MrBreeze66
G'day all,
I own a '79 series ute and have installed a large
tank underneath the tray (160ltrs fuel + 160ltrs
water).
This has had an effect on the rear
suspension,as I expected.
Sometimes I carry loads of up to about 600kgs,usually only about 120kgs.
I didn't want to install heavy duty springs,as I have in the past, as the are very hard when the load is light.
The vehicle is a work ute and is offroad most days (surveyor).
I have been advised to install airbags and the "Firestone" ones were recomended.
I have also seen "Boss" brand ones on ebay.
Q.has anyone done the same and what brand is the go?
Thanks in advance,
Dean
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 18:53
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 18:53
Hi Dean,
I've used Polyair bags. I had 10 years out of the bags on my old Mav without a problem, and the current Patrol has been running them for nearly 7 years without a hitch.
Polyair make a spring surround for the bag for leaf-sprung vehicles.
I understand that the Firestone ones are reliable.
I find them great for the reasons you outline.
Given that a failure of one or both bags would substantially affect one's travel in the bush, I'd be sticking with brands that are known.
Gerry
Follow Up By: MrBreeze66 - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 19:02
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 19:02
Thanks Gerry,I wasn't aware of the Polyairs
I'll look into them too.
Dean
Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:37
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:37
The Red Polyairs with their own mini coil spring don't work very
well on leaf sprung vehicles. I found that if you mounted them correctly to level the vehicle they would be completely distorted when compressed & even restricted the travel. The Polyairs do however work perfectly on coil sprung vehicles like the 100 series or Patrol.
I believe Polyair do make an equivelant bellows type airbag (black) for the leaf sprung Cruiser which is of a similar quality to the Firestone. They work extremely
well carrying 1.2 tonne at around 45 psi (100psi max) then can be let right down when empty for a softer ride. Some of the earlier kits had issues with bolts & U bolts coming undone so may be something to keep an eye on. Be sure when fitted that split tubing is put over the air lines anywhere they may be vunerable.
Cheers Craig.............
Follow Up By: MrBreeze66 - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:14
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:14
thanks mate
Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 20:45
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 20:45
Much has been written on this. Trucksprings supplied me a Firestone kit (2115) which I fitted with some minor modification. Around the $400 mark delivered. Have a look at their site and check the kit by it's number for more detail. Very happy with the product and would do again rather than change springs. Cheers
Follow Up By: MrBreeze66 - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:20
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:20
how did you work out which kit would suit?
I had never heard of any of the Tojo models they listed.
What sort of minor mods?
Dean
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 08:39
Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 08:39
Hi Dean
It was a matter of extended search and more search. They don't have a product for the 70 series in the states so it's about tryining to get the best match for brackets and airbag width and height. I believe the kit No 2115 is exactly what they use over here but is twice the price.
The top bracket to the chasis rails was an exact fit. The bottom bracket required some filing to fit the axle housing neatly and the brake line on one side required some realignment. All easy stuff. Have a look at the Trucksprings or Firestone sites for more detail. Just use the above kit No as the reference. If you want you can ring me on 0418 368 167. Cheers
Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:37
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:37
Hi Dean
I have had Firestones on my 80 series for a few years now, and had no problems. The kit was easy to install by myself in a day. It completely cured the 'saggy bum' without the harsh unladen ride that heavier springs offer, and being adjustable, I can allow for heavy or light loads.
Follow Up By: MrBreeze66 - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:25
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:25
Thanks John,
My better half drives an '80 series
We like it a lot.
Have got me thinking about same for the family wagon.
Reply By: Sarg - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:08
Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 23:08
A bit of info for you to look at
Site Link
http://www.airbagman.com.au/Light%20Vehicle/AirbagApps.pdf
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.allair.com.au/mp/product.htm
Reply By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 10:58
Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 10:58
Dean,
Check out our 79 series photos, showing the firestone air bags, being fitted.
They are worth getting, we have a Gvm of 3t and find them easy to adjust for all
road conditions.