Advice for the novice (FM).

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 29, 2003 at 13:15
ThreadID: 4635 Views:2321 Replies:9 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
My wife and I are about to take our softroader (RAV4) down the Strzlecki and up the Oodndatta. We expect to hit the tracks around the 2nd week of June. I've got some 4WD experience, though mainly in snow, with the CJ5 & Toyota 4x4 I used to own. Read: I have respect for changing road conditions and appreciate the limitations of my current vehicle. I imagine I'll learn a few things about sand and bulldust.

We're bringing what I thing is heaps of water (50ltrs) and fuel (60ltrs) in jerry cans, and enough food for a week or more. Hand winch, rope, shovel, two spare tires, tire plugs, air pump and a few other spares & tools.

I'm getting conflicting opinions about the need to bring some form of communication - be it an FM radio or satellite phone.

Is the radio or phone necessary for these tracks in June? Am I being naive about anything else?

All opinions gratefully received.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Peter (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2003 at 14:23

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2003 at 14:23
HI ,I would reconsider the amount of water I feel that this not enough see Vehicle requiements at top of page ,consider if you blow a hose and have to refill the radiator how much does it hold ,you need water for washing #people,washing dishes , drinking what if you got stuck for 5 days would you have enough??
The radio you mean is HF you can hire one for the trip beter safe than sorryBorn to drive a 4x4 , not a keyboard
Peter York 4x4
AnswerID: 18678

Follow Up By: Member - Peter (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2003 at 14:25

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2003 at 14:25
PS also see above TRIP PLANNING -what to takeBorn to drive a 4x4 , not a keyboard
Peter York 4x4
FollowupID: 11666

Reply By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2003 at 17:01

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2003 at 17:01