4WD Near penrith /blue mountains

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:19
ThreadID: 46630 Views:20726 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Hi all yes Im sure this has been asked many times before but because I have not been 4wding around there for a while Im not sure about closures and access due to nature or greenies and I have a mate that I would like to show around so he is taking the wife and little ones and Im doing the same sort of 4b picnic day if you all know what I mean so any ideas and directions would be great !!

Regards J.B.

Reply By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:21

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:21
How far up the mountains do you wanna go???? I live in penrith and usually have to go out as far as lithgow for anything decent.

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 246635

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:36

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:36
Hi Stefan , I think he said around Katoomba but I also think that a decent track to us might be a bit boring for you ... would I be right ??? LOL still open to any of your suggestions just keep in mind we are not leaving from Penrith until about 8am as his wife is working late the night before maybe even around the Colo region

Regards J.B
FollowupID: 507438

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 20:05

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 20:05
When you going.....me and the kids always up for a drive.....need a tour guide??? LOL
FollowupID: 507447

Reply By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:50

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:50
A nice day out for the kids and a family picnic is the Glow worm tunnel at Newnes SF. Nothing silly track wise just a nice drive and the kids usually think the glow worms are cool.
you can enter the track at Zig Zag railway. A good book to get with perfect directions ect is called "15 great 4wd treks around sydney" $25 to buy at all camping or 4wd stores, or I have seen it at Penrith libaray, but consider buying it its a great book.

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 246643

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:57

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:57
Hi ya JB, Lithgow/Nunes/zigzag is about the only thing close that has something decent. I wouldnt worry about been out of your league as there is numerous tracks and you can either go the hard way or the easy. If I could do them in a hilux you'l have no issues with the cruiser. I still havnt 4gotten about the cruiser around the corner but have not seen the cruiser or his wifes car not sure wether there away for a while or not ?? or some thing else is happening wasnt any for sale signs so presume he's still living there. Regards Steve M. PS not sure when your planning on going but heavy rain forcast for tomorrow onwards right through till next thursday even forcasting some possible hail for tommorrow.
AnswerID: 246649

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 20:01

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 20:01
Hi Stephen,
Sorry to hijack your thread Johnny boy.....Have you upgraded the suspension on the Prado yet? you said before it was way to soft.

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 507446

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 20:13

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 20:13
No not yet I was hoping this week but looks like next week (hopefully). Just bought another 4 rims there on there way down from queensland so I can get some muddies fitted up to them and only use them when I intend going off road so I dont chew them up going through the bends in Glenmore Park. But getting back to springs, yes far too soft bottom out so easily its not funny but have to be fair they have done 160k so would expect them to be worn out. Hanging to get it done big time but wife pulling the strings in a bit. She got new car as well (brand new) so she freakn the bank accounts getting a bit low bla bla bla. I wouldnt have a bloody clue whats in it dont even know how to do phone banking or internet and wouldnt have a clue what the passwords are. Also got new GME UHF on layby so hanging to get hold of that as well mind you dont use it much around town lot of wankers talk crap but miss it out on the highways. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 507449

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 20:23

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 20:23
I didn't relise how bad my old stuff was till I put the new stuff on. My old springs and shocks were 145k old. Its like a new car now. My kit was from Don Kyatt at seven hills. His terrain Tamer shocks are re-branded TJM's....and his springs are king springs. Got a good price too $695

Cheers Stefan

P.S is the prado IFS or live axle???
FollowupID: 507451

Follow Up By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 21:32

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 21:32
Hi Stephen
I know where your coming from re bank account details. I haven't known whats in mine for seven years now. So long as the ATM keeps spitting out the red and yellow paper I don't care. What ever the SWMBO is doing is working so I will stay out of it. I do know she want my credit card soon as the Penrith 4b show is coming up and also TJM just moved in across the road so that is dangerous.

Johnnyboy.
Same goes as Stefan said. If you are up for a run give us a yell as I am from Penrith as well. It looks like there is a few of us so we should organise a get together. Maybe the Peachtree Hotel for a bite to eat one sunday lunch. What do you guys reckon???
Scott
FollowupID: 507469

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:18

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:18
Scott Yeeah sounds good Im sure due to our same interest it would be a top day out as for thoughts this sunday ...WELL check out the wheathewr reports its not looking like take out the kids and missus sort of material does it ? but I recon a local E/O gathering in the future would be FUN !!

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 507475

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:39

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:39
G'day Scott
Sounds like a plan, put it up on a member gathering???
or just member msg with any details

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 507481

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy- Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 06:20

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 06:20
Hi, I'm near Lithgow so let us all know.
TB
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 507506

Follow Up By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:14

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:14
OK will do.
I will go to the Peachtree and see if I can organise the function room for a lunch.
I will put it up as a member gathering.
FollowupID: 507517

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:52

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:52
Hi Scott, yeah Ill be up for any meeting/lunch etc at the peachtree, my local hangout. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 507523

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 15:53

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 15:53
By the way guys I have a trip on in July.....you don't have to camp if you don't want, just come out for the drive on the saturday if that suits

Cheers Stefan

see member gatherings
FollowupID: 507589

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:20

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:20
JB,
There are some nice tracks in the Wollombi NP. A nice round trip for family with kids is to drive through Windsor, up the start of the Putty rd. Good views along the way. Turn left at Colo Heights onto dirt rd and wend your way across to the Bells Line of Rd. The last bit of the track can be a bit rough & rocky depending on the recent weather. Nice spots for picnic on the Colo river. Interesting old cemetries and a few disused mines. Need to get a decent map and good if you have a gps to pick the different tracks, but not essential.

There are also some good tracks off the Webbs Ck rd down at Wisemans Ferry. Again need a map.

In all cases there are may tracks that have been closed off. Mixture of valid reaction to idiots who carve up tracks in their off-road monsters and over reaction by NP authorities who want to lock everything up.

AnswerID: 246706

Reply By: Col88 - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 14:20

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 14:20
This is off topic, I know, but I have noticed some Penrith guys in this post so I thought I would say Hi.

I have recently bought myself a 4by (Pajero) and live in Glenmore Park. (Agree about the bends affects on tyre life!!)

I have recently had a back operation which will be a while healing, but would love to hook up for a day out some time in the future.

We are heading to Cameron Corner, Merty Merty and Innaminka at the end of July and can't wait.
AnswerID: 246770

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 15:00

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 15:00
G'day Col....seems like there is a few of us.......long live PENRIFF!!!! lol

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 507573

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:40

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:40
Didnt i see Jackie kelly wearing a shirt a few years back saying "I LOVE PENRIFF"

yes i am an x penrith boy - missing it :(

used to love the peachy years ago before the new look ....

Boc

FollowupID: 507976

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:05

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:05
Yup sure did......she is such a tool!!!
FollowupID: 507986

Reply By: fergus - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 19:30

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 19:30
So when are we going out?
Yup another Penrith 4wder.
Farma
AnswerID: 246844

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 20:34

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 20:34
bloody hell!!!! must be all the rain flushing us out of the ground!!!!
Welcome :)

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 507667

Reply By: rags - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:01

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:01
Following on from Alistar's trip idea you could also venture on down to Burralow camp ground out from Bilpin/Kurrajong Hts area although the gates have been closed due to the wet.
thanks
Russell
AnswerID: 246905

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:34

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:34
Alrighty ---- you didnt specify what kind of driving you want to do ? scenic > fun ? destructive ?

Since you are in penrith - if you just want to get your car dirty , then your in luck( well sort off ) after all this rain the drop zone in penrith ( well kind of penrith ) its mainly flat land -- but with some kick ass deep water , its a lot of fun after a few heavy days of rain - only draw back -- you cant drive there !! as the name suggests it used to be a practice drop zone area for the airforce - but been told they now practice elswhere , but the land is still gov owned... so go there at your own risk ...... NOT hard at all -- but better to have 2 cars ,and at least one snatch strap if your going to hit the deep puddles ( fun )

Next is - Cabbage tree road ( nrth richmond - grose valley) At the very end of this 5 km dead end road is a dirt track - some good trails there - one goes to a really great look out over the valley - very spectacular views especially at sunset - this looks over the river ( A LONG WAY DOWN ) - the other track takes you to the bottom - there was a sign there a year or so ago , that is no longer there - and it reads - "DANGER TRACK NOT SUTABLE FOR VEHICLES " or words to that effect - and there not kidding - if you have a stock standard shopping cart that is scared of rocks and scratches - then this isnt for you - MIN 2 inch lift required - diff locks and winch not essential but certianly an advantage and the difference between 1 hour time to get out or 3 hour- side steps are almost guaranteed to get a little bent... and some time throwing rocks to assist in your exit should be thought of :) you pretty much have only 2 points to hang a u turn and abort the track the rest of the track is challenging rock ledges..(destructive) ( will have to draw a dirt map as i dont think the trails show up on topo maps )

All the other stuff up at glenbrook , to my knowlege have been closed by the greenies - so you need to be a member of a 4x4 club or have a friend with as key! apart from jellybean but thats not exactly 4x4ing-

Next alternative is Newnes state forest ( enter via bells line of road at zig zag railway ) trails here vary from softroader to -- FUN !! my fav track up there is to follow the power lines the FULL length , some sections can be a LITTLE tricky - especially in the wet - but in general not over the top -- the last hill ( we have nick named endless belt hill ) can be a little challenging to get back up for people driving toyota 4x4 utes , friend had all kind of trouble trying to get back up, even droped tyre pressure do 15 psi but just could not get traction and that was with pretty new simex tyres also -and only one way in and one way out as there is a locked gate at the very bottom. reason we knick name it Endless belt hill -- as the company with the same name is at the very bottom - YOUR CAR WILL GET SCRATCHED as there is a lot of over grown on the approach.....

If you would like more info - just email me direct on boc1971@hotmail.com

AnswerID: 247151

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:03

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:03
yeah was in the drop zone yesterday.......VERY wet heaps of bog holes......that was where I took my rig picture

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 507984