Submitted: Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 15:32
Member - stefan P (NSW)
Good afternoon all,
I just bought my new suspention set up, King HD springs, TJM xgs shockies for what I think is a bargain price of $695.
What I would like to know is any little tricks to make the install easier? Seems pretty straight forward but would love to know if there is any issues installing this on a GU 2.8 Patrol.
Thanks Stefan
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 16:46
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 16:46
Only one tip that I know of. Wear glasses when underneath the vehicle so that the crud doesnt get in your eyes when you take the old lot out.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:02
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:02
makes sense ;)
Stefan
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:26
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:26
Have you get a set of spring compressors?
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:42
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:42
yep, got them today as
well
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:54
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 17:54
cool....... I would have lent you
mine if you didn't. When are you doing the job? If you have any dramas give me a yell and I'll give you a hand.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:20
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:20
doin it on Saturday, Me and Bert are doing it, should be no drama, but thanks for the offer Peter. I can't see where you could really go wrong ;) (famous last words!!!)
Cheers Mate.
P.S my sister and her crew and me and the kids are maybe going up to Jenolan SF on Sunday...interested?
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 02:20
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 02:20
yeah mate, could be interested..... got to have a tooth pulled today friday....... am going to yengo with scott on sat night sunday hothing is happening but monday am doing a bbq..........
keep me informed & if u need a hand give me a yell.... will pm my number
Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 18:07
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 18:07
I would
check the bottom ends of
the springs to make sure there are no dags of metal on them. If so I would clean them up with a file or grinder as they can make a noise during
suspension travel.
You shouldn't need spring compressors. Undo your sway bar link pins first and they will slip in no problems.
Scott
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 19:11
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 19:11
Look out for left and Right tags on the rear shocks my tuff dogs had them when I installed them last week and they say its for driver weight others say feul tank and so on so just be aware and dont get caught up in the moment and just throw them in and measure the height of the old before touching a thing
mine came with instructions and said to measure from bottom edge of gaurd ( above top of tyre )and down to lower edge of rim ...OH I bought the spring compresors for nothing but they will come in handy one day!! LOL :)
Have fun J.B.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:24
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:24
had a look at
the springs and they are as clean as...
Had a look at the
shop and the tags are there, just have to make sure as you said not get carried away and throw 'em in the wrong side....
Looks like I bought the compresors for nothing!!! Oh
well the son is at that age soon where he will want to throw lower springs in his future car maybe use them then.
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: babs - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:48
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:48
Cool, keep us informed on your progress.
I am curious how the heavy duty springs will perform?
Babs.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:52
Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 20:52
Yeah me too!!! I got the HD'S as I have the steel bull bar plus winch at the front.....Kamar bar at the back plus the steel roof basket, so on the advice of the
shop and my own gut feeling went for the HD'S. Just hope its not too stiff and choppy around town.
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Sea-Dog - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 11:02
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 11:02
Use your car ramps on opposite front and rear wheels to flex your current springs... "then" put the spring compressors on the compressed spring... back off the ramp and
the springs will nearly fall out.. it is worth noting that you want to have the compressor wound in a bit before putting it on the spring as you wil have to unwind it and you don't want to have the spring still compressed and be at the end of your thread..
When you jack that corner of the car up you can simply take that spring out. Saves half of the compressing of
the springs..
Disconnect your swaybars and shocks first as they will limit the amount of flex you can get out of the car.... the more flex you can get the wider
the gap and the easier it is to get the new springs in place.. 2" won't give you much drama though.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:19
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:19
Thanks for that champ sounds sensible
Stefan
Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:33
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:33
Hows it going Stefan,
I find the rear upper shock mounts to be a real pain , The last shocks I had were Rancho's and the bushes were Nolathane , it was like it was one size too small . The funny thing was when the Rancho's died I had the same problem getting them off . Ended up throwing the towel in and getting the rears taken off on a hoist , the guy still had trouble.
Does the 2.8 have the 'load sensing proportioning valve' for the rear brakes , if so you should move the valve body or make an extension to fit between the valve and the spring , equal to the height of your rear lift .
Glenn.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 16:53
Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 16:53
G'day Glenn
Had no drama's with the rear shocks, not much room to work up there though!!!...Will have to look at the brake thing now, didn't even cross my mind.
Drives heaps better now though :)
Cheers Stefan