Need advice... Dad is almost 60

Submitted: Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 02:12
ThreadID: 46685 Views:2505 Replies:10 FollowUps:13
I know all you very knowledgeable peoples can give me some advice. My dad is 60 mid July and want to know what to give him for a present? He has 5 acres of land and I have offered him an excavator but he does not want it.
His life is around boats and is retiring from one of the best jobs in the world. He cruises on the water every day.
Sure I can give him another picture but he already has 3 of my pics plus one of my calendars. Would like to get him something really cool......
Any Ideas? What would any of you guys would like for a 60th birthday present?????

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 06:59

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 06:59
Well, it's a milestone.

Give him a hug and a good book on fishing or a subscriotion to Boating Life or something like that. Its the thought that counts.

AnswerID: 246954

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:27

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:27
Gooday,
Give him 60 $1 instant Lottery tickets.
We did that to my Brother for his 75th a few months ago, he won the grand sum of $37-00 but kept him busy for a while scratching them all.
Boroma604.
AnswerID: 246960

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:27

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:27
I'll second that. Take him down the pub, or out for a nice meal and tell him how proud you are that he's your dad. He'll always remember that.
AnswerID: 246961

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:43

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:43
Well said Footy!!!
FollowupID: 507940

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:55

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:55
I agree with Footloose ... I am just celebrating my 2nd 60th birthday and all my happiest memories from my 3 kids are the hugs, the phone calls when I was away, and their hand made cards, many of which I have kept.

Beats socks and undies every day!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 246974

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:18

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:18
You must be the oldest man in Australia - did you get the Queen's telegram?
FollowupID: 507818

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:20

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:20
Bloody Hell Jack, howsit going? Must have been a great innings.

Please tell us all about the 1890's. Would love to hear what happened in that era.

FollowupID: 507842

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:57

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:57
Yes ..I see the error of my ways ....

I was 60 in 2005
60 again in 2006 ... and
60 again today (2007) ...

One does not wish to confuse : )

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 507904

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:02

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:02
Crikey, a serial 60. Must be an excellent age :))))))))
FollowupID: 507946

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:04

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:04
1890's...now lets see...The Australian states were squabbling over Federation, there was a shearers strike, etc etc....pretty mundane stuff.
FollowupID: 507947

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:36

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:36
1890's lets see.....mmmmmm, OH the 4.2 Nissan diesel first came into service...(or at least it seems that long ago)

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 507960

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 08:59

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 08:59
Try and think of something he's always thought about doing but never done for himself. My old man's never been musically minded but always been captivated by the sound of a digeredoo (spelling?) So for his 60th we got him a Dige and some lessons on how to play it. He loves it!
This is the key... My old man is bloody quiet, never wanting to bother anyone and is generous to a fault. Everyone elses needs come before his so I oput plenty of thought into what he wanted but never would indulge in himself.

Good luck!
Scoey!
AnswerID: 246993

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:07

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:07
Get him one of these,

www.ja-gps.com.au/garmin_gpsmap276c.aspx

AnswerID: 247010

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:22

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:22
Where is it?

Nullagine? Marree?

There so much old rusted stuff around...lol
FollowupID: 507843

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:50

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:50
Isn't it one of Tom Kruises truck maybe at Maree?
FollowupID: 507850

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:23

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:23
Willem and

Member - extfilm
Yes at Marree...

FollowupID: 507894

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 13:51

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 13:51
Give him Membership to ExplorOz - it's a gift of information, entertainment, and mateship that he can make as much or as little us of as he likes. You could also look through our Shop - there are tons of great books to choose from, some interesting books on early Australian explorers etc? There are also some fun audio books - so if he wants to "listen" to a story being read he can pop on a CD - either in the house, or car.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 247042

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 15:46

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 15:46
When I turn sixty in October, I am taking the whole family, for a Hot Air Balloon
ride over the Gold Coast, I reckon that will be the closest all of us will get to
Heaven at the same time.

Daza
FollowupID: 507884

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:06

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:06
Sounds like a lot of hot air to me :)) Actually watched one land near my plce once, blown off course. Great ride I'm told, but you have to get up early.
FollowupID: 507949

Reply By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:26

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:26
Is 'Mum' still around?

If not, you would be amazed which 'service industries' have gift vouchers !!

8-)
AnswerID: 247090

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:41

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:41
Now that Greydemon is a gift any man could use....And to think with luck I'll get to share my 60th with Sibil and no doubt her Mum....
FollowupID: 507938

Reply By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 14:17

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 14:17
Member extfilm,

When a close friend got to that special number his dad... yes his dad...had applied for a seniors card for his son. His son had finally become a senior,, we all had a laugh at him.

You will have to be a bit adventurous (not full on legal) by applying on someone elses behalf. You get the application form from Centrelink or your local Council

The card actually turned out to be " a good assett" in NSW many store give a 5% discount when shown and McDonalds throw in a free coffee on production.
AnswerID: 247224

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 15:59

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 15:59
Soem oprions across the price range:

Is he into animals? A dog plus training voucher - to keep him mobile.

A dvd player and/or bigger tele. Many older people put up with smaller TVs but the bigger units are better for sight.

Compact CD with decent sound and some of his favourite artists.

Drip irrigation system if he is into gardening. Some advanced grafted fruit trees for the 5 acres.

A decent reclining chair with foot rest.

Squatter's chair.

If he is into fishing from a dink a self inflating life vest is worthwhile - one of the newer slim ones.

Decent crushable wide brim hat.

Bottle of good drinkable scotch say Glenlivet, Glenfiddich, Ballantines, Highland Park
Bushmills if he has Irish ancestry and Wild Turkey if he is a bit of a rebel. Get some bigger crystal glasses to drink from.

Now I'm off to have a Wild Turkey 101 Proof Straight Rye - really nice stuff if you want one or two a day to sit back and contemplate the dusk.

But did I mention fine Ports - as in any red port left?

EV700

AnswerID: 247237