Price for 80 Series Landcruiser

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 15:07
ThreadID: 46178 Views:7361 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
I haven't been around the forum much these past 2 years and my 4WD adventures are going to be fairly limited in the immediate future years also. As a consequence I have decide to sell my 80 Series and buy something else when the opportunity to go off road arises again.

My question to you all is what do you think a reasonable price for my Landcruiser is please? I am a fair & realistic man and am not out to rip anyone off but that includes me too. Could I ask for your opinions and relevant input please?

Details are as follows : 4.2 STD Man, 230K, Genie Extractors & 2.5" Exhaust , GXL Factory Style Flares, 285/75R16 Goodyear Wrangler MTR's on 16x8 GXL Rims, Jaram Overlander Roof Rack, 2" body lift & 2" Suspension Lift, Rancho 9000's and Polyair springs, 200 Litre Long Range Tank plus 90 litre Main tank, Front & Rear Lock Right Diff Lockers, AVM Free Wheeling Hubs, Snorkel, 4WD Systems Series 1 Air Compressor, Garmin GPS 2+, Checker Plate Aluminium Side Steps, Opposite Lock Swingaway Wheel Carrier, Slideout _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx and Milford Cargo Barrier, Engel Fridge Slide, Uniden UH-088 UHF Radio, IPF 130 W Spotties, Rotronics RDC12M Dual Battery Controller system. Pioneer DEH-5550 MP3 player 600W amp, Pioneer TD 1603-R & TD 690-R speakers.
Plenty of scratches but no dents of any significance.

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 16:44

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 16:44
Coops, I am in a very similar situation. My 1994 80 is a GXL turbo with intercooler, 150,000 kms and an almost identical list of accessories. I've done quite a bit of research into what the market will bear. Like you, I am not going to give my vehicle away and will be asking about $35K and not go below $30K. There are a lot of people (some on this Forum as well) who would say that it should go for well below $20K but I bet if they were the seller they would be looking at things differently.

There are also a lot of people who think the 80 was the last of the "real" Landcruisers and are prepared to pay for a well set up model with low K's. I'm sure you will be able to find them thru the AutoTrader.

AnswerID: 244184

Follow Up By: dave_c - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:23

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:23
hi coops,
what you say may or may not be right. as i have just started looking to buy, i was shocked to see the prices on some of them. considering the youngest one is now 10years old. when you say "i bet if they where the sellers they would look at things differently" what do you mean. emotional attachment or sentiment is not going to get someone $10,ooo more for their car, house, boat or whatever it is.
the 80 being the last real landcruiser is something i am not qualified to comment on but if so, doesnt warrant a 10k to 20k mark up does it. many would argue the gq was the last of the real 4wd but owners dont put 10k more on top of price. this is not an argumentative reply, i am genuinely interested in the 80s and seeking any informed knowledge.
dave
FollowupID: 505189

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:42

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:42
Hey coops I sold a non turbo 96 80 series 2 years ago.

It had bull bar, side rails, roof rack, snorkel, lift kit front and rear Detroit lockers, spotties, lambs wool seat covers, Rear seats = ( 9 seater), roof console fitted with pioneer 6 stacker CD, rear wheel carrier with new 285/75/ 16 tyres, tow kit twin batteries.

I got $14,500 for it, Gone Bush your dreaming because I traded it for a 2002 GXL non turbo ( hamburger with the lot ) and paid only $35,000 for it.

When I was looking for the new 100 series I was shown a 97 80 series GXL with all the trimmings with 134000 ks they only wanted $21,000.

These are Darwin prices.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 505206

Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:14

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:14
Fellows,
I could put 2o grand on my 93 4runner to but I would have a fat chance of selling it. Its a buyers market at the moment and if you want to sell a vehicle you have to meet the market. Otherwise yuou will waste a lot of money advertising for no result. Their are 4wheel drives around that the owners have been trying to unload for 12 months because they are overpriced.
In NSW mate brought a spotless 80 with 200000ks with standard 1hz for $15000.00 and it was a 96
FollowupID: 505217

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 23:25

Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 23:25
Some car yards around Perth are overpricing 80 series cruisers at the moment.

There have been some mint condition, like new, low K's examples that have fetched a good price but now they are pumping up the price of average and below average cruisers to try and cash in on it.

Looking at private sales in the sunday paper you can pick up STD 1995 diesel 80 series for below twenty grand.
FollowupID: 505238

Follow Up By: Coops (Perth) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:40

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:40
thanks for the input fellas
FollowupID: 505674

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 00:45

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 00:45
Sounds like a nice cruiser. It depends on year model....the early ones before 93 are quite cheap....just helped a guy buy a 92 model for $13500 but it had a 6.5 turbo chev motor. Thats about the going price, the last cruiser i sold was a 94 petrol gxl auto and i got $8400 with 1 month rego and needing tyres soon...but straight.l
The cruiser i bought is a 95 turbo diesel sahara and i paid $22000...since then i have spent 4000 on a motor rebuild, so 26k for a sahara turbo diesel auto.
Sounds cheap right....but when you look at what the 2002 td6 nissan patrol is selling for (28k with 180kms) it wasnt really a good purchase....
AnswerID: 244274

Follow Up By: 93 Navara - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 01:26

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 01:26
Dozer,
Engine rebuild for $4,000? I just bought a 90 model with the 1HDT for $14,500 that had an engine rebuild, injector pump redone and new turbo. No change out of $11,000.
I guess it depends what you're going to do with it and how long you want to keep it. Peace of mind for a clean truck doesn't cost an extra 10 grand.
Ben
FollowupID: 505251

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 07:26

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 07:26
Ben Yes...The D in Diesel stands for Dont.....dont buy one that needs rebuilding.... cost me $4000 in parts, and 6 weeks for me to fix it. Because the motor was still running, and i decided to pull it down to fix it before it blew up, the turbo and fuel pump were not required to be touched. They can be done at a later date, without too much of a problem. So $4k gets you all machining, all gaskets and pistons/rings/bearings etc Mine had 6 broken rings and scored bores from a previous overheating.
The model you just purchased would have to be the pick of the bunch for cheap good cruisers...powerful, economical and all problems should have been sorted by now....free advice would be to change big end bearings with each timing belt to be sure to be sure...a friend has had one for years, and each 100k, the bearings come out showing signs of lamination. $100 in bearings and a day out of your life every 100,000kms isnt to dear....
FollowupID: 505255

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 07:32

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 07:32
Coops
I know a guy who sold a similar vehicle to yours 12 months ago for 20k. He advertised it on these forums and got what he wanted because it was ready to go, and yours sounds similar. I would try doing just that. I would also consider advertising it abroad on some of the r/v sites, as someone might be looking for a outback travelling vehicle to use for 12 months and then onsell.
Failing that, all your aftermarket accessories would look good in the 4 sales section here :)
AnswerID: 244284

Follow Up By: Coops (Perth) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:44

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:44
If I got 20K I'd be confortable that we've both gotten a fair deal.
That's where I'll start and I'll throw in a brand new ARB bar and all the recovery gear. I'm not in a hurry and will wait for the right buyer to surface.

thanks for the input

Coops
FollowupID: 505678

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:37

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:37
It's so unfortunate that in the market all accessories don't seem to bring the vehicle value up much at all, I mean people are not willing to fork out the extra for a well decked out cruiser yet they're happy to pay 15 - 20k and then go spend 10k on top to get all the necessities they want (decent bull bar, wheel carrier etc etc).

We sold a '97 Troop carrier with a Chev 6.5L V8 diesel in it with minimal k's , it even had an engel fridge in the back, for less than $20k, could we have taken the engine out (which had cost us 15k to put in for starters) the car would have probably sold for say 5k less than it did.

Depends how much of a hurry you're in to sell - we were in a hurry to sell before moving interstate. If we could do it all again we would have transplanted the engine into now our 80 series but at the time finances didn't allow this.

One very reason we don't insure our car, at least if you total it you could sell off all the accessories etc, whereas otherwise the insurance company gets to keep it all and gives you less than half of what the whole replacement value is, plus you don't get to keep anything!

You should get some blind quotes from car dealers, give one just standard specs and description and then give another the whole list. Be interesting to see what they give you. I bet the decked out quote will only be a few k more whereas that dealer will mark their sale price up substantially & will have a much more attractive vehicle to sell. And that's basically what you're looking at - market price plus some and in the end you have a decked out vehicle that will ultimately be easier to sell, albeit it will be hard to do it at a price which is fair both for yourself and the buyer, usually it favors the buyer.

But if you wait for the right person to come along who requires all those accessories and sees the real value there you're on a winner, however you could be waiting a long time.

I'm wouldn't call myself that savvy in regards to the car market though, it's opinion based from past experiences.
AnswerID: 244295

Follow Up By: Coops (Perth) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:46

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 16:46
thanks mate - I'll check out dealers for trade in price too but I don't hold much hope in anything fair & reasonable from them regardless of what I was buying.

Patience will be the key I'm sure

thanks for the input

Coops
FollowupID: 505679

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:14

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:14
A couple of thoughts...in the eastern states, prices have been low, supply has been high from people deciding to go smaller...over where you are, the prices may be alot higher....just have a look on ebay, i know most of the cruisers there cant be sold elsewhere because they are too ratty, but you will get the general idea....a later t/d sahara is on there for 18, and has no bids...not to mention the 97 models with ABS and cruise and srs airbags that are now 10 years old and cheap as chips....nevertheless...because cruisers are priced on condition more than model, i think you will get close to 20...with the accessories to the right person....
AnswerID: 244718

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:03

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:03
G'day Coops,

yeah it has been a while mate, I hope all is well with the fam.

heading to Perth and back this Sept/Oct, if the Wife finds the 90 series to small I'll see if yours is still available (as long as it has 8 sts though :)

best regards to you,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 244757