer, and it was difficult to turn in the tunnels, and rotted out in 6 months. Very expensive lesson indeed.
But in all the mines that I have worked in throughout Australia, I have yet to see one that uses Nissan for it's light vehicle fleet.
Follow Up By: Batboy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 06:56
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 06:56
"But in all the mines that I have worked in throughout Australia, I have yet to see one that uses Nissan for it's light vehicle fleet"
Just another example of strange decisions! :O
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:49
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:49
2 of the biggest industries from the
Pilbara to East Arnhemland, are mining and tourism.
I have never seen a Nissan in a
Mine and I have never seen a Nissan with Tour Plates on it, I spent 12 years in the Survey/ mining industry and currently 14 in tourism.
I have never seen a black fella in a Nissan either Lol.
Bridge Auto's in
Darwin have won the award, for selling the most amount of 4wds, in any Toyota Dealership in Oz for 25 consecutive years.
Perhaps another reason why I own Toyota's.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 11:56
Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 11:56
Steve,
Not meaning to upset the apple cart but if you have not seen a Nissan in a
mine or in tourism then you should go to
Broken Hill.
Perilya, operating both the south
mine and north
mine, use Nissans, not exclusively, but they are the vast majority of light fleet vehicles. Also the most successful and best known tour operator working out of BH uses Nissans. I won't give him a free add here but he does a lot of work all over Aus, particularly in the area of western NSW, SA and Southern Qld.
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:56
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:56
And here I was under the impression that Black Toyota of
Dalby in Qld had the crown for most 4x4 tojo sales ,go any bleeding where and you see the sticker / mudflaps.
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:29
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:29
Where's
Dalby.
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:58
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:58
I thought that their biggest yard was Chinchilla?
Dalby is roughtly 80 K's west of
Toowoomba in SE Qld.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:19
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:19
I bought a Nissan Patrol cos I couldn't afford a Landcruiser. Been happy with the marque ever since. Hell, I know they are not as refined as the toyota brand, but IMHO they are tougher in the all-important drive-train area.....and that matters more to me than having a slightly better fit and finish inside etc.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:22
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:22
totally agree wit ya Roachie, and im my case the tough running gear couple with the 4.2, was perfect! I can drive it hard all day in 45+ heat, and it will still ask for more!
Wayne-o
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:25
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:25
Roachie, at first I thought geez another honest answer..then I looked at the list of accessories which probably cost as much as a couple of Toyotas and thought ...must be a bigger story there somewhere :))))))))))
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:46
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:46
hahahahaha,,,,, Footy, I was actually throwing a bait out to Pesty; but he didn't pick-up on it. He always reckons that Nissan is a poor-mans toyota and that I only bought a Nissan cos I couldn't afford the toyota that I would have preferred to buy. hahahaha
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:45
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:45
Well I had a 1985 4.2 Cruiser diesel ute and felt it was the best vehicle i have ever had and it was purchased for my business, it was only 4 year old when i got it. Stopped that business and sold it, not required around the city. I was not into 4x4 then.
Several years later started a business for my son and needed another vehicle my current 1997 Rodeo was not my choice but it was offered to me at a fantastic price I could not resist. The fact also I knew the vehicle and where it had been with only 36000 on the clock two and a half years ago.
So in a nut shell ........ Price for me for my current vehicle.
Next if all goes to plan is a 80 series.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:48
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:48
80 series have their faults...like any vehicle I guess. But I drive one and don't know anyone who's been disappointed with one. I'm sure there must be someone but I don't know of them.
Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:57
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 21:57
Well I'd never had a 4WD before in my life, but after a trip to
Cape York, travelling with friends and family in a Land Cruiser, 2 Prados and a Discovery in 2000, I was able to convince SWMBO that if we were going to have an element of adventure in our recent retirement, we needed to upgrade our Ford Futura, or we'd be left sitting in a
caravan park, while everyone went and got their feet dirty.Now I know there's been a lot of flak thrown, but we bought a brand new Ford Explorer XLT in November 2000. It hasn't missed a beat. We tow a 1978 vintage Jayco Dove camper van, and have had a ball. Did a 6 month trip around the West half of Aus. in 2002.
Gibb River Rd.,
Kalumburu Rd. etc. Out to
Steep Point earlier. Veh. performed admirably. I've spent nothing on it other than
services, tyres battery etc. The price was right at the time, and so was the deal. Bottom line is, we're both happy, and the veh.does everything we ask of it. Don't see many Explorer owners post on this site. Cheers.
Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:11
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:11
I had a 93 GQ 4.2 petrol and wanted a diesel, liked the GU's body shape along with the tried and tested drive train and chassis and thought I might as well upgrade to the GU.
Traded the GQ in on the GU 4.2 N/A diesel that i saw in the in a car yard, and never looked back
Cheers Luke
Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:22
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:22
Reputation basically decided it - the 4.2 GU Patrol.
Needed reliability, bush proven with good towing ability.
Found one 3rd hand at $30k with low klms (1999 model).
Previous owners had paid for the major extras, so I only had to fit
snorkel; roof console; compressor and GPS.
Owned a Yoto SWB , then a Disco - both diesel.
Absolutely love the GU. Fitted out with the necessary gear, it can take me (in comfort) as far from the rat race as it is possible to get (geographically at least)........Keith.
Reply By: Jacked Off - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:24
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:24
I've owned a 1980 Hilix, 1983 Hilux dual cab Hilux, 1981 landcruiser, 1990 Maverick and currently a 2001
Jackaroo. All the vehicles were purchased as they suited my needs at the time and were good value for money. The only vehicle I have had problems with is the Jack.
Reply By: AMack - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:28
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:28
Wrote up a list of musts and wants, the musts ended up deciding it all and were.
1 Live axles, coil springs.
2 Diesel (balance of economy/power)
3. Auto
4. Carry +6 (4kids)
5. Reputation and proven reliability
6. Value for money.
Except for the last 2 criteria it came down to only 2 vehicles Patrol and Discovery (I did want a Toyata but there is nothing matching this short list at any price) but value for money and the fact that Nissans are so popular made it a no contest. PATROL.
Reply By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:30
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:30
Always loved the GQ'S from when I was a kid, so bought one of them 4.2 duel fuel, to see if 4WDing was for me...loved it so after a year got the GU as it had all the gear already low km's 114k and a $14000 change over, could not say no.
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:32
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:32
It followed me home ...... honest, Mum :))))))
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:40
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:40
Simple, I am 6'4" (in the old stuff) and I would not fit in a Nissan
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:46
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:46
i do........
Reply By: lc_120man - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:49
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 22:49
Needed a bigger car as our Magna was to small for the whole family. I wanted at least an AWD... We went and had a look at Territory and Kluger. SWMBO didn't like both but liked the space in the Prado so we bought it :)
Reply By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:07
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:07
Footie,
Just as a thought :- Why did you put Nissan in front of Toyota in your post headline.
LOL.
Bros.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 18:41
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 18:41
Coz "N" comes before "T"
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:07
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:07
After buying a schmick looking 1985 FJ62 with 160,000 k on the clock and on LPG (my 3rd 4wd) which turned out to be the biggest lemon / bucket of crap / money pit to ever leave the shores of Japan my ever generous boss gave me the opportunity to upgrade with some help from the business.
The criteria was no older than 4 years and not over 40k. It was suggested I look at a new or near new TD dualcab but I knew I wanted a wagon and simply could not find a diesel GXL 100 series (or troopie) within this criteria that wasn't already buggered, so after a little bit of badgering from 2 others who already own one, a 2000 3.0TDi auto Patrol it is.
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:41
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:41
From Ford Falcon to Landcruisers: Way back in the past, we were trying to operate a small farm in a hilly area with only a Falcon wagon, which would get stuck on a gravel road unless all the kiddies sat across the back axle to get traction. I was trying to do the day to day work with an old tractor on which i couldn't reach the brake pedals, with a small toddler on my lap. We saw an FJ40 short wheel based Landcruiser for $4000, so bought it. This started a long Toyota history of Landcruisers in the family (a few with V8s replacing original engines), although one son had a series of Hiluxes (a couple of those converted to V8s too).
Nissan Patrol: A few years ago, our Hilux man decided Nissans were the best, and bought a Patrol wagon (he sold it last week as bought a Patrol Ute to do up for
camping). We picked it up and drove it until our daughter took it to him where he is based up North. We drove it to
Perth to look at a Winnebago 4wd camper, found it so comfortable, that we came home with a 3 litre td Patrol (we wanted diesel and he wanted auto due to deafness). "And I've always been a Cruiser man" as the advert used to say. We still have a Cruiser Ute working hard on the farm.
Ford - really? Yes back to Ford: Wanting something more suitable for towing our caravan (heavier than the legal load for our Auto 3 ltr), we have recently purchased an F250. The beaut Patrol will be for sale soon - we all want to keep it, but too much value to keep in our front yard full of cars just because we love it.
So when i throw barbs into the Toyota - Nissan debate, it is because i have one of each! Now i have a Ford too, but i drive a little old Commodore to work, so can join the Ford - Holden bun-fight on either side too.
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:48
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 23:48
Have always owned Nissans , when i bought this one i looked at price and suitability , well for the price i paid in 2004 for a 2000 4.2TD series II GU Patrol $30000.00 it suited my needs , i love it and plan on keeping it for a few more years yet....also just love the shape of Nissans over the Toyota.
Cheers.......Dave
Reply By: Go Fishing - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:08
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:08
Wanted a Prado but couldn't quite justify it.
Wanted a 4WD with Low Range to get me
beach fishing. Got a new Kia Sorrento. Was a reasonable car, other than 14L+ / 100km fuel economy, the sympathy look when you tell others you have a KIA and the boot was just too small.
Regretted the purchase after a year and wished I got a Prado. Promised myself I'd never get a Petrol 4WD again.
Then won $75K on Lotto.
Sold the Kia, the Prado was now the D4D instead of the 96kw. Couldn't be happier. Got it because of larger boot, biggest fuel tank and econmoy. Getting 9.2L / 100km in the city. Name & reliability was a factor. NVH levels better than Pajero as well.
Reply By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:19
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:19
The most well behaved, and successful post i think i have see yet......Cheers Footloose, i really enjoyed reading everyones posts'.
Thanks guys.
Wayne-o
Reply By: ev700 - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:56
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 00:56
With three teens we needed room. The Falcon's back
seat and the middle hump in the floor was murder for our daughter, who sat between two gangly boys. The Falcon is supposed to be a large family car but the small, uncomfortable rear interior belies the size of the car.
Most fourbys were too small for 5 people plus gear. Then there was the problem that most had an uncomfortable second row of seating - the middle passenger was usually required to sit on a split
seat (a recipe for a 'numb bum').
Next problem was that most fourbys lacked a head restraint or a lap/sash seatbelt (or both) for ALL passengers and especially the second row of seats.
The vehicle had to be kind in city traffic and parking for the spouse, although we were keeping a Falcon as well for some city cycle.
So the final result was a Landcruiser 4.2TD auto. The diesel was my personal preference - always liked diesels. The 5 speed auto is beaut for all uses, including towing.
Some say that the Landcruiser is dearer than the nearest competition - but what value should we place on having a proper lap/sash belt with a headrest for her? Again, what is the use of paying less and requiring her to sit on an unconfortable centre split
seat for thousands of kms? Further, what value should we place on having a comfortable flat roomy floor area for her to wiggle her feet?
If you are buying a vehicle, try all non-driver seating positions while someone else drives the truck and remember that the kids are not little for very long.
EV700
Reply By: equinox - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:41
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:41
I've never ever heard of a cruiser ute breaking down - and I'm no mechanic so I need reliability.
Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:53
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:53
Same here - reliability (and the Crusier ute would have been too tall to fit my garage!). Nissan GU 4.2TDi...wanted a Cruiser ute initially, but my wife preferred the Nissan to drive - I'm not biased between brands.
Origianally had a V6 Pathfinder, then a 2000 3.0L GU (urrrgh) for 6 almost intolerable years of trouble and now I am more than happy with my choice. Might try a Toyo next when the current 4.2 GU dies - not likely:)))))))
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:19
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:19
Hey Craig, Love your Rig Pic - bit hard to believe that it was taken in a desert - that fog was brilliant!
Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:52
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 09:52
Landrover, only 4WDs we have had, but have served our requirements well. Sturdy off-road vehicle that have answered everything asked of them, plenty of room and price is competitive versus alternatives....
Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 11:13
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 11:13
Jeez, you're game, admitting to having owned more than 1 Landy on this
forum.
Mind you, I have also had my fair share of Pommy excellence,
4 Series IIA & III's, 2 Rangies and a DiscoTD5.
Now have a Diesel Courier 4x4 and above mentioned TD5 auto.
Disco (WA)
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:11
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:11
Didn't read other responses so as not to bias my own.
Why, exactly, did you choose your particular brand of vehicle ? Patrol 4.2 turbo GU because of the reported strength in the drive train.
Because it was the one you liked , of course. But exactly what did you like about it ? It suited my needs.
Was it a matter of money ? YES
Inclusions ? Not really.
Power ? YES
Ability to tow ? YES
Fuel economy ? Not at all interested.
Reputation? YES
Colour ? Not really.
A mate has one ? YES 3 family members have had good runs out of theirs.
Your wife chose it ? NO
You just wandered past and thought hey I like the look of that :)) NO
The fact that I was going to spend 11 or 12 grand doing up my 100 series to suit what I needed and the change over on a brand new worked 4.2 Patrol was only 14 grand helped also.
I'm not biased to one make or another and will buy whatever brand suits my application. I will however bag the "other" make all day long in good humuor.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:40
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:40
I got the Troopy- coz Footy's got one...
73s mate ._ ._.
Reply By: Darren C - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:44
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 10:44
Our first 4wd was an imported Terrano but power and internal space left a lot to be desired. However it was a great vehicle to learn to 4WD in.
In searching for a replacement I had always liked the look of the patrols and their overall reputation for being indestructible apart from the obvious engine issues with the earlier series. In looking around and trying to avoid the dodgy years it became clear that it wasnt going to cost much more to buy a new GU4 which to my mind was a lot nicer looking inside and out to the 3 series. Also not being mechanically minded, the warranty was extra piece of mind.
On reflection tho the warranty does limit my willingness to perform modifications but 2 years down the track nothing has gone wrong (touchwood) and we are very happy with everything apart from its sluggish performance around town (although we appreciate the trade off with offroadability)
Things I would change - definitely should have gone for the auto and cruise control would be great!!
Darren
Reply By: Russ n Sue - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 11:15
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 11:15
Why did I get the Landy? In order of preference:
Tow, get up and go, show, dough.
and they're not the same car as every other bugger is driving.
Oh, and I'll probably learn how to be a mechanic too.
Russ.
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 12:45
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 12:45
For around $20k I wanted a base model car for a family of four, non-turbo large diesel that will go forever. It doesn't sound like a lot of requirements, but out of all the 4wds on the market it left us with a choice between a Troopie, 60 or 80 series 'cruiser, or a Patrol. With
young kids, the Troopie needed to have forward facing rear seats which are pretty rare 2nd hand and they have no rear passenger door. Not many 60 series around with low k's. Out of the other two, it was an immaculate 80 series with low k's that came along first.
Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:07
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:07
Surprisingly I have a '83 60 series Sahara T/Diesel with a original 242,000 k's & still going strong ! Wouldn't trade it for the world, but get plenty of offers to buy it.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:20
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:20
They're definitely a good car; the number of them still driving around testifies to that.
Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 08:23
Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 08:23
What's that snake you have curled around your arm !
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 15:35
Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 15:35
A Brown Tree Snake. I think he lives around our house somewhere as we have found numerous skins. Either that or we have lots of snakes!
I found it just outside our back door one night and I'd had a few beers and thought I was Steve Irwin LOL. I'm glad I had the presence of mind to put the glove on as he had a good go at my hand after I'd agitated him a bit longer.
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:33
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:33
Our old '84
Tarago had taken us all over the
top end of the NT and whoop whoop SA, including down a few 4WD tracks, but by 1999 she was getting tired and needed replacing. We still needed 6 seats back then so we went looking for a 8-10 year old
Tarago but they were asking stupid prices. We were in one yard and realised that the window prices on the 4WD's next door were $10K cheaper than the Taragos of similar vintage.
So we started looking at 4WD's instead and picked up the Paj in Windsor NSW because the price was right and we liked the boxy look. The minister for war and finance was not sure about the 4WD thing but after a few trips away she was sold.
Now the Heritage Listed Paj only gets used for trips away but we would not be without it. We do not use 4WD a lot but the ground clearance gets lots of
places that my work dunnydore would not have a hope of tackling. And occasionally we just go out and have fun!
We will be looking for a replacement sometime next year and have decided on a Nissan 4.2 about 2000-2002 vintage. We would like a Troopy but can't justify the price.
Pete
Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:56
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:56
Were looking at a cab chassis, either 4.2 TD Patrol or TD 79 Series, didn't care. Got Toyota to within $1,500 of the patrol. So price was not an issue. Toyota played nice and were willing to talk, Nissan didn't. So basically customer service got Toyota home.
Money No
Inclusions Helped as offset price difference
Power slightly
Ability to tow, no
Fuel economy No
Reputation no as both OK
Colour No
Mate has one No
Wife chose it, she did prefere the Toyota slightly but was not a deciding factor
Both look ok to me
Basically wanted a tough vehicle you can get parts for easily. Decided a tray was the way to go. I would look at a defender also but I was over breaking down and the local mechanic having a a shelf of parts for Nissan and Toyota and nothing else.
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:04
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:04
This is my first ever 4wd.
I was sick of the XF and the constant leaking engine seals and i wanted a 4wd.
I was going to get a hilux dual cab, but when i had a ride in one (member sam) with the kids in the back i realised that i would need a wagon.
Started looking at 80 series because my friends all like Toyota. Not knowing the first thing about them i started researching. Every time i looked at a certain price range of toyota i started comparing what i could get an equivalent nissan for and there was always a constant differential in price in favour of the nissan.
Eventually i realised that for the same price i would get a nissan in better condition because toyotas keep their resale value, rightly or wrongly its a fact. Resale isn't a factor for me because i tend to hold on to my cars till they drop. So i started looking more closely and noticed the stronger drive train and started to like the shape of the GU. Anyway I found my car and have never regretted the choice. I will possibly try a landcruiser in the future if i get the choice and there is a better deal that steers me that way.
I am not a one-eyed Nissan owner, i realise that the 80 series and the GQ/GU are very capable offroaders. It all about the value for money to me.
Reply By: ross - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:15
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:15
Ive a HZJ75 landcruiser trayback. I bought it because its the most common outback vehicle and parts a readily available,has legendary reliabilty,good payload,reasonable economy and reasonable on road manners.
And of course it goes well offroad with little or no modification.
Its also easy to do most of the maintenance yourself due its simple and spacious engine bay.
I guess a Patrol wagon might have been my second choice for the same reasons.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:10
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:10
Because after working 10 years in Mining and Exploration I knew only 1 make has proven itself in the toughest of situations (comps dont count coz itdoesnt matter if you make it back or not) My 80 was fully kitted out for explorationwork so I bought it. The only thing that is a PROVEN better performer out bush is a trayback
Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:34
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:34
Hi Footy,
We got a Hyundai Terracan. Why..... price and a 5 year warranty. Not too many
accessories out there for it though, which is a bit of a bummer. Great power, enough to tow a 1.4T camper trailer over to
Ocean Lake on
Fraser Island.
Reply By: GU-Nissan - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:10
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:10
Hi Footloose,
My first 4wd was a '97 Nissan Pathfinder TI, chosen by myself and (now ex)wife as being not too big for a family runaround in the city, yet (we thought) a suitably capable off-road machine for
camping adventures. Yes it was capable enough at a reduced pace, but turned out to be just too small to fit all the gear in that a family of four required for even 5 or 6 days bush
camping. Otherwise loved the vehicle, on and off-road except for the bad habits of the ABS system off-road, and a little low.
A couple of years later in '99, we decided to buy a larger 4x4 wagon, so I proceeded to look at all the alternatives available, both new and second hand.
So my results were;
Ford Explorer: too expensive for the better engine/trim option and really too small, too new to really be viable second hand
Mitsubishi Pajero: a little small otherwise very nice
Jeep Cherokee: too small and a horrible rear seating position
Holden Jackeroo: Dealer would not even provide one for a test drive so got wiped immediately
Toyota Landcruiser 80 series used: too expensive for anything with reasonably low k's
Toyota Landcruiser 100 series new: just too damn expensive, but bloody nice to drive
Nissan Patrol GQ used: I simply could not find one in reasonable nick, they all seemed to have been abused and/or butchered
Nissan Patrol GU new: great vehicle at a very sharp price. I had the choice of TB45 petrol or the 2.8 TD. Drove both wasn't overly impressed with the diesel and the wife didn't like the idea of "that smelly stuff trucks use" so we bought the petrol.
We have since separated and I kept the Patrol. It is now a work-in-progress of improvement up to and beyond perfection! LOL
Hope this is not too long-winded for the readers!
Ross
Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:12
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:12
Evening Footloose,
I have the 05 Nissan Patrol DX 4.2TDi because I followed it from a government dept here in NSW where I knew it's complete history to auction. And I love it.
Runs like a dream, tows the CT like it's not there etc etc. Sold a 13 year old Subaru Liberty s/wgn as soon as I bought the 4x4. Loved it too but it was getting old and with 250k's on the clock things ......... and it could not tow the CT that was on order
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:25
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:25
we needed a new car that would fit 6.
i was taking a patrol back to a yard after fitting some
tyres and thought i want one of theese so we bought one
Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:16
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:16
After 6 Toyota's (FJ40, Hilux and four troopies) in 30 years I decided that the time had come to get something that wouldn't be running at or over GVM on long outback trips.
Having driven one of the first civilian Hummers to come to Oz in the early 90's I was hooked, but the asking price was too steep. When the chance to grab an ex Desert Storm ex USAF Humvee came up in 2002 I grabbed it, spent the next nine months converting it to RHD and getting it ADR compliant for rego.
It is the best vehicle we have owned for long trips, uses less fuel than a 1HZ troopy and is much more comfortable especially in rough terrain.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:32
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:32
I got bored with Station Wagons.
Camping out of them was a pain.
Decided that a traytop and canopy was the way to go - that way the inlaws and the kids couldn't come with us either :-)) Great Payload, and access to the canopy is brilliant.
I missed my old HJ47Troopie, and I missed the sweet TD I had in the 61series. So the opportunity to get a factoryTD in a traytop, and have a vehicle that I could drill holes in and hammer was too good to refuse.
I traded the Prado at the right time - almost 3 years old and in demand, got a great trade and paid for the Traytop on Mastercard.
I would have bought a Patrol if one had come up. We own 4 Nissans and 2 Toyotas, and have had a bunch of Subarus, so our only biase is towards those nicely engineered Japanese made vehicles.
Reply By: Dunedigger - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 07:23
Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 07:23
If you are after a realistic tough turbo diesel trraytop , then its Patrol or Landcruiser
Had two Patrols to tow heavy loads and both overheated on long climbs. Then Nissan decided to down rate their towing capacity to 2.5 tonns. I had no choice, but to buy a rough ancient retro ( new ) 2003 Landcruiser 79 turbo with a brilliant engine but with cart springs in the back !
But retro Landcruiser's are Ok and reliable.
modern cars are just so reliable (Rovers being the exception )
Dunedigger
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 18:44
Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 18:44
F'loosie, I guess Moses became ours when we sat in some Nissans and Toyotas at field days and found that Nissans were easier to climb in and out of, easier for my length of leg and more comfortable too.
A few years earlier we had been driving our ML Mercedes following a Nissan on a dirt road. The Nissan was so stable in comparison to our Mercedes at speed. Nissan suspensions were more flexible for the rougher conditions with the coils.
Nissans and Toyotas are relatively understressed but the Nissans seemed better able to take a wider tray. We thought the creature comforts were better able to cope with my tall frame in the Nissan.
Who knows in five years though if Nissan don't come up with a viable replacement diesel to the 4,2. We have built up the ability to tow, to carry and strengthened quite a bit around Moses, now a leader in the pack!
Reply By: Dallas from Team Green Autogas - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:01
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:01
G'day Footloose,
From an lpg conversion point of view mate, the L'cruisers have they're spare wheel underneath so when converting to lpg you need to spend more & invest in a spare wheel carrier where as the Nissan Patrols already have the spare wheel on the back door so when converting to lpg you are not looking at any further expense.
Vaguely related i know but could be helpful info before you walk into it head-on.
Dallas Green
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:13
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:13
Because its red ,{ well realy maroon} and we all know that red ones go faster .its an auto [no matter how good one is at changing gears an auto is better on sand ] she's a turbo diesel so power and fuel economy are in sync , and best of all
its mine.