OT - Bans on 4WDs on Gold Coast

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:58
ThreadID: 46221 Views:3151 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
Never mind the Gold Coast banning 4WDs. That I can live with since we avoid the Gold Coast like the plague. Overpriced. Overcrowded and certainly unfriendly to Grey Nomads
Have just heard on the news that Kevin Rudd's mate Peter is planning to ban all electric hot water systems on houses in Queensland. What a wonderful plan.!!! No reticulated gas and now four days since we saw the sun so Solar is out. Maybe we install an old style donkey system but what can we burn?
He has already stripped our Councils of the water infrastructure without compensation and is is forcing amalgamations of our councils providing it does not affect those in and around Brisbane and the Gold Coast. Local hopeful candidate has the answer reportedly " There's no votes out there for us"
I am looking for a change of location. House for sale on the Sunshine Coast!!

Kevin J

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:25

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:25
You could always move to Victoria, supposedly the most livable place on earth - ho ho

The government here has their hands so far into your pockets you break their wrist when you sit down.

From extortionate stamp duties, unbelievable traffic fines and charges, etc, etc

Every day there is a new reason for charges to increase - today's was fines for water wallies who flout the restrictions we have because the gov't is too busy counting all the money and figuring how to hide it, and all the while doing nothing on infrastructure. Record GST income, record fine income, record everything income, record new taxes, record low governing.

Welcome to Victoria. Keen to come ????
AnswerID: 244395

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:35

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:35
All is well in the People's Republic of Victoria then :)))))
FollowupID: 505335

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:59

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:59
Here's another one from today

Site Link

The public transport system here is a total shambles, the roads are so crowded that people are taking 30 mins longer to travel to work every year, but that just provides grist for the Bracks mill - the fare increase is well above the inflation rate.

But NSW would have NO trouble ousting VIC from the top spot of worst government, would it? If the revenue from a tunnel is below expectations, just drop the speed limit by 40k and start counting the money - don't give a bugger if it wrecks peoples lives, just tell them that speed kills and if you are doing 80 in an 80 zone you are the worst kind of criminal.

Only the threat of a class legal action saw the obvious rort reversed.

So we've eliminated QLD, VIC, NSW as good places to live.

How's WA, SA, NT, and Tassie looking ?????
FollowupID: 505343

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:16

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:16
LOL there's nothing wrong with living in these places it's just that they've all got the same major drawback, bloody useless State govts and the bloated, incompetent bureaucracy that masquerades as a State public service.
FollowupID: 505377

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:41

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:41
NSW Government can't be to bad they were just voted back in ??
Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 505394

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:44

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:44
Dave,

Either no other choice or some people should not have a vote.
FollowupID: 505395

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:08

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:08
Gramps,
I think you'r spot on there. Just have to wait another 3 year to see if things can improve.
Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 505403

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:41

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:41
Dave, the Vic gov was also just voted back in.....

Proves my theory that in general people are not qualified to vote.......

Ducks for cover ....
FollowupID: 505452

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:39

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:39
And the plan is not an all out ban on electric hot water systems at all , will be for NEW installations only ,got no water to heat up ,got no water to run the leccy stations anyway , and to top it off it is the dearest form $wise and ecological wise to get hot water.
AnswerID: 244397

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:31

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:31
Hi Kevin,

Think again about the amalgamations. Logan, Redlands, part of the Gold Coast and Beaudesert are in the firing line as well.

He is just off the rails at present.
AnswerID: 244407

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 22:26

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 22:26
You guys are obviously not getting a good deal out of the state government at the moment, but spare a thought for some of us west aussies.

There are several local councils and shire councils that are so inept and bogged down with infighting and vested interests that I wish the premier had the guts to abolish them and make everyone come under the one office.
FollowupID: 505509

Reply By: flashnick - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:49

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:49
And now this - I guess we deserve what we let them do to us - remember toll busters?

Beach levy considered

By ALAN LANDER

VISITORS to Teewah Beach via Noosa North Shore could soon be paying $30 for the privilege.

The effects of camping, four-wheel driving and angling are forcing state government planners to consider an environment levy similar to one on Fraser Island, and to declare the area a Regional Area Management zone.

Gympie Nationals MP David Gibson says the proposed fee is a toll, not a levy.

"My position is a fee to drivers on a gazetted road is a toll; you can call it a RAM fee or whatever, but it's a toll," he said.

He said applying punitive measures with no attempt to educate users was wrong.

Noosa Council was cautiously supportive of the RAM declaration, but concerned it would be left footing the bill without receiving any funds.

The council has submitted its ideas to the government on how to best manage the area.

"If the state government is just using it as a money grab, we're out of it," deputy mayor Frank Pardon said.

"We have said to the government, if they are creating a RAM, we want some of the funds.

"Ninety-five per cent of people cross at Noosa River in Tewantin - it's our infrastructure, which people of the shire have paid for."

State environment minister Lindy Nelson-Carr said the working group was established to examine vehicle access, camping, general recreation and conservation/protection issues and to help ensure the area retained its integrity and attractions.
AnswerID: 244413

Reply By: Emo - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:26

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:26
Wait until all the "Global Warming" taxes and levies start coming in.
AnswerID: 244427

Reply By: David N. - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:51

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:51
They should ban electric stoves! (Should have years ago!)

AT LEAST five times the greenhouse gas of a gas stove. (Probably a lot more than that as the whole power generation infrastructure needs to be bigger to cope.)
AnswerID: 244439

Follow Up By: obee - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:20

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:20
I got a 4wd drive so I wouldnt have to visit places like that.

Owen
FollowupID: 505413

Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:03

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:03
David N,
When the going price for a full 45kg gas bottle is close to $90.00 and there is NO mains gas within 50km no-one in their right mind will toss out their electric stove.

I replaced my gas stuff (cooktop, stove and hot water) with electric because gas was to bloody expensive. A gas bottle lasted about 6 weeks in summer and between 4 & 5 in winter. Total power bill is now down by about $10-$15 per billing period (2 months) and nothing has been changed..

Disco.
FollowupID: 505434

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 21:50

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 21:50
What David N says makes perfect sense if mains gas is an option. Obviously not such an option when you're carting gas in yourself.
FollowupID: 505484

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:37

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:37
Hi there Kevin, if they were fair dinkum they would make the solar prices alot cheaper. We had to replace our hot water due to age and the tank rusting out we got a price for a solarhart (Rheem) 7k supply and fit. Two solar panels on roof, tank on ground level and still needed a pump to circulate water around. We ended up getting a Rinnae 2600 instant. Turn on the hot water tap it fires up use what you want/need turn off tap burner stops. Our electricity for hot water was off peak so cost us just on $80 every 3 months. We just had a full 3 months on gas not using gas heater in lounge room and we used $26 in gas. Big difference and we no longer have to turn the cold water tap on as we have two controllers one in the kitchen the other in the bathroom set the temp you want eg 41degrees and thats what it comes out the tap fantastic and dont get the burst of cold water when some one turns another hot water tap on in the house mmmm now have to think of another way to get wife out of shower when shes been in there two long.Will suply enough hot waters for three showers at a time. And cost us $900 all up as AGL has a special on and the government sent us a cheque for $70 for going gas. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 244463

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:29

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:29

Got to agree with you about Rinnaes, they are terrific and so is the remote temp setting. Only downside is that the Rinnae is not activated by watersaver shower heads - water flow is too limited.

Any solution to that drawback?

EV
FollowupID: 505611

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 12:57

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 12:57
Hi EV, yes we had the same problem with the water saver on. The shower temp would be hot,cold,hot,cold etc, Was told when we had it installed that if that happens we will have to get rid of the water saver which obviously we did. My mum has the 2600 and has water savers on all three showers its an expensive brand Im talking $300/400 per shower head (got to be figgen kidden me) but she doesnt have that problem. Now I like to do the wright thing and save water if possible but I aint spending $300/400 to do so. Will scout around and see if there is any thing else I can use and if I find some thing will let you know. Regards steve M
FollowupID: 505628

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:29

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:29
kevin,

What you have heard is not correct.

Since about 30% of your home's energy is used to heat water, the aim is to reduce inefficent hot water systems. The old style gravity fed electric hot water systems that are common in queensland are cheap to buy but expensive to run. And since it's the builder who chooses the hot water systems, he picks the cheapest one and lets you pay for its (large) running costs. You can reduce those costs by 70% by simply installing an efficent hot water system

The legislation (which is not new by the way) is proposing that houses should have efficient hot water systems. It is not a ban an all electric heaters. There's simply a statement on their efficiency that they must meet, and the old style heaters won't comply.

If you have no gas connection then a good system for your house would be the heat pump. It works on the same principle as reverse cycle A/C, where rather then creating heat from a power source, it collects heat from its surroundings and places it in your water.

Site Link

By the way - All new windows also have an efficiency rating and legislative requirements.

R.

AnswerID: 244610