Muggon Track update 6/6/07
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 04:43
Sloy
A mate and I travelled the full length of the muggon track last sat. Yallalong station is now owened by a big beef company and all the gates on the Butchers track end are locked. I rang the new manager a weekahead to get permission, no problems. Arrived on sat arvo and were escorted rather quickly up past Wail outcamp, onto the old phone line and out onto butchers track side of Muggon station via a
locked gate. The manager is a great bloke but probably has instructions to get on with setting up for cattle not wasting time with travellers, hence the very quick escort through yallalong. Its a shame because there is some different country on the yallaiong end. However if you can pick up the old phone line where it crosses the butchers and heads north then east across muggon to the wool shed,that's a good drive. Not much of a track left and its only passable in dry weather due to the clay pans between longitudinal dunes. The track over the last pan is about 12 kms and you dont whanto get stuck out there.
Still it was a great track/drive and I recommend it be for the bollard man finds out there is fun to be had and blocks it of.
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 06:19
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 06:19
JUst where is this track. Near which town and in which State?
Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 06:27
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 06:27
g'day willem, it's in the area just west of murchison settlement in w.a.
[i'm heading out to the north of there around gasgoyne
junction on my 4days off tomorrow ]
cheers sparra.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 06:48
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 06:48
Thanks sparra, I found Muggon Station and Toolonga
Nature Reserve on the map. Have been in the country east of Barradale to Mt Augustus and doen to Meeka last year. There is so much more to see!!
Geez you are up early! Sleepless like me...lol
Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 07:07
Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 07:07
yeah,i get up at 4am when i'm working. [haven't got a missus to make my lunch etc]
cheers sparra