gas tank dimensions (auto, not BBQ : please )

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 02:17
ThreadID: 46170 Views:2323 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Site needed that gives bottle dimensions for autogas. Reason being that I'm looking at dieselgas, but most sub-tray spaces are cluttered.

Spoke to blokes in Rocky yesterday, and they said a "slim-line" bottle design was imminent. Any advice/leads welcome.
(Missus reckons 'dog-tube-air intake' is win win win . Nah - too lumpy I reckon).
So whose glass is half empty?
Thanks yet again. Jeff.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 08:25

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 08:25
Hey Jess
get the old fella to call these mobs ....woooof

Site Link

AnswerID: 244127

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 08:30

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 08:30
Jeffo, looks like Jumpin Jack Flash is going ahead then ? Good luck with it all. A full report will be necessary :))
AnswerID: 244128

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 11:52

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 11:52
Slow but encouraging progress Footyl.
If only the exaust could be routed forwards......
FollowupID: 505111

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 13:16

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 13:16
a google for
"asia motor vehicles autogas lpg conversion kits"
seems like a good start.
AnswerID: 244163

Reply By: Dallas from Team Green Autogas - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:07

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:07
G'day Jeff,

Basically mate you've got cylinders available from 244mm in diameter up to 430mm in diameter & needless to say mate you can get them in a wide range of lengths.

If you'd care to tell me what vehicle you're considering then maybe i can point you in the right direction.

Dallas Green
AnswerID: 244201

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 00:25

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 00:25
Thanks Dallas.We've got a 2001 Rodeo space cab, standard tray, no lift (yet).
Heaps of space below tray, but none of much use.
Have considered moving the tray back 360mm(still legal,plus little impact on exit angle). Replace spare with a 720x270 toroidal tank, mount cylindrical tank in tray............. Just don't know yet, but sleeping on it.
btw, will you have a Rep at the Brisbane show next weekend? If so, may visit.

Jeff H.
FollowupID: 505244

Reply By: Dallas from Team Green Autogas - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:10

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:10
G'day Jeff,

A space cab hey, bugger, not much room as you say. They'd normally end up with the donut under the bum or maybe 360 x 840, maybe 375 x 860 (at a stretch)Under rear & pull spare wheel out.

Unfortunately won't be reprsented at the show next weekend. Couldn't even go close to affording stand etc. Maybe next year.

Keep in touch mate & i'll help where i can. Even feel free to check out our website & fire off an email if anything comes to mind you'd like to clarify.

Dallas Green
AnswerID: 244372

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 18:09

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 18:09
Dallas,
Best bet seems to be a 650x240 "donut" between spare and 'axle' cross member.
V tight, but no mods needed, and fair (54L ?) volume.
The forward , cylindrical position would involve body-work to maintain ground clearance, although a 582x360 (40L ?)fits ok. [Well, a beer keg does, anyway].
Thanks for your continued advice.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 507022

Reply By: Dallas from Team Green Autogas - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 20:35

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 20:35
G'day Jeff,

Using a beer keg as a benchmark for measurement. I like that alot mate, i reckon that could really catch on.

The donut under the rear is still going to offer good capacity for a diesel - lpg conversion that's for sure. Consider @ 4Ltrs / 100klms for lpg use, that's a good range out of your lpg mate.

Keep in touch & let me know if i can help.
What goes around comes around.

Kind Regards
Dallas Green
AnswerID: 246169

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 22:26

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 22:26
Gees Dallas, gimme a break!
Unlike you professionals, I can't just poke me head under a tray and order a '9C' as best fit. I've got to shove it in and see how it runs. (Sortof dry run, eh, or whatever) .
If I front up to your place and arrogantly declare that a '9C' is the biggest fit, guaranteed!!, I'll bet one of your mob proves me wrong, and makes a beautifull '10B' fitting.

Mate the keg is a has-been XXXX job, (filthy stuff, that, and fitting that it's container shall eternally burn in [my] hell), but ocassionally it free lances as an imprecise measuring tool. So watch yer mouth.
Simple fact is the keg measures 535x375, not allowing for end-shape. (Hemispherical? 'Flattened' ends?) I chose to see it as a flat-ended cylinder, just to be safe.
Mate, as I've said elsewhere, I reckon a 650x240 doughnut will just squeeze in in front of the spare. No mods.
So behave yourself and give me the right time and price, eh.
See you in Rocklea, (we're 'Bundabergish'). Ta mate.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 507093

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 22:39

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 22:39
Gees Dallas, gimme a break!
Unlike you professionals, I can't just poke me head under a tray and order a '9C' as best fit. I've got to shove it in and see how it runs. (Sortof dry run, eh, or whatever) .
If I front up to your place and arrogantly declare that a '9C' is the biggest fit, guaranteed!!, I'll bet one of your mob proves me wrong, and makes a beautifull '10B' fitting.

Mate the keg is now a fire-box. It's a has-been XXXX job, (filthy stuff, that, and fitting that it's container shall eternally burn in hell), but ocassionally it free lances as an imprecise measuring tool. So watch yer mouth.
Simple fact is the keg measures 535x375, not allowing for end-shape. (Hemispherical? 'Flattened' ends?) I chose to see it as a flat-ended cylinder, just to be safe.
Mate, as I've said elsewhere, I reckon a 650x240 doughnut will just squeeze in in front of the spare. No mods.
So behave yourself and give me the right time and price, eh.
See you in Rocklea, (we're 'Bundabergish'). Ta mate.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 507098

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 22:46

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 22:46
Gees the egg-timers is kicking in severly.
Anyone else hear an Echo echo ho o o?
No?
Good ood od d night.
Jess's dad.
ma'af. jh.
FollowupID: 507103