Thank god for a snorkel - NSW floods

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 11:38
ThreadID: 46454 Views:3320 Replies:16 FollowUps:6
Love to see how much water got inside the 4wd!!

Link

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 12:15

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 12:15
'Gee this doesn't look good!'

'Gee that was scary!'

If you really want to see what stupid people do then have a look at this video. A good of what not to do, enter into water of unknown depth. No wonder vehicles get swept away. Then there's a family and public outcry 'the road should have been closed' 'the Police or Council should have been there to stop people driving across' 'they should build a bridge'.

Fortunately it appears that no-one (in this instance) was killed. Imagine the gnashing of teeth, the beating of brow's, the tearing out of hair, the tears, the anguish all because someone made a poor decision and was killed. Family left to suffer, community left to pick up the pieces and try to deal with the anguish all because some half wit 'who lived life to the fullest' 'was a great bloke' 'loved his family' 'admired by his friends' 'lived life to the fullest' 'was a beaut bloke' didn't really give a damn as to the likely outcome resulting from his actions. Sometimes wonder why the community raises concerns about some drivers in particular types of vehicles. Gives everyone a bad name and reputation.
AnswerID: 245754

Follow Up By: Sarg - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 14:11

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 14:11
Totally agree!!!. What a D H.
FollowupID: 506768

Reply By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 13:08

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 13:08
That was an awesome video, I wish I was in the car when that happened.
AnswerID: 245755

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 13:18

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 13:18
I was quite happy to see it on the screen! There was another one there on a different road where he says "this road is closed, but I thought I'd have a go!"

If I was to admit it there is probably a little bit of me deep down with the adrenilin up at the thought of having a go, would be going "go on you can do it"

But I'd like to think I'd do the right thing and not do it! Like previously mentioned, looks like fun until something goes wrong, then it's like a pebble dropped in a pond the effect on families, emergency services etc!

AnswerID: 245756

Reply By: disco driver - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 14:18

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 14:18
Unless he HAD an URGENT reason to drive that road he's an absolute F***wit, the sort of idiot that gets ALL sorts of crap dumped on us, and then wonders why 4wd drivers are picked on by the likes of Scruby & co.

If the road was 'Closed', he would be risking a pretty severe penalty, at least in WA.

I have no desire to see that sort of sh*t being carried out on obviously public roads, except in emergency situations.

Totally different thing on private land, I've done it myself there.

My bitch for the day and I feel better for it too!

Disco.
AnswerID: 245759

Reply By: jeffwa - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 14:24

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 14:24
In his deffence he read the depth sign and it's not exactly a 4wd tack, I am assuming he expected the road's level signs to be accurate. The comment ".6 of a metre so they say, I don't know who they're kidding" I think that sums up that he was not just a gun ho idiot but genuinally thought it would be ok.

But then again I wasn't there, so perhaps I shouldn't judge....

One thing though, I absolutally love his calm voice!! "oh this is bad" all monotone. "Water comming in through the vents...." just calm and collected. LOL
AnswerID: 245760

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 16:57

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 16:57
LOL!!! i thought the same thing, really calm. I think id be climbing out the sun roof!!!! Michael.
FollowupID: 506776

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 15:08

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 15:08
As Jeffwa said I dont think he realized the depth due to the reading saying .6 of a metre. I am quit sure its the same vehicle that helped a young lady from the flood (another video clip) and got her to the other side I could be wrong. He didnt seem to be going in gunho. Yes safety should be paramount in these situations but we dont know why he went through he might have had good reason. If he helped some one out then good on him, if he went through just to prove how good his diesel is and his snorkel then he's wanker but only the driver would be able to tell us. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 245764

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:31

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:31
I watched the other video and I think the girl he gave a lift to was a cop, for all we know he chose that road to get to the place to pick up the copper, then gave her a ride to another cop parked on the side in commodore.
FollowupID: 506803

Reply By: Sarg - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 16:37

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 16:37
"Earlier, the bodies of an elderly couple whose four-wheel-drive was swept off a bridge at Clarence Town, near Dungog, in the Hunter Valley, yesterday have been found".

Probably didn't have a snorkle. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. Why chance it ?
AnswerID: 245767

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 17:35

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 17:35
Those signs indicate a MINIMUM depth i.e. it could be a damn lot deeper than indicated.
AnswerID: 245770

Reply By: obee - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 17:38

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 17:38
depth indicator notwithstanding, we dont know if the road is still there unless we walk it. I noticed there was another vehicle waiting to have a go and started moving as this one came out.

We had a bloke and a woman lose their two kids taking the chance here in WA a few years back. Sometimes the stakes are so high the chance is never going to be worth the risk.

Owen
AnswerID: 245771

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 18:49

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 18:49
What an absolute moron -

It's people like him who give 4wd fans a bad name.

AnswerID: 245779

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 20:53

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 20:53
This is the same vehicle again and yes he's a wanker as he says in this clip "thought I'd give it a crack" !!!! so was going through it all for the hell of it. At least the hilux d/cab didnt let him down !! Regards Steve
AnswerID: 245791

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 20:54

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 20:54
Forgot the link !!! " target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link
FollowupID: 506797

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:20

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:20
Site Link

Same bloke giving a lift to a police officer, perhaps he was on his way back when he got the other footage!

I originally posted this because I was amazed at the depth of the water that he had driven through and without knowing the guy and why's and how's of his day and reasons for being out there would hate to judge him.

Can say that I'm surprised and just how much deeper than the depth marker the road became, as he seemed to be!

And have to say admire his calmness! Certainly gave me an idea of just how bad the flooding was it was in some places! And glad he made it thought ok!!

AnswerID: 245795

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:23

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:23
I agree, some may question his reasons ect....BUT his calmness under pressure was great, didn't panic, just did what he needed to do to get himself through a problem he got himself into.

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 506802

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 10:17

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 10:17
LOL even the brain dead seem calm :))))
FollowupID: 506824

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:33

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:33
To all you guys calling him a wanker have another look. He was driving a Toyota and they are built to go anywhere...........LOL

Something tells me this guy was quite experienced because I don't believe anyone would do it just to have a crack at it.
I think it is just his laid back country way of talking and there was certainly no excitement in his voice and no audio of him poo-ing his pants.
AnswerID: 245796

Reply By: Jeeps - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 02:20

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 02:20
if you listen to the audio, the engine sounds really crook towards the end
AnswerID: 245817

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 10:04

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 10:04
Well from what I gathered the indicator showed .6 metre, of course it got somewhat deeper but not like he could turn.

I'm sure he had a reason to cross did not strike me as a thrill seeker.

Mind you i'm a sook and I would not have crossed and I would also not be to keen to walk it.

We can call him a lot of things but not being there we really don't know why he had to cross.

As he said that was scary lol ........ damn understatement.

AnswerID: 245846

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 10:22

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 10:22
One of these Schwimmwagen's would have been handy

www.schwimmwagen.co.uk/page-gallery.html

AnswerID: 245850