Aftermarket exhaust system

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 16:45
ThreadID: 46355 Views:5492 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
I have read some of the stories about this subject but can find nowhere or no one that supplies this item for my series 90 diesel prado , can any one help.

Reply By: Jim-Bob - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 16:53

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 16:53
G'day big bo

Try these web sites.
www.beauexhausts.com.au/
www.eng-tek.com.au/index.php?cPath=22
I hope these work.

Safe travells.
Jim-Bob
AnswerID: 245163

Reply By: obee - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 17:53

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 17:53
I used to get exhausts done at the local exhaust shop where they made them up on the spot and fitted them.

Owen
AnswerID: 245178

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 00:23

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 00:23
You could do worse than google Beau desert exhausts.
Your Club is central coast NSW. I'm Bundaberg. Beaudesert is a bit half-wayish. The only reports I've seen on their mandrel-bent exhausts are positive.

(Reliable sources of other quality gear appreciated, eh.)
Money or goodies??? Arr..
Jeff.
AnswerID: 245291

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 07:16

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 07:16
Local exhaust centre is the go, got my Navara done in 2 1/2" mandrel bent, from about 300m back from the engin pipe to the rear left leaf hanger. We wacked a hot-dog straight thru muffler on it, and then dumped it towards the ground,,,
Total cost $ 220 .

Do you recon he was a mate of mine , or what ?

Did well there !

great improvement in power , not so much economy though, and great for towing.

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 245306

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 07:59

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 07:59
Bucky that is SOME discount!
So that is what materials cost I guess. Hope you threw in a carton.
Good stuff.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 506357

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 09:44

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 09:44
"from about 300m back from the engin pipe"

Hi Bucky,

is there any reason you started the 2 1/2" here? why didn't you start it at the turbo, or is this not an option on the Navara? I would have thought the smaller pipe between your turbo and the 2 1/2" system would defeat the purpose of the whole excercise, but obviously with power gain this is not true. Great "mates rates" too.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 506372

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 10:01

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 10:01
Bucky, if you Navara is anything like the Patrols you economised on the bit you should have spent money on. The important bit is the bit from the turbo and it frequently costs $250-$300 and that is the dump pipe. It can be v.e.r.y restrictive and it's replacement gives the torque and power boost. On the 4.2 for instance it has less than half the volume the upgrade provides.
FollowupID: 506379

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:44

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:44
Trevor ,, John ,, Jeff
I originally wanted a 3" system from the turbo !
But mate recons in his years working as an exhaust , that if it was a 6 cylinder, he would use a 3", but the 4 cylinder turbos only needed a 2 1/2" to get rid of the gasses, and that they also needed a little back pressure, to get the turbo kicking along.
I can only go on what he tells me, and he is genuine, will do the same to his own, as soon as he gets it, ( looking now )
All I know is that there was an immediate power boost of about 10-15 %.
Towing seems a lot easier.
On fuel consumption, nothing noticeable, maybe .05 km / lt difference, thats driving to and from work.
When towing the camper, on our last big trip, and the Mrs had everything except the kitchen sink, weight 1250kgs, we did 6,500 kms of desert, gibber, sand, and a bit on the black top, on 1000 lts diesel.
Apparently thats equivalent to a loaded up 6 cylinder diesel anyway, but we had a lot of gear too.

Cheers All

FollowupID: 506605

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:23

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:23
Hi Guys,

Just stumbled upon this thread. Have to agree with Trevor & John here - turbo outlet pipe/elbow restriction is a major part of the total restriction in many standard systems. And the bit about "they also needed a little back pressure, to get the turbo kicking along" is very dubious. Your mate might be a very competent exhaust fabricator and give very good deals but he's off the mark here.

All turbines will give greater output and accelerate faster given a larger difference between inlet pressure and outlet pressure. So the lower the 'back pressure', right at the turbo outlet, the better the turbo will respond, always.

On pipe sizes, it's the cross-sectional area of the pipe that determines its capacity for flow. If we agree 3" is a good size for a 4.2TD, then a 3" ID pipe has a cross-sectional area of 7.07 sq in. A 2.5" ID pipe is 4.91 sq in X-section area, 69% of the 3" pipe. A 3.0L engine is 71% of the capacity of a 4.2L, so the ratio of pipe sizes to engine capacity is about right - if both engines have the same specific output (kW/Litre).

But most 3.0L engines have a higher specific output than 4.2's (more KW/L, therefore more exhaust volume/L), so a slightly bigger pipe might be the go. Don't know if 2.75" is an available size but 2.75" ID pipe would be 5.94 sq in X-section area, 84% of the 3" pipe.
FollowupID: 507328

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:52

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:52
Ian,
You're comments are encouraging.
Our 3L Rodeo is getting a 2.75" Beaudesert exhaust as soon as we get the dieselgas maze sorted.
Do you have much experience with dieselgas yet, particularly exhaust temps.?

Jeff
FollowupID: 507342

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:51

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:51
Hi Jeff,

Sorry, no first-hand experience with dieselgas. But all the owners we've spoken to, at several caravan parks from Tassie to Qld, seem very happy with their systems - both power gain and economy, including towing.

I'd love to try it but it's far too expensive to get a good payback on our 10 year old, 235,000 km Disco 300Tdi. (Trying to find an autogas installers course so I can perhaps do my own sometime...)

The general consensus is that LPG injection actually lowers peak EGTs but I've not had the opportunity to measure it myself.
FollowupID: 507360

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 11:11

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 11:11
Thanks Ian. Seems to be too good to be true. Been watching for 10 months, and can't fault it, so time to join the ranks.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 507365

Reply By: normc - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 08:02

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 08:02
Whatever you get, make sure it is mandrel bent if you are looking for improved performance. I suspect not many 'local exhaust shops' have this capability.

Specialists like Beaudesert Exhausts will make and ship a system to you. I think over half their business is done this way.

I had a Beaudesert exhaust fitted a few months ago. Love it
AnswerID: 245310

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 09:55

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 09:55
Hi Guys , I just spoke to Shane from B,D,E and for my 100 ser from back of turbo the lot out of 3" Aluminized tube 2 mufflers made in shop ? supply $930 Fitting $100 or shipped to SYD in bubble wrap $85 he sounded switched on to me ? wot do you guys think !!

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 506378

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 10:02

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 10:02
me too norm
FollowupID: 506380

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 10:07

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 10:07
J.B

That's the going rate from these guys. They do a have good workmanship and you won't be disappointed. You will remember the extra HP long after you have forgotten the price. I have one of their pipes but other than that, no affiliation with them.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 506382