The cost of freedom-well worth it

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:03
ThreadID: 46725 Views:3656 Replies:2 FollowUps:3
About the new or 2nd hand Jayco Eagle...Thanks everyone for your feedback and ideas.

I just love this way of 'kicking tyres' with others. In the end we have decided to go the new one, and have been looking around for the best deal. Have secured one for $19,500 with end flys and an innerspring mattress.

What has decided us is that Jayco cleverly don't allow their warrantee to be transferred from the original owner, so if something does go wrong we'd be paying to fix it. Also, we figure that the price difference between new and 2H is not enough to make heaps of difference, AND as we definitely want an Eagle and they don't come up all the time....we've ordered one.

Alan (lsp=long suffering partner) is having a good old time at work, telling them all how his wife was 'feeling trapped' so talked him into buying a camper trailer. But then, he continues, we had to buy a new car to pull it ($46,000). Then of course the car wouldn't fit in the garage, so he had to get the door widened and a new remote tilt-a-door installed ($1,750). He goes on to talk about the costs of fitting tow bar, electric brakes, trip to Melbourne to pick it up and bring it back to Tassie... well by the end of this everyone is rolling around and patting him on the back, and calling him a poor old bast**d.

I don't know about you, I think he's over-reacting.

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:30

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:30
Good on you Kristi,usually tis the other way round partner knocking,good stuff.Enjoy your camping & out n about as well as the spending of lots of hard earned on all the extras & add ons & so on n on n on you know what i mean.Lol :)))))
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 247211

Follow Up By: Kristi - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:40

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:40
Thanks Bob,
I am re-living the best times of my life with this. When I was 21 (21 years ago now!) a friend and I set off around Australia in a Hiace campervan. It was nearly 3 years before we ended up back in Tassie. We worked in Kalgoorlie, Carnarvon and on Brampton Island and I seem to recall we were a bit snooty about all the 4wd and caravans we came across. Now I can see things more clearly - they were all after the same thing as we were.

Cant wait!
FollowupID: 508055

Follow Up By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 12:59

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 12:59
Kristi,

"they were all after the same thing as we were."

Never a truer word spoken!!
Hit the nail right on the head.

Garth
FollowupID: 508064

Reply By: jon p qld - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:17

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:17
G'day Kristi
We've also been looking at the Jayco Eagle and was just wondering where you are and who you got the $19500 deal through.
Thanks Jon
AnswerID: 247379

Follow Up By: Kristi - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:33

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:33
Hi Jon,
We are in Hobart, but got our deal through Page's in Melbourne. Sorry, the actual amount was $19,800 with the inner spring and end flies. Outback version. They have been very helpful: emailing us photos of fabric swatches and sending everything through promptly. We are going over to pick it up in December. This suits us as we have family in Melbourne and were going to take our car over anyway.
Good luck with finding your good deal!
Kristi
FollowupID: 508213