K&N air Filters

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 00:19
ThreadID: 46473 Views:4341 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Heys Guys,
Am pondering purchasing a K&N filter for the Patrol.
I have used these before in other vehicles, and noticed most performance increase in my Holden SS 5.7 V8 i used to own
Question is, can anyone who has fitted one to a TD similar size to the Patrol comment on any benifits.
Thanks in advance
Wayne-o

Reply By: SteveL - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 00:48

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 00:48
The best filter to use in dusty environment is a paper filter.The performance increase from a K&N filter is from increased airflow and with that you will get more dust.
AnswerID: 245812

Follow Up By: blue one - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 05:54

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 05:54
I concur,
Tried one and went back to paper due to dust.

FollowupID: 506810

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:57

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:57
Turbo diesel motors need paper filters. Just a small piece of foam filter material hitting the turbo blades is enough th bleep ter one. Fact from Mitsubishi. Be warned.
FollowupID: 506822

Follow Up By: John R (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 21:00

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 21:00
No worries. K&N don't use foam, but cotton or some other textile sandwiched between metal mesh.

However, K&N's are rock catchers only. The fine stuff still gets through and you can see the evidence downstream of the filter in your intake duct/s.

Speaking from personal experience.
FollowupID: 506918

Reply By: guzzi - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 07:38

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 07:38
I recently fitted one to my 2.8 td rodeo and must admit it hasn't turned it into a tyre shredding monster.
I am noticing a small improvement in fuel economy but as its only been in for a few tank fulls I havent crunched the numbers properly yet.
It does seem to stop dust and mine will need cleaning shortly, that doesnt mean it will stop all dust and haveing a paper element handy for really dusty areas may be a good idea.
Have a look at this site www.rocketindustries.com.au I purchased mine from them for about half the price the local dealers in Brisbane wanted, arrived in 2 days, easy to deal with and prompt service. No affliation just a happy customer.
AnswerID: 245820

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:49

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:49
They are not good for your engine, will let fine particles through. Do NOT use with anything that has an airflow meter for the injection system as the oil will stuff the airflow sensor.
AnswerID: 245841

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:58

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:58
>They are not good for your engine, will let fine particles through.

That is interesting that you say. I am in no way doubting your statement, however I know a few years ago (in WA atleast, cant comment on other areas) that holden used to have oil based filters (finer filter from memory) as a option for vehicles being used in farming areas to avoid engines becoming dusted out. Go figure???

I agree about being used in conjunction with air flow meters, too much oil and your looking for problems. Also some vehicles (such as the jackeroo) have computer issues when they are fitted initially- probably related to the change in air flow. Requires the computer to be reset so it can recalibrate itself.

I myself use one Finer filter brand) in my rodeo and have had no problems thus far. Mind you it is regularly cleaned etc, especially in dusty areas.
FollowupID: 506823

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 11:28

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 11:28
this has been discussed at some length before on this and other forums.
Do a search as there is a website that scientifically tested the different types of filters and the results were very alarming for the foam filters.
Basically you have to look at what you are using the engine for, competition engines are rebuilt at the worst after every seson so they don't care about excessive wear. If you intend to keep the vehicle for any length of time then don't use them.
I did run a Unifilter with my previous vehicle a 1hz powered troopy for the whole time I owned it about ten years. It had done 170k approx when sold and it did like to use oil, typically about a litre a 1,000k at cruising speeds which I thought was getting a bit excessive for the mileage. Was the consumption caused by wear from small particles getting through the filter, probably as every time I looked in the intake to the manifold there was always a fine film of dust in there. In the Humvee I run a paper filter and it is always clean as a whistle despite deep bulldust conditions.
Personally I wouldn't run an oiled foam filter in a vehicle I was keeping long term.
FollowupID: 506831

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 15:02

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 15:02
Here is a link to one of the independant filter tests
The conclusion was that the standard OEM elements do a pretty good job.
Site Link
FollowupID: 506857

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:59

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 09:59
I have a couple on my trailer - work perfectly there ;-)
AnswerID: 245844

Reply By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 11:18

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 11:18
thanks all.
think ill stick to paper....for now anyway
AnswerID: 245860

Reply By: kiwicol - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 11:47

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 11:47
i have a 92 GQ and have run oil foam filters from day one have now done 340,000ks and have never had any problems have no oil usage the GQ has 2 filters and i have never seen any dust on the second filter i have done some good trips in very dusty conditions, i also run a cyclone bowl on top of the snorkel which is a must in dusty conditions for both oil and paper filters, but i agree foam is not good if their are sensors invovled. Col
AnswerID: 245869

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 14:22

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 14:22
I got a K&N on the X, the MAF is around 4-inch from the Filter, been running it now for 100,000km and never had any issues, the filtering side is always filthy but have never really noticed any dust in the intake tube.

The OEM Ford air filters are $75 a pop the K&N was $120 so it paid for itself after the first clean.

The Turbo Detroit Diesel generators at work run a K&N Pod filter from factory, not exactly used in dusty conditions thou.
AnswerID: 245893

Reply By: barney rubble - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 17:25

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 17:25
Gday wayne-o mate i just purchased a k&n filter whilst in perth and yes i reckon it gave a slight power increase at take off
however as we also reside in the pilbara after reading the site link tests i now have dust concerns about them
glad i kept the old one
oh yer the vehicle is a 4.2 td intercooled Cheers
AnswerID: 245927

Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 14:16

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 14:16
I run a Unifilter (Australian equivelant of K and N) on my Navara, it is double foam element, never had any probs with it and noticed a slight power increase.

More so, it is a simple matter to clean and refit, saving about $40 a go, and whole Unifilter was only about $80 all up.

Ron
AnswerID: 246570