200 series Landcruiser ?

Submitted: Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:04
ThreadID: 46255 Views:3194 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
I thought the new 70 series was it. Now I hear of a 200 series to be released later in the year, that seems to be more of a replacement for the 100 and 80 series.
Does anyone have any "goss" on this, any web links etc ?
No doubt I will need to win Lotto twice to buy one, but at my age it's getting harder to find anything to lust after :))

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:12

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:12
Site Link
AnswerID: 244605

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:15

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:15
Thank you .:))
FollowupID: 505605

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:18

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:18
Footy,
The interesting thing to me is that they are dumping the torsion bar front end, and slipping in a strut type like the Prado.
As with the 7x series, the V8 doesn't interest me - the current 1HD-FTE is a very good motor, and delivers the same fuel consumption as the common rail V8.
AnswerID: 244608

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:24

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:24
Yep, I will be watching with great interest. I wonder if they will upgrade the front diff ?
All that power and torque...not much good to my usual style of driving in the city...but in the bush...mm...have to buy a house on wheels to use it !
FollowupID: 505608

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:23

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:23
Footy,

Don't reckon you'll hear a cracker on the 23 with all the electrickery in that thing!!

AnswerID: 244609

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:26

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 11:26
Mark, perhaps they will have quietened the v8 by the time I get around to one. If not then its back to putting stuff in shielded boxes :((
FollowupID: 505609

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 12:49

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 12:49
BTW, I didn't Google it because until today I didn't know about the 200 series !
AnswerID: 244626

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 14:20

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 14:20
Does anyone have an idea of the price of the 200 series.
If the "newer not softer" thingy is any indication, one would be better off buying a Range Rover Sport. May even have some change in the pocket LOL.

Disco.
AnswerID: 244652

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:19

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:19
A mate of miner attended a Toyota pre release customer briefing. He was lead to believe the starting price was around $79K.
FollowupID: 505796

Reply By: PajeroTD - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:20

Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 19:20
Theres loads of info on the Lexus version the LX570 " target="EOF" class="lbg">www.lexus.com/fcv/lx.html?s_ocid=30193

Perhaps releasing info on the Lexus first will put people in the mindset that a 200 series Landcruiser is a Lexus, but minus a few features, rather than Toyota's dreaded image of the Lexus LX570 just being a glorified Landcruiser. Just a marketing thing, no difference between the two scenarios in reality. I do believe the Lexus will be available here to, with both petrol and diesel engines.
AnswerID: 244719