$4000.00 for a fuel pump!

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:12
ThreadID: 46223 Views:4502 Replies:17 FollowUps:49
Yep you read right! But not ours luckily!

Mark was talking to a mate on the phone the other day and Mate mentioned about his bosses brand new diesel pajero.. Boss ran the fuel tank dry, (apparantly you don't let that happen with a diesel)
Boss did and in turn it cost him $4000.00 for a new fuel pump and $1000.00 for labour!

Stuff that!!!!!!

Jo

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:40

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:40
Yup, Its the new diesels that do that. Common problem in Alice Springs amongst the locals. Run 'em out opf diesel, jerrycan in the tank, start up and BANG!!!

You can still run an oldie like mine dry and get it going again with a bit of bleeding(air from fuel that is...lol)

AnswerID: 244409

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:45

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:45
I thought for sure Mate must have been exagerating or something! How can they justify that cost!
You get a bit up close and personal to take that photo Willem?
FollowupID: 505361

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:01

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:01
500mm telephoto lense....lol I stay far away from those big geckos....

The old punmps used to cost around $700 to repair. Probably $1000 now. But the newbies...wow!!!

FollowupID: 505370

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:05

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:05
did you take that photo when you were out and about or was that at a park? See now that is why you don't leave your rubbish out at night at camp!
FollowupID: 505374

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:16

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:16
Photo was taken across the Letaba River, in Kruger National Park, South Africa, in 1983.

FollowupID: 505378

Reply By: Ianw - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:48

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:48
$4k doesn't sound that bad. I believe the Nissan 3litre ones are $5k.
AnswerID: 244411

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:49

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:49
So whats the problem with running the new diesels dry ?? The fuel pump doesn't like running with no fuel ??
AnswerID: 244412

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:55

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:55
hahah!
yeh I (being a girl) have run out of petrol before in our old XD that didn't have a working fuel gauge and didn't need to do anything except fill up the tank.. I've never had an experience with a diesel, so if there is any differences between the fuels I wouldn't know about them.
FollowupID: 505365

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:56

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:56
Its the same with any diesel motor - old ones too. But the older inline pumps probably tolerated a little better than the rotary pumps. The injection pump relies on the diesel fuel to provide lubrication. When you run it dry, its like running your motor without oil.
FollowupID: 505366

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:02

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:02
Ahh thankyou Phil! You just topped up my knowledge fountain for the evening!
FollowupID: 505371

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:01

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:01
And petrol vehicles are not a lot better. Run the tanks dry and those electric in-tank pumps, which rely on the petrol for cooling, stuff up and they aren't cheap either.
FollowupID: 505433

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:25

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:25
You injectors also rely on diesel fuel for lubrication and cooling, about 80% of the fuel taken from the tank is used to cool, lubricate and keep air from the system, running any diesel dry is not good.
FollowupID: 505444

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:04

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:04
Sounds totally ridiculous to me.

I am not even going to concern myself if the facts stated are true, or apply to any particular vehicle or manufacturer.

It is not just the cost, but that the very suggestion that a fuel pump can fail like that which is totally unacceptable.

If there is not a specific highlighted warning in the owners manual, and, more importantly, permanently in the visibility of the driver at all times, about the fact that the designed fuel pump will fail if allowed to be run dry, then you would have a very good case to sue them for failure to provide an article fit for purpose plus all and any associated costs.

Not only the cost of replacement which is not justifiable, but also the potential costs for delay, trauma, accommodation, rescue, recovery, etc, etc.
I don't see how a circumstance such as this can be considered in any way acceptable in this day and age.

That such a failure can occur (if indeed it can) is, in my view, tantamount to manslaughter, here in Australia.

Not one of us should condone such a state of affairs.

This is not really an issue to make fun of.

If the suggestion here is correct, then let us please have a statement from Mitsubishi forthwith, declaring that it cannot happen to a Pajero. Or alternatively let us have a statement that it can.......

Ken
AnswerID: 244415

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:10

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:10
I agree with you Ken. The first thing I said to Mark when he was relaying what Mate said was 'If the vehicle is brand new then mitsu better wanna cough up'.
To which they did not and the owner of the vehicle had to wear the cost because he was the one that let the tank run empty.
FollowupID: 505376

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:49

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:49
Hi Ken

Well said.

Regards John
FollowupID: 505397

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:46

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:46
Ken,

You sound like the bloke that drove his new Winnebago down the freeway, put it on cruise control and went down the back of the motorhome to make a coffee. When he rolled the Winnie he decided to sue Winnebago for damages because he was not told cruise control, is not auto pilot.

Since when in your life have you ever known a vehicle to run on air. Running without petrol just doesn't happen so why should someone blame someone else for their stupidity in running it dry. People should face up to the consequences when they do something wrong.

Regards, Trevor.

PS. I figure you are a troll looking for this response, so no sense typing back as you won't get anymore out of me.
FollowupID: 505454

Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:58

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:58
No, Trevor,
that is nonsense. You are mmaking a foolish (and urban myth) analogy. and why would you class my comments as a troll.
I discounted any particular manufacturer in the meaning of my comments.

It just ain't right that a fuel pump on a vehicle could be so severely damaged simply by running dry.

Sorry, but that just is not acceptable. The manufacturers should not release such a pump if it can't take a bit of a hiding.

It is not like running the engine without oil. - which however, without adequate education could also be the reason why there are warning lights and, on some vehicles, automatic shut down provisions.

Running out of fuel is considered to most drivers the world over, as a risk of inconvenience, not serious mechanical failure. Dielse drivers (ought to) know that they may need to bleed the fuel system - and that would be stated in the manual.

However, as I mentioned, IF it is strongly worded in the owners manual AND (for eg) inside the fuel filler flap, that running the tank dry would cause a serious mechanical failure, then, perhaps, with sufficient other owner education, it might be considered to be within the bounds of fair practice.

Hey, just think that this simple act could cause a 10 year old car to be a write-off.

Ken
FollowupID: 505458

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:48

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:48
I know Trev won't be bothered, but I will.
Going by your analogy Ken there should be a big sign in front of the driving position to also let people know there is a risk of serious damage if the vehicle runs out of oil, same sign if run out of water, you say it's not the same with oil because there are warning lights, do new vehicles not have low fuel warning lights ?

"It just ain't right that a fuel pump on a vehicle could be so severely damaged simply by running dry.

Sorry, but that just is not acceptable."
Why ain't it just right ? Why is it not accectable ? Ever tried running your tyres without air and see how long they last ? No sign any where telling you not to do that is there ?

You say "The manufacturers should not release such a pump if it can't take a bit of a hiding." IMO running out of oil, water or fuel is not 'just' "a bit of a hiding".

"IF it is strongly worded in the owners manual AND (for eg) inside the fuel filler flap, that running the tank dry would cause a serious mechanical failure,"

Where, near the oil filler cap or dipstick does it state likewise regarding oil ?
"Driver education " What driver education ? People buy cars and they drive them, there is no "education" that goes along with it.
Most of us know about the oil or water situation because it is common knowledge proven to us by people that found out the hard way, the same way we are now finding out about the fuel pumps on modern technology engines via others finding out the hard way for us.

Seems to me that you're the type of person that specializes in finding ways to always blame others for your own incompetencies.
If you accept a bit of responsibility in vehicle ownership and regularly check oil, water, battery water level, clutch & brake fluid level, tyre pressures, fuel level etc then the above scenario should never happen and if it does, don't try to blame someone else for it.

Pezza

FollowupID: 505823

Follow Up By: Ron George - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 23:29

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 23:29
Pezza, give it a rest, you have contributed not one iota to the original debate, all we hear is this long winded diatribe that amounts to exactly zip, have you nothing better to do than try to cut people off at the knees with your meaningless jibber!!! I dare you to come up with a plausible reason as to why the fuel pump failed, which was pretty much the thrust of the original post. Cheers.
FollowupID: 505865

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 00:28

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 00:28
Hi Ron,
Not sure exactly what your problem is and why I should even bother replying, but anyway, here goes...
"Meaningless Jibber" ? Coudn't have been too meaningless, it fired you up.
Is there a law somewhere that says I have to contribute to the original debate before I can make an follow up ?
If I wanted to contribute to the original thread I would've done it via a 'reply', I made my comment via a 'follow up' because I had something to say about Ken's comment, not the original thread.
I don't see anywhere in the original thread that is asking for a "plausible reason" as to why the fuel pump failed, all I see is a statement that may be of interest to some people that own diesels.
No where in the original thread did it ask anyone to come on and try to impress people with there self imposed knowledge on fuel pumps and try to give "plausable reasons" as to why they fail, so it seems your diatribe is as meaningless as mine :-)
Now be a nice lad and crawl back into your cave and leave me alone :-)

Pezza

FollowupID: 505876

Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:22

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:22
Arrrrr, good on ya Pezza, true to form, mate you`re so bloody predictable, you & your ilk... The "pedants" of this world will rise to the occasion every time someone throws you a little tit bit... I luvs yas all. And I ain`t going back to my cave, & no!!!... I won`t leave you alone, I`m havin to much fun. Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 505955

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:13

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:13
The real problem is the cost/storage/price and markup of spare parts ,not to mention the legislation requireing for how long a vehicle maker has to keep making parts available , was a project done by 1 of the motoring clubs aka: nrma/racv ect in the early 70s new vehicle cost say $5000 , to build same from the spare parts catalogue was in the region of $100,000 not including labour costs.
AnswerID: 244421

Follow Up By: obee - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:17

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:17
many moons ago I read article that reported toyota leaving the factory at $5000 and retailing in Australia at $20,000. Mostly taxes and intemediate handlers in both countries. I reckon the same happens now except that our tax dept complains because Toyota takes all the profit on the way here and only leaves a small margin here upon which to apply tax. The dealers here make so little on a sale they have to make it up on services and spare parts.

Owen
FollowupID: 505409

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:24

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:24
Ive heard 7k for the 3 litre and I know for sure the 3L turbo hilux (1KZ) is just on 4k from toyota fitted as my mate did one due to shi##y fuel. You dont want to own a 90 series series two with traction control, if the brake master cylinder sh#ts itself (which also controls the traction) will cost you 3k for the parts and they do go bang. I reckon a lot of these vehicles will be a night mare in the years to come with all the electronic sh#t but hey there all going that way so soon wont have a choice. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 244458

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 10:56

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 10:56
I'm with you Stephen, they'll be heaps of problems that only cash will fix in the future.....that is why I went back to the future....

FollowupID: 505598

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 12:39

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 12:39
$AUS10,000 for a new pump for 100 series 4.2 turbo deisel. Complete with gold embossed fittings.
FollowupID: 505626

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 13:02

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 13:02
Hi Patrol, are you fair dinkum with that price ??? Thats bloody crazy. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 505630

Reply By: Stu050 - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:33

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:33
Some people I know did a D4D in a 2006 hilux here recently..cost $10K for new pump and injectors, due to bad fuel.
AnswerID: 244460

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:14

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:14
Gee we sourced one for $1500 new.(pump only)
FollowupID: 505437

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi B - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:24

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 20:24
Mmmmm, $10k and only 4 cylinder. How's the mighty V8 gunna get on??
FollowupID: 505442

Reply By: Blaze - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 21:30

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 21:30
I just can't believe with all I'm reading that everyone doesn't fit a top of the range after market filter, I know it voids your warranty, but by what I've seen no one gets warranty for pumps anyway....

As for running out of fuel, how hard would it be to do a shutoff when the tank gets down to say 5lts???

Just seems common sense to me...
AnswerID: 244509

Reply By: Camoco - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 21:45

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 21:45
Iv'e just been reading all the posts so far and like Ken, I am simply Stunned (like the monty python parrot).

I go ballistic if a tyre repair costs me $50. For 4 grand (plus [+] according to some) for a fuel pump is insane. I understand spare parts and mark-ups etc, but.... as Ken said, it could easily happen in due course from driving. Lets say the gauge becomes faulty and you run it out of fuel soon after even if you are vigilant in watching the gauge. That simple failure has cost a huge amount.
A better design would be to have replaceable sleeves in the pump to minimise the cost if they really are that fragile, or to hook them up to the cooling system if they generate that much heat. I would think a pressure sensor would eliminate the dry failure if the pump were to shut down when the pressure drops below a preset limit. Just like the engine failsafe when the oil pressure drops.

I admit I am a bit tight, as I wouldn't even spend $4000 on my engine rebuild, so to have a single part failure costing that much would make me look vary wary about the new diesels. I was considering it but the risks versus the benefits just don't add up. So it looks like the ol' 3.0 l petrol patrol will just have to keep on going. 370k and counting. I now consider myself lucky and I think I'll shout myself a new set of plugs. It's been a while...

I can only imagine the pump rebuild market must be profitable. $4000 worth of mechanical labour is a fair bit of machining and assembly.

Thanks Jo for highlighting the dangers of new diesels. Like Willem, I will stay with the oldies. At least if they need $4000 + fix, you consider a complete replacement and might pick up some extra goodies in the process.

Cheers. Cam
AnswerID: 244522

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:41

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:41
Why don't you just fill the tank when you get down to a 1/4 tank left? It's not rocket science.
FollowupID: 505816

Follow Up By: Camoco - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 07:39

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 07:39
While it's easy to say that and for the most part you are right, it's the 1 in 1000 situation that can cause this issue. Imagine someone borrows your vehicle that you completely understand the fuel consumption of, and they go for a trip on sand or tow your van (whatever) and the consumption goes harder than expected, while at the same time your gauge goes west. It would be easy to underestimate the consumption and bang, there goes your engine (provided the modern pump is that sensitive).

Rocket science isn't all that hard either. rocket mathematics (guidance) is another issue.

I understand this post is really about the small one-off but big cost breakdown. For everyday operation this just doesn't happen.
FollowupID: 506146

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 01:01

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 01:01
Sorry Jo

But thats a load of crap

And your old mans mate should be talking to someone who knows

at any sign of air in a diesel fuel system the engine will shut down , long before any damage could be done to the fuel pump (slight)

cost of repair is what it cost,,

Cheers Richard
AnswerID: 244560

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 01:27

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 01:27
I think Richard hit the nail on the head here.

When the fuel pump runs dry it tries to pump air - the motor stops, it wont run on air alone!
Ditto the injectors running dry.
So, on what facts exactly are the damage comments above based? A stationary fuel pump with air in the lines??
Klaus
FollowupID: 505547

Follow Up By: Ron George - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 23:44

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 23:44
Yeah you`re on the money there Richard... This has gotta be the biggest crock of... No fuel, errrr duh, engine stops. The pump isn`t "dry" either, there will be residue fuel left on all moving parts to adequately take care of lubrication. This is just a beat up to bring out the "chicken little's" of the world. I`m thinking if it were true ( which it ain`t) the manufacturer would have built in a fail safe system ; EG automatic engine shut down with minimal fuel in tank, to bloody easy. I reckon it`s a furphy started by Toyota or Nissan!!!!
Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 505869

Follow Up By: ross - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:30

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 01:30
x3 It sounds like BS to me . The residue diesel in the pump will lubricate it for a few seconds more than adequately.
Ive seen engines run with no oil in them for few minutes with no noticable affects and there is no combustion taking place inside a fuel pump.

It sounds like the dealer just saved himself $5000 on a warranty claim by attributing it to running out of fuel.
FollowupID: 505883

Reply By: Robin hood - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 09:26

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 09:26
I know with the new truck engines running common rail fuel systems, they rely on clean fuel for both lubrication and cooling-that goes for supply pump and injectors. Both of which are unrepairable!!!! Just fit new ones if they are stuffed.

Say u run out of fuel driving along, engine cuts out but your still coasting along and engine is now being driven by the vehicle, those few seconds it takes to pull over or disengage the clutch is enough time for the pump to be running dry with no lubrication- and what happens with no lubrication?? The internals start picking up and seizing due to the more precise tolerances that are run on common rail components to achieve the emission levels that the manufacturers have to meet.

As for the injectors, if they are not bled correctly prior to restarting then damage can occur too. If the driver just tries to crank engine over in hope it will fire-then kiss goodbye to the injectors which will be trying to injector whilst dry!!

If your problem is just dirty fuel, then you maybe lucky with changing filters, cleaning fuel system out but you are guaranteed it will be back later on at some stage most likely with fuel pressure problems.

Jason
AnswerID: 244588

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:56

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 18:56
So what happens in a brand new engine on the production line that has never had fuel in the system. Do they pour fuel into the pump to prime it or do they just crank the engine till fuel comes through and lights the fires ?

If they just crank the engine to get the fuel through and if running dry damages the pump then the pump has been damaged before it leaves the factory !
FollowupID: 505721

Follow Up By: Robin hood - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:31

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:31
No there is a bleeding procedure just like any diesel engine that you are supposed to follow.
This applies to running out of fuel or a new engine assembly out of the box.
Part of this procedure is to be followed when changing fuel filters on service too.

Jason
FollowupID: 505743

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:39

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:39
But that only bleeds up to the filter. You then slacken unions at the injectors and crank the engine which some people are sugesting is a no-no.
FollowupID: 505749

Follow Up By: Robin hood - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:21

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:21
Yes it bleeds upto the filter then there are several more steps we have to follow to ensure the rail is pressurised, then bleed the injectors and then repressurise the rail. Only then can we attempt to start the vehicle and if it doesnt fire up, repeat the whole procedure.
Also I know unless there is a minimum pressure achieved in the rail while cranking then the engine will not start.
Each manufacturer will have a slightly dfferent method of ensuring that fuel is present wherever it is required prior to start up. Im just talking from my personal experience on the brand I work for.

As for cracking the injector line, that is a big NO-NO!!! These common rail engines run at extremely high pressure(50Mpa at idle thru to 120Mpa at full power) to achieve the emission levels required. It is enough to pierce the skin and enter the blood stream if a line is cracked so it is in the repairers best interest to never open the system whilst running!!!

Jason
FollowupID: 505771

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 07:42

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 07:42
Thanks Jason,
As you can see I have no experience with common rail technology :-)
FollowupID: 505898

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 10:29

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 10:29
I have sent the following query to Mitsubishi on this matter:

Would anyone else like to submit the same query to other manufacturers they think it applies to?

I have sent it to Mitsubishi, not because I wish to attack them in particular, but they have been mentioned, and I wish to hear their response.

Ken

To the Service Manager Mitsubishi Motors Australia.

There is a thread on the ExploreOz forum that raises a question about running a diesel fuel tank dry. This has attracted my attention because I am in the market during the course of the next year for a 4WD for towing a caravan. I have previously owned two Pajeros.
The thread entitled "$4000.00 for a fuel pump" can be found at : www.exploreoz.com Forum or at:
Site Link

You will see that I have made some comments regarding this issue which I just cannot believe is an acceptable mechanical restriction for a motor vehicle in this country and at the state of vehicle mechanical design that Mitsubishi is now capable of.

Please advise me what the truth in the matter is, and what steps Mitsubishi will be taking if the facts as stated are in anyway applicable to Mitsubishi diesel vehicles.

Ken
AnswerID: 244598

Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:50

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:50
The response from the Mitsubishi Web site Query was as follows:

==============
We acknowledge recent receipt of your e-mail regarding the Mitsubishi
Pajero.

Please be advised that Mitsubishi Motors Australia Limited (MMAL) do not
recommend that you run any vehicles fuel tank dry, however if you do and
the correct priming procedure is followed as per owners manual on page
6-8 there should be no reason for replacement of the fuel pump.

If you wish to discuss this matter further, may we suggest you contact
your nearest Mitsubishi Dealership

================

I believe from this response that there is no expectation that a fuel pump will be damaged by running dry.

Ken
FollowupID: 505958

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 10:47

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 10:47
At the risk of being obvious (and I'm not looking to inflame anyone here!), but at the point the 'low fuel warning light' appears on the dashboard, you are on notice, run the tank dry and any damage becomes your problem, not the manufacturer - surely? After all they had a system which advised well in advance of fuel starvation that you on low on fuel......

Running out of fuel isn't any inconvience, it is just poor planning...
AnswerID: 244601

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:14

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:14
yeh good point. They have made something in the vehicle to give you notification of low fuel, if you ignore that then obviously you will run out of fuel and logically then any damaged caused would be your own fault for ignoring the warning. Sounds fair enough to me, but like Ken(?) wrote earlier, maybe a good idea would be to also have a sticker or something rather visible sitiuated where you can see it with a warning to the potental problems that could be caused by running a diesel dry.
All who have had diesels before would obviously know what they are like but a first time diesel buyer may not know any different and assume it is the same as petrol.
FollowupID: 505602

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:35

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:35
Maybe they could do that, but then how many other warnings would they need to give for other parts that make up the vehicle. You could write a book of warnings that would most likely end up stating the obvious.......

The other problem associated with such warnings is that running it dry may not only affect the fuel pump, but injectors and a whole host of other items. You'd need to list them all otherwise they'd be open to people saying...well you only said it would affect the fuel pump. That's why they have a low fuel warning light.......

Running out of fuel in a city is absurd (and irresponsible) when you consider there is a service station almost every two-three kilometres these days. Run of fuel in the bush/outback and the cost a replacement pump might very well be the least of your problems.
FollowupID: 505612

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:46

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:46
Good points Landy.
FollowupID: 505614

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:00

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:00
If you are looking for maximum range and have duel fuel tanks then running the fuel down on one tank till the engine hesitates and then switching over is (I believe) the normal way of doing things.
FollowupID: 505725

Follow Up By: Robin hood - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:34

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:34
Even that way can invite trouble Kia, those few seconds of air in the system can be the start of cavitation or seizure.
Jason
FollowupID: 505746

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:42

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:42
Hi Jason, I am not doubting you, just thought that this was the normal way of doing things. I have not (yet) had any problems and will be interested in other peoples comments.
FollowupID: 505752

Follow Up By: Robin hood - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:27

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:27
It was the "norm" wth the old style of injection systems, as the tolerances were much bigger so damage was less likely to occur. It is only on the common rail engines that everyone is having a rapid learning curve-I know we are at work lol, I spend my whole day dealing with remote breakdowns etc

Jason
FollowupID: 505777

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:49

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:49
Don't understand why you would wait that late to swap tanks anyway.
FollowupID: 505826

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:39

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:39
An unusal fault Jo , I'd like to know if there was any other contributing cause like picking up scale near bottom of new tank.

Doesn't help much , but I deliberately ran my car out of fuel on highway just so I could know what to expect and to be sure it would restart and any little isues.

(Petrol Patrol though)

AnswerID: 244747

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:02

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:02
Hi Robin

Sorry I couldn't post as follow up. It was giving me the below error message at the bottom of your post

Persits.Jpeg.1 error '800a000c'

not enough memory

E:\INETPUB\VS126169\FORUM\../ssl/includes/Utilities.asp, line 504

Sorry Robin, don't have any more information other than what I had wrote.

AnswerID: 244756

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 09:50

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 09:50
Had another read of this thread because clearly an important issue, however there appears to be more to it......it would be interesting to know any other contributing factors.

As a footnote, the fuel pump for a TD5 Defender is around $600.
AnswerID: 244841

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:02

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 10:02
Whoops....TD5 is $1,400, TDI is cheaper.
FollowupID: 505928

Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:10

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:10
G/day Landy, mate it`s a beat up... the price of the pump might be right???? a $ or a few thou either way, I`ve a big Q over the $1000 labour bill???? just how long does it take for a tech to fit an injector pump????? I`d be very interested in the reply Ken gets back from Mitsubishi. Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 505953

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 13:17

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 13:17
Hi Ron

Something wrong somewhere because an injector pump for a Pajero is around $1,500.
FollowupID: 505966

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:51

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 12:51
The response from the Mitsubishi Web site Query to my question was as follows:

==============
We acknowledge recent receipt of your e-mail regarding the Mitsubishi
Pajero.

Please be advised that Mitsubishi Motors Australia Limited (MMAL) do not
recommend that you run any vehicles fuel tank dry, however if you do and
the correct priming procedure is followed as per owners manual on page
6-8 there should be no reason for replacement of the fuel pump.

If you wish to discuss this matter further, may we suggest you contact
your nearest Mitsubishi Dealership

================

I believe from this response that there is no expectation that a fuel pump will be damaged by running dry.

Ken

AnswerID: 244876

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:28

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:28
It kind of shoots the dealer's theory down in flames.LOL

I would be straight down there with a copy of this in hand and asking for proof that the pump running dry caused the problem.
FollowupID: 506210

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:54

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:54
Thats from Mitsubishi, isn't the main line of this thread regarding Nissan's problem?

Whats needed is the same response from Nissan and Toyota for that matter.

FollowupID: 506218

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:59

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:59
Last I heard,Pajero's were made my Mitsubishi;)
FollowupID: 506220

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:09

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:09
Sorry your right Ross, bloody thread was so long I forgot what vehicle the original post was about :-)
Maybe I should have just stayed in bed today?

FollowupID: 506223