Solar panel security

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 19:08
ThreadID: 46463 Views:3351 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
A solar panel seems to be a good option for running a 40 litre engel and a versalite fluro light when camping, , but I was wondering how people actually used them. I mean I am a bit concerned about setting up my panel and then leaving it while I go to the beach for a swim or do a walk in a national park. I imagine these expensive solar panels could be attractive to anyone passing by or do people sit in camp and baby sit them while they are charging ?

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 19:36

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 19:36
This is what I use.
LOckAlarm
AnswerID: 245783

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 20:23

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 20:23
Hi Kiwi

Can you tell me which one you use, how much it cost and where you got it. They are a fantastic idea.

FollowupID: 506793

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 22:10

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 22:10
Enquiries: Anglyn Promotions.

Tel: 0438 646 981.

Fax: (08) 9447 0552.

I have a number of them, both lengths

Can't rememebr how much they cost, have had them for years now
FollowupID: 506804

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 23:08

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 23:08
And these would also make a grand addition to the EO range of goodies .... ?????
I would imagine that 'forumites' would be a captive market ..........ay!

David or Michelle ......... are you there ?
FollowupID: 506807

Reply By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 20:10

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 20:10
G'day k...

You have expressed thoughts I have been harbouring for some time. The vulnerability of these items is the only thing that has stopped me from purchasing, what I regard as an ideal tool for isolated camping.

I have seen others become slaves to their panels, unable to leave them for fear of theft. Or lock them away during the most productive times of the day to go on a hike.

Having a CT with canvas overhead, we are unable to permanently fix one to a 'roof' as do many caravans &.

Cable locks and such are mild deterrents only and these $1,000+ items are readily whisked away by low-life with whom we unfortunately share this wonderful country.

Shep
AnswerID: 245784

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:04

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 21:04
Theft when out camping rears its ugly head every so often its true ,but to no where the extent we all seem to worry about , can only ever remember 1 and 1 only post on this forum about someone actually having their solar panels stolen ,and they where a permanent fixture on a roof.
FollowupID: 506799

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 23:12

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 23:12
kwk56pt

We used a portable solar panel on a stand for the Engel built in caravan fridge and lights with our wind up caravan. We would put it out to face the setting sun when we stopped while we went for walk, swim or whatever. I never considered security. I was aware that the canvas of the camper offered no security when left with the van extended, but we had no problems. We were in WA, mainly in the Pilbara. Like Axel, i have only read of one incident of panel theft on the forums, and that was from a caravan or motor home. When we stopped at the WA south coast free and low cost camping areas, people would put out their showers, various solar charged appliances etc lined up outside their camps in the sun. Maybe WA is a safer place.

When we went camping with a tent or canvas cover on the back of the Cruiser Ute, if we wanted to leave the Engel running on mains power while we were away, we would camp with the 'oldies' who were summering at that particular CP, and they would keep an eye on our stuff for us.

AnswerID: 245806

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 23:23

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 23:23
This has always been my concerrn. Mine is fairly well anchored to the roof rack, normally sits flat, but can be hoisted up at an angle for days of poor sunshine. (see pic)
Main disadvantage is that the vehicle can't be parked in the shade, and the fridge is inside the vehicle.
Gerry
AnswerID: 245808

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 01:19

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 01:19
Solar panel security, eh.
One day some low-life (or needy person), will rip us off: we (I) have 25m of 5 mm ss cable. Am too embarrassed to actually hook it up. Stupid? Yes, probably.
We've been to Wolf Creek, and beyond.
Mate, enjoy the freedom the sun offers, and if some mongrel reckons "It's" needs exceed yours, go insurance.
(Having posted this, I realise that I must secure the panel here-in after. Any insurers care to comment?)
Jeff.
AnswerID: 245814

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:01

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:01
Hi there,

we also have the lockalarm, but we also just pack ours away into lockable storage boxes that Al made for the camper, or we just leave them set up, most people who go camping are pretty honest people and we've not experienced any theft of any of our gear.

Lyn
AnswerID: 245830