East Coast (central) Shocking long weekend !!.

Submitted: Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 20:11
ThreadID: 46544 Views:2258 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Have lived on the central coast NSW, for approx 50yrs and have only witnessed weather as bad in 1974 , this weekend has been a shocker!, with the lakes been pushed to extreme heights by high seas, and the run off from rain.

Dozens of houses still sitting in water , no power and sewerage systems starting to fail, The good points! our local dam has received 400ml so a great increase in capacity, It will be interesting to see now if its been a big Dry!, the drought has now broken around here!, or its a climate change situation!!. OH!! and to keep in 4wd mode, My stock standard landy 130 tray back, Towed my neighbours totally drowned hilux ute out of 1mtr of water with a 2mtr tow rope, He is a hilux die hard and not a happy chappy at the moment, :)))))).

Reply By: Gronk - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 20:53

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 20:53
Hello Axle, have lived on the CC for 48yrs, and have seen it many times ( though not recently due to drought )

Where abouts do you live ( I'm in Kanwal ) ??

I had already booked in at Forster for the weekend, so apart from the worry of no power for the fridge, had a good ( and fine !! ) weekend away from the worst of the mayhem !!

But my hat goes off to the rescue squads ( ses, fireys, ambos etc )
And to think they do it for nothing ???
AnswerID: 246176

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 21:05

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 21:05
Hi Gronk, Berkeley vale, Mate !, on the high side luckily,

My hat goes off as well mate, to all the rescue squads, Bloody marvellous job they do under all circumstances.

Axle.
FollowupID: 507070

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 21:43

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 21:43
"worry of no power" Must be alot of customers with no power still Gronk as over 100 linesman had left from Victoria yesterday & today to help put it back on. Maybe in a relief crew myself later in the week. Having had my local town go under back in 1993 I certainly feel for those being flooded now.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 507083

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 07:56

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 07:56
Here here!!!!! Hats off to the Emergency Service workers and volunteers.

I am at Copacabana, and their efforts at moving trees and restoring power and making things safe for us all are "above and beyond" ....

The less said at this stage about the pathetic Gosford council, the better!!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 246259

Follow Up By: Crocabout - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 12:56

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 12:56
I live at Terrigal and agree with all you said jack, especially about pathetic Gosford Council.
THANKS all the volunteers and electricity workers, your efforts are appreciated.

Croc
FollowupID: 507174

Reply By: tdf - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 08:21

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 08:21
A tragic event,but you have to wonder at the wisdom of local councils and state governments encouraging wide scale residential and commercial devevopment in low lying flood prone areas,remember nyngan,also most of sussex inlet went under water in 1991 flood.in fact shoalhavens council current flood study features an aerial photo of most of sussex under water in 1991 on the front cover,have they allowed new development since 1991 in the same area ??????????you guesed it heaps.
AnswerID: 246263

Reply By: Member - Karl - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 09:41

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 09:41
I was living in Townsville a number of years ago and went through many cyclones. Cylone Justin in March 97 delievered 450mm of rain in a 24 hour period and the big flood of Jan 98 we had 850mm of rain over a 36 hour period.

I feel for all of the people on the CC and hope all works out fine.

Karl
AnswerID: 246276