Submitted: Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:23
FREEZER
Just wondering if anyone had any good suggestions on a good 3 stage battery charger i could buy. I have 2 x100 amp hour bateries in parralel, and have been charging them with a 2 stage charger 10Amp(Boost and float) I put them on charge from time to time and give them a top up. Usually they charge on boost for only a few hours, then on to float, but this last time the charger just when hell for leather on boost for
well over 24 hours. I was a bit afraid i might nuke them so i took it off.
Any ideas
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:26
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:26
I have a Ctek 15 amp model and it says it is an 8 stage charger!
It basically does the Bulk, Absorbtion, Float modes as
well as a few other tricky things.
$399 at last 4WD show.
Muddy
Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:32
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:32
Hi Freezer
Might be best to try and determine what is faulty first - charger or the batteries etc.
Try your existing unit on a car battery
Reply By: normc - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:35
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 20:35
Freezer, I also have a CTek, but
mine is the 25 AMP model. I used to have a 7 Amp one when I used just one deep cycle. I now carry 4 (2 in vehicle, 1 in CT and 1 for boat elec motor), hence the upgrade to 25 Amps. Great charger, but a bit over $500 from memory. There are one or two other brands of similar quality, but similar prices I believe.
Follow Up By: FREEZER - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:26
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:26
hey normc
Where did you get your ctek charger from
Follow Up By: normc - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:33
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:33
Got it from Fridge and Solar.
www.fridge-and-solar.net/
Owner is Val Rigoli. I've had only excellent service from him. I've posted a couple of times on my service experience from him on this site. No connection. Just a satisfied customer.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:17
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:17
Take a gander at this site
www.latronics.com.au/index.html
Follow Up By: Ron George - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:41
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:41
Doug, just as a matter of curiosity do you know prices for say a 15~20 Amp Latronics job?? & is that the Commie Mig 15 at Archerfield???? Cheers Ron
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:05
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:05
Ron
I thought as you like pics I just uploaded some new ones in members rig and profile,
Doug
Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 11:23
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 11:23
Thanks Doug, but I can`t get in as I`m only a visitor at the mo... Maybe you or the other lot can convince me to become a full member... I`ve been toying with it for some time... So I`m inviting all to give me a free kick in the pants to push me over the line. Cheers Ron.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 15:51
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 15:51
Ron George
WHACK.....POW @%$*#
Now get ya ass into gear send em the spondoolics
Doug
Reply By: Ron George - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:31
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:31
G/day freezer, mate I popped into Jacar this arvo & picked up 1 of their latest chargers, a Power Tec Plus 12V 4 stage 16 Amp jobby for $169, one of it`s many features is selectable 6 amp for 25 Ahr~100Ahr batteries or 16Amps for 100Ahr~300Ahr batteries, the salesman was telling me the boss of Jacar is the biggest "geek" on the planet & that nothing gets through without his say so, they had this charger built to their specs & so the story goes it went back a few times for "mods"... if any of this is true then I can`t see why it shouldn't be a goody, I also have a Ctec 10Amp jigger a great product but might be a bit over priced for the lower end of the market which is where the 4X4 & caravan mob generally operate. The particular problem you`re having with your current set up could be, either, or... only testing will tell.
Cheers Ron.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:48
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:48
Ron
You would have to contact them to get a price ,and yes your 100% correct on the MIG15
Follow Up By: Member-Granpa Joe - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 18:06
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 18:06
Yep,
Have to agree, the 16A 4 stage one from Jaycar is Pretty damn good Pulse charge type with auto desulphation mode(one of the four stages), it can also be used on 6A function for much smaller batteries.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:33
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:33
Harding checks bank balance: hmmmm... could do better... think I might design and sell a multi stage battery charger....
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:40
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:40
I will admit that the CTeks are pretty pricey but that Jaycar 16A one sounds like decent value! Wish I had known about that when I got the Ctek!
Muddy
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:51
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:51
I wasn't having a go at you Muddy - more at the ethos on this
forum which lauds expensive and supposed "Top Of The Range" products in the simplistic belief that they will always be better.
It is perfectly possible to charge a large (100Ah say) lead acid battery with a 14V5 2A DC supply - it will take somewhat longer than a super dupper $X charger but both can only put the same amount of charge into the battery - try pouring more than 10lt of water into a 10lt bucket and see what happens...?
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:06
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 22:06
Yep, no worries with all that!
I just liked the automatic aspects of the Ctek, the waterproof casing (to a point) and the form factor. I tend to go for something that will just "doo the job" without me having to worry about it. If it costs a bit more then so be it. Mind you, I am ALWAYS happy to pay LESS!!!!
Muddy
Reply By: Scrubcat - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:35
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:35
G`Day Freezer,
"Xantrex Truecharge", Just Google " Xantrex " They are very very good but not cheap. I am pleased with my 25 amp model charging 200ah battery in caravan.
cheers,
Scrubcat.
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:42
Monday, Jun 04, 2007 at 21:42
Hi Freezer
How warm did the batteries get ? and were they both the same temperature ?
You could be up for one or both batteries to be replaced.
Where are you based, I can send over a demo icb-1215 smart charger for you to try out.
Derek.