package delivery from Tassie

Submitted: Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 18:20
ThreadID: 46115 Views:1742 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Explorers...i am looking for some assistance with a 6kg package from Tasmania to the mainland. it is 1250mm long, so wont go thru the post...wondering if anyone is planning to visit the Apple Isle or maybe a resident heading north for the winter....
Any assistance very much appreciated...If you have any ideas i havnt thought of, let em rip...im looking at $70 to courier, but am in no big rush to get it.
Andrew 0408965433 Wollongong NSW

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:17

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:17
Dozer

Get it sent via Courier (Toll do that quite well)

I sent an HF aerial through the post the other day and it was 1.4m long. Local small town post office...no worries mate. :-)

AnswerID: 243811

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:22

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:22
i will if i have to, its half price to send aust post but it is over their max length figure...i did have contact with a guy who works on the Toll ship...but i have lost his addy....grrrrr
AnswerID: 243813

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:10

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:10
I work for aust post, just cause there website has limits on the length does not mean it can't be posted. I posted a knee board once. We have had surf boards ect come through the post before.

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 504714

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:26

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:26
Tell the sender to dry the plants and chop them up, even mixed with toobaccy, 6 keys will fit into a half meter cubic box. LOL!!

I have someone that comes across from tassie to the mainland every 6 weeks or so. I will make a call and see if I can't get it over for you. He even goes to the gong on each trip. I will call you on your mobile, if I can make it happen.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 243815

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:43

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:43
If he stuffs it into a boogie board cover it is hardly noticeable.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 504700

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:47

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:47
ROFLMAO Jack.
FollowupID: 504703

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 00:42

Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 00:42
I was thinking exactly the same thing! Don't we get warnings from the authorities about taking strange packages across the ocean???!!!
FollowupID: 504779

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:42

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:42
No....thats up north in QLD...im talking Tassie....ive stuffed a few devils in there...and Pitty help cistoms if they go lookin....(yes its a Joke)
AnswerID: 243817

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 02:44

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 02:44
Devilish!.

And leave FNQ traffickers alone!! They have a hard enough time as it is.
Cloud cover/helicopter cover/under cover..............
Not to mention water crossings during the Wet.
FollowupID: 505057

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:37

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:37
Ladies and Gents.
Its all sorted......this site is awsome.....when ever your stuck, someone on here can help :)
Thanks everyone
AnswerID: 243832

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:00

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:00
Andrew,

Just following this up. How did you get on, has Frank been in touch? I know he is due to come back across the sea in a few weeks so I was wondering if all is good???

Cheers, trevor.
FollowupID: 510726