Hilux 04 Diesel (1KZ-TE) or Petrol (VZN167R)
Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:02
Truckasaurus
G'day everyone,
Im new to this site, I recently sold a 03' Toyota Hilux Single Cab Chs with a 1KZ-TE Turbo Diesel Engine (34,660km) Due to a new addition to my family!, and bought 04' Dual Cab Hilux SR5 V6 VZN167R (36,430km). I was Exceptionally Pleased with the Turbo Diesel engine, re: fuel ecco and power (lets face it you don't buy a 4x4 for speed), and now that im in the V6 (VZN176R) it seems to be using more fuel (which i expected) and it just doesn't seem to have what the Turbo Diesel did. I love my 4x4ing and i go into the bush quiet frequently, camping, fishing, 4x4 etc... So i want an engine that is relaible and tough.
I was wondering if anyone could help me make up my mind (through there own experiences) or guide me in the right direction on what i shoud do... So,
The question i pose is:
1) Is it worth my while buying another Diesel Motor and putting it in my SR5 Dual Cab?
OR
2) Keeping the V6 and putting a gas conversion on it?
Thanking anyone in advance that reads this or replys to this.
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 22:47
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 22:47
Truckasaurus
I would suggest that you go down the LPG route. With the rebate from the government it would be considerably less expensive than converting the vehicle to diesel.
One disadvantage of the LPG is that you don't get the range you would with diesel.
Before you make a decision get pricing on both options.
Tjilpi
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:51
Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:51
cant understand why anyone would inflict a petrol 4wd upon them self ... but for cheaper running
- Converting to diesal probably not much change from 5-7 grand taking into account selling the petrol boat anchor
- Gas conversion with both (seeing you are in WA) around 500 bux
= no contest
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:12
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:12
The 3.4 petrol V6 is as "reliable and tough" as the 1KZ-TE.
Running costs end up about the same. Servicing on the V6 is cheaper and is 10k instead of 5k, so that balances out the extra fuel.
You'll get used to the V6.
Seen the latest survey about the most expensive vehicle to run - its a LandCruiser Turbo diesel!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:48
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:48
I saw that a whileago soI dug deeper andwhile I dont have the time to do it again (flying back to work in 1 hr ;( ) from memory there asumptions ofresale were way out even compared to redbook
Even vehicles like yours dont look like becoming too affordable on the 2nd hand market anytime soon even with the v8 disal on the scene
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 17:10
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 17:10
Hi there Truckasaurus,
Check out the lcool web site, seems to be a couple of late (1kz's) doing there head gasket in between 3 and 4 and in the range of seems to be around 100 thou to 200 thou and I think there was one on here only a week or so ago and all serviced by the book so not through neglect. The one on lcool was around 3 1/2 k for memory to get it back on the road not sure how the bloke on here went didnt hear anymore about it. I asked my mate who works for Toyota and he said he has only had one come in so not sure I would say its common but strange all seem to be around the same klms. Bit like the old V6 4 runners pretty much guaranteed for the head/s to go bang some where between 150/200 k. Would cost you a fortune to change yours over to a diesel would be better to go and buy one if you want to go with the 1kz. I imagine you would be averaging around 14/15 L per 100 around town. Im surprised the lux isnt a bit better then my prado seen as they are lighter.My wife has been driving
mine this last week and I filled up yeste as I always do 19.7 L per 100. I am now driving it again she has hers back in her hands. I asked her last night what the F_ _ _ how many cars did she try and drag off through the week. Ive had it for about 3 months now and have never been over the 15's. She's to used to V8's (our old statesman 98 mod) and our VX commodore. Reliability wise no issues so far except for a thump in the rear but worry bout that when I get the OME installed to see if its still there. We went on a tour last year and there was a V6 hilux d/cab in our group and I think for memory he averaged around 14L per 100 but he had the bigger tank installed 130L for memory. The only other thing was the front diffs in your model and especially with the V6. They go bang quit easily as my mates did and cost him just on 1k to get fixed as its so common there's virtually none available from wreckers other then that I reckon there great. Keep what you got whack it on gas (80 litre tank) and put the 130 litre tank in as
well give you 210 litres touring range. Regards Steve M