meat

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 06:20
ThreadID: 46763 Views:2256 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
wee are going 2 the cape in august and dont have freezer can we still purches meat allong the way after we leav cairns frozen or fresh

Reply By: Tony - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 06:58

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 06:58
Very good Butcher in Mosmon, north end of town, veer right at the end of the main street, and he is on the right.

He will crovac on the spot.

Crovac if kept in a fridge/esky will keep for a month no worries.
AnswerID: 247361

Reply By: tofstar - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 07:31

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 07:31
tnks tony will give it a go happy trailes
AnswerID: 247365

Reply By: Member - Troopytrek - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 07:38

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 07:38
G'Day tofstar, There is a woolworths at wiepa to replenish you supplies. Cheers Troopytrek.
AnswerID: 247366

Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 08:22

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 08:22
There is also a supermarket at Bamaga.
Remember you cannot bring fresh food south past the checkpoint at Coen.
Don't have to stop on the way north but you could ask for the latest advice about what you can or cannot bring south.

The checkpoint is about 20km north of Coen
AnswerID: 247372

Reply By: Dodgin & Weavin - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 08:30

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 08:30
Yep. You can buy meat all the way. Every community / town has a store (I guess the cheapest would be Cooktown, Weipa & Seisia / Bamaga / Umagico ) where you can buy everthing you need unless you're real fussy.

Like the lady I once saw trying to buy Ginger from a store halfway across the Gibb River Road. I was impressed that they had both ground and fresh ginger but this wasn't good enough for her. She wanted Ginger Paste.

If you don't already have it get a book called "Cape York. An Adventures Guide" by Roon & Viv Moon. Well worth the money and will give you all the info you need.

Dodgin
AnswerID: 247374

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 23:56

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 23:56
DnW, nice one.
Ginger- flamin Paste. What a poser.
Why settle for "The Original" when crap will suffice?
' Onya luvvie'.
Bit like the goose in the Rangie NE of Andamooka. Dash lights on speed, while His Highness supped a jolly pleasant Cup of Tea. (December, 2002. If you know the Gent, my regards, if you please).
Ever your faithless servant,
Smelly and unwashed Jeff.
ps.as a sample: " Oh I say Chappies, gloves when you raise the bonnet: do you mind!!. It's quite expensive, you know!"
(Aside to Her Ladyship>" I say, these Colonials - so uncouth - ")

My thoughts were that The Lady was an older model, superb bodywork, minimal gearbox wear. Just yearning for a proper run.

Can't be jailed for dreaming...... but really! Ginger paste? jh.
FollowupID: 508393

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:44

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:44
Just remember crovac will keep red meat good for a month if fresh and kept cold!!.
Not chicken, 10-14 days even though it has been vac packed.
Happy munching :)
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 247494