black wolf tent
Submitted: Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 14:13
jilly
Just purchase a black wolf turbo 240 and it was so easy to set up....BUT the pack up. Any one with any good tricks on how to pack it into its carry bag so that it doesn't look like the chooks breakfast?
Reply By: mickm52 - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 14:53
Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 14:53
place the tent flat on the ground so that you are perpendicular to the poles.
Pull the tent out so that va vcorner points to you then go to the opposite side of the poles and do the same. It should now look relatively square on the ground. Start on the corner facing you and roll around the poles and finish on the other corner.
A strap around the lot will keep it tight.
It should fit in the bag, now roll the fly separately.
Reply By: jeffwa - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 16:58
Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 16:58
That's the problem with all these superfast tents, they are fast to put up.... but pulling them down when your hung over and tired is a mongral....
With the tourer tent I had, it came with an oversized canvas bag. When I got the new tourer I chucked the bag it came with straight away and used the canvas one from the old tent. It just slips straight in and then you just yank the draw string. So easy.
So I reckon, maybe get a canvas bag that's a little bigger than the normal sized one.
I'm not sure what your tent came with, but those plastic tarp like bags are bloody useless, they have no give in them and the openning at the top is always too small!
Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 17:51
Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 17:51
It won't help you but it may make you laugh when you're trying to get that tent into the bag... here's a short piece I wrote and posted here almost two years ago - it's still pertinent it seems...? :)
----------------------
Somewhere an evil sadist lurks…
And do you know what this bastard does for a living? You don’t, do you? But you will recognise his work the instant I enlighten you… he designs… the carry bags for tents!
A harmless enough occupation I hear you say – ordinarily; yes. But this bastard designs them 10% too small to comfortably fit the tent into!
The people in the factory who make the tents don’t know this – they use a folding machine which folds the tent to an accuracy of 0.00001mm and having folded it they squeeze the air out with a 6000 ton press and they find the carry bags are perfect for the job because _their_ tents fit into the bag with room to spare. Only now, I sense, is it beginning to dawn upon you what a devious, sadistic and evil mind this man has.
In the
shop, of course, you viewed the tent in an assembled state, you didn’t think to say “How
well does it fit into the carry bag” – none of us ever do! You proudly arrive
home with your new purchase and commence setting it up on the lawn; “Oh good plenty of room in the carry bag” you think almost cutting your finger on one of the folded tent creases.
The following day you start to pack the tent away – will it go in the bag???!!! Will it hell! Eventually, after 6 attempts at folding it in different ways and using your winch to fasten the zipper the tent is in the bag. Trouble now is you are afraid to unpack the damn thing again because you know it’s not taking the tent down which takes too much time it’s the 3 hours to get the bloody thing into the bag which is the killer!
---------------------
Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 18:33
Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 18:33
We also have one and like you it is great to put up and a great tent to use but the pack up needs practice. I put a webbing strap on the base of the frame leg that is on the RHS of the door as you look at the tent. Then as you fold each leg up just hook it inside the looped strap to contain it then tighten the strap when all legs are in. The follow the other folding directions explained above. Rolling it tight is important. It does fit the bag but I think the bag could have been about 10% bigger all round. The tent is great in bad, blowey weather.
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 21:56
Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 21:56
I have the same tene. Pull the corners out and I made up two extra straps. After a little practice its down in no time and fit s easily in the bag.
Matt
Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 23:39
Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 23:39
Very similar to the self erecting toilet/shower tents. Unzip the bag, shake the contents out, and lo and behold, there before your very eyes is a fine upstanding utility tent. Bang a peg in each corne,r and Bob's your uncle.Pulling it down's just as easy I said.Then comes the judgement day. Time to unerect it ! The thing develops a mind and will of its own. The spring steel frame refuses to go the way it should, and eventually,after half an hour or so, just when you're about to throw the damned thing in the river, it presents itself as a nice flat disc, ready to slip easily into its bag !! Unfortunately, I was being video'd by so called friends during the whole of this operation. They love to remind me.
Follow Up By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:34
Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:34
roger .the same thing happened to me.erectered this thing in the back yard and my mate said now put it back in the bag.more laughs than you could image plus the boss wondering how this would work.i am to recycle this item.regards.twintrail(wa)
Reply By: HowdyDoody - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 12:28
Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 12:28
Practice. We have been using the 240 for over 2 years now. Love it. We now get it down and packed in the same time we get it up. Once it is down, lay it on its side, pull the canvas/floor points out then roll the whole thing so the 'poles' are in the middle. Goes back into the bag no probs, fly folds and fits inside as
well. Good luck.
Reply By: Member - Warren R- Karratha WA - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:50
Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 21:50
I've got the turbo 300 and the first time I packed it I thought, what a pain in the A. Next time I laid it on it's side and rolled it...perfect. After using it now 5 or 6 times, it takes no time at all and I reckon I could fit some more gear in it as
well. Best tent I've ever used.
Reply By: Member - Drew T (Melbourne) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 07:22
Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 07:22
Funny to read all the replies from people that have come up with similar solutions to make the packing up easier!
I too had problems getting it back in the original bag .. it's possible but just took longer than i wanted & I thought that if I ever had to do it while it was wet it would be a disaster. My approach was:
- asked www.infrontcampinggear.com.au/ to make a new tent bag that is larger than the original. essentially exactly the same design as the original black wolf one. In hindsight i wish i had also got them to make the zip opening extend all the way down both ends as the biggest problem with the original bag is the zip opening is too small
- i have a loop of elastic cord (eg ocky strap cord) attached to one leg & use it to keep the 4 legs together as i prepare the tent for rolling up
- i use 2 instead of one straps for the final tie up
- i also got infront to make me a better bag to keep the pegs/hammer/extra ropes in
all this certainly makes it easier to use the tent