Member - Roachie (SA)
G'day everybody,
Just wondering if anybody has any
bright ideas on how to fix this little problem without doing a full re-spray.
The problem is the roof of the dual cab. I decided to give it an illegal wash today and started by getting the 7' step ladder so I could do the roof, under the ARB short rack. BUGGA, once I got up there I found that the roof is covered with rusty pimples......felt like sand paper when you rub your hand over it.
I reckon this happened at the engineering place that fixed the gull-wing door I managed to half rip off the box when we were at
Alice Springs about 7 weeks ago.
I'm guessing that they used an angle grinder to clean off the residual bits of hinge etc and the resulting sparks (hot, minute bits of steel) have landed on the roof of the Patrol and been allowed to sit there for the past couple of weeks with rain etc.
Anyway, I got a bucket of warm
water with CT18 Truckwash and one of those gold-looking scrubbers (look like one of those expensive womens purses). These are a bit abrasive and I thought that it may have shifted these spots. It sort of helped a bit, but the rusty marks are still there.
So, I got out the Karcher high pressure washer, just to clean the roof as much as i could. Then I dried it with a big beach towel and got out an old bottle of "Nu-finish" liquid car polish that I had sitting in the shed. I thought that might polish it off; but no good!!!! Bugga.
So, the question is, is there a cutting compound (or something else) somebody can recommend that I could try. Otherwise It'll be back to the panel-beater for a full roof re-spray.
Thanks in advance for any advice (in case I don't respond to each individual).....
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:55
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:55
By the way, I've now lifted the roof rack off so that I can get a good go at the roof. Perhaps I need to get some sort of polishing disk for the drill?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:00
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:00
The metal has burnt into the paint!
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:09
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:09
Do it once, do it right Roachie.......
Ifn what you have already done has not fixed it, a re-spray sounds in order.
...but get it done before 07.07.07, don't give anyone any more ammo.....LOL
Michael
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:16
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:16
Mate I think your up for a respray. You can try a little wet and dry but as said above I think its burnt itself in. Forgot to cover eh doesnt that bleep you off when we forget some thing as simple as that when fixing some thing. See how much its going to cost you cash up front or you will have to go through the insurance. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:24
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:24
You could try a cutting compound such as Kitten no2 , if no joy then a trip to the respray booth is the only way ,
Reply By: kimprado - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:39
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:39
Similar thing happened to me not so long ago. Here is what you do.....
Take the car back up north. Choose a hard route and ensure you get run off the road by a cattle rush. The latter is very important.
With a bit of luck the car will need a complete repaint. LOL.
Seriously though, I'd be having a go at the people who caused the problem in the first place.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:56
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:56
You could try a cutting compound, G3.Spray painters use it to cut back runs and
orange peel paint.If useing on a wheel,you have to keep it wet otherwise it will burn the paint.With lots of elbow grease you can cut paint back hard.
I use it on the Cruiser if I get a bad scratch, only by hand and only gently but gets them out
well.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 23:30
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 23:30
Roachie I agree with Nick, G3 is your only chance, with a sidewinder polisher, but keep it wet. You may need to get a coat of 2 pack clear over it when finished though.
Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:04
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:04
Simple, wait for the next hail storm,
park the car outside and hope to hell you suffer some impact damage. Then......
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:28
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:28
If it's rusting its burbt through paint and primer. Only one cure. bite the bullet and get some quotes before rust starts pitting roof.
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:29
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:29
burnt even .....buggar
Reply By: bloosted - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:51
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 20:51
try a clay bar,you should be able to get one from autobarn or such,it may only be the foriegn bits of steel rusting worth a shot b4 spraying it
Follow Up By: bob&loz - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 22:53
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 22:53
yea the maguires stuff that is like plasticine,
well worth a try
bob
Reply By: Member - Warren W (SA) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:29
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:29
Before getting too excited, try the cutting compound as suggested. Had this happen once on my new XY Fairmont - some time ago eh! - and the cutting compound cleaned it up as the rough rusty bits were filings that had rusted in situ. Never recurred again - still good until sold many years later.
Warren
Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 23:02
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 23:02
Something similar happened to our Cruiser Ute a few years ago. My husband was using an angle grinder on a grain bin he was making on the tray, not realising that the spray of sparks was landing all over the door and bonnet. The sparks were embedded in the duco and the window; too deep to sand off. Our son-out-law broke the window when wood cutting out in the bush and replaced that, but the spots in the duco started to rust, but it never got any worse after that. I don't suppose we've had enough rain since then.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 23:13
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 23:13
Much too late I'm afraid Roachie. Sounds terminal. May as
well pack it up and ship it East to me. I'll look after the Chevissan in it's twilight years.
p.s. Mailing address on it's way via MM
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 01:10
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 01:10
You're too generous by half Gramps.
And a bit tight on posts of late.Watch them nanny naps Al - you're needed at the coal face to maintain morale.
Stay good eh. (
Well then - pretend....). Sheesh!
Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 00:28
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 00:28
Roachie all may not be lost.
As I see it you MAY have 2 options other than respray and you may eventually decide you have nothing to lose in trying them.
Based on a similar incident on my old Paj you could check the following.
IF the steel specs are just burnt lightly into the paint you may be able to recover and as its the roof the look is not always conspicuous and could very
well be acceptable like
mine turned out.
Method 1- use a paint scraper to scrape the surface and see if the specs of steel are removed, and if the specs are removed, ie they were lightly embedded in the paint, then use some very fine wet and dry paper on the area (suggest 150mm test area 1st) to check result. Methodology in this - paint scraper takes the "head off" the steel specs and allows the wet and dry to do it's job rather than being cut to shreds by the hard steel specs. If this works cut and polish, very carefully.
Method 2 - eventually the steel specs will rust out completely and disintegrate ie time will soften them. You could then try softer methods ie cut and polish.
Hint if using a paint scraper use one that has been worn in first say 30-50mm wide blade and if this doesn't "grab" the steel specs and dislodge them,,, very carefully try a new scraper with sharper 90 degree edges.
This can work especially if the steel specs had time to partially cool before hitting the paint.
If you decide repaint is required try this as nothing to loose.
Good luck Baz
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 01:21
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 01:21
Strewth Roachie, stay off the flamin ladder!!! Simple!
I dunno: true.These
young fellers, eh.
(And I never, ever imagined that I would be able to tell you anything about vehicles).
Mate am going ahead with a 2.75 exhaust, + dieselgas depending on finance. Thanks for encouragement. Best wishes with paint.
Jeff H.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 11:46
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 11:46
As a temporary fix Herr Roache I suggest you get some deoxidine 624 from an auto paint
shop and apply it, this will kill any rust. Then do the cut and polish and see what happens. It may only be the minute little bits of spatter from the groinder that are rusting.
Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:12
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:12
The best Cleaning pad I have ever seen was at a car detailers there called
Balbo Cleaning pad you can get them at Bunnings that will do the job for you.
I have used them to get rust of a security grill and did have any effect on the paint..