Spelling.......lack of care taken

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:05
ThreadID: 46767 Views:3624 Replies:38 FollowUps:72
I'm distressed by the god awful spelling witnessed constantly on this forum, that's without talking about grammar and punctuation.

So I went back over many pages of posts to see if there was a pattern to this.
Ie a particular make of vehicle ownership, state of residence, political view, what make of fridge, which tyres they own etc etc.

Nothing obvious was apparent. Then I looked at the time of day of the posts.
Now it was obvious........

From about 6pm onwards on any day there is a direct correllation between hours elapsed from 6pm and deteriorating spelling, grammar and punctuation.

After more research on medical sites it seems that this phenomenon is due to the electrical activity in the brain (more importantly the increasing lack thereof as the day advances)
Most people experience a peak of this brain activity mid morning and its down hill from there.

So what I propose is that contributers be monitored, and if their spelling etc is found to be substandard, they be limited to being able to post say between 9.30am and 11.30 am daily.

Such a strategy should produce an immediate and significant improvement in the standard of spelling, grammar and punctuation, thus making it easier to tread posts.

I trust everyone agrees with this.

The only other reason that springs to mind is, that on occasion people may be consuming a refreshment whilst posting their thoughts..... :-)
If this is the case it would make the solution above a tad draconian.
Any thoughts?????

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:29

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:29
Oh no not again??? Remember Aandy????
AnswerID: 247381

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:45

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:45
Brew,

Let's wheel out Aandy for old times sake hey.

That was an adventure in itself.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 508279

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:10

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:10
Eye alweighs trie 2 spel orl mi werds proply, buut sumtimes eye no eye maik a feu misteaks.....butt on the hole eye rekon mi speling is as gud as the nixt blohke's.
FollowupID: 508297

Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 04:29

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 04:29
I apologise for my out burst of anger I just missed the humour in the post, sorry everyone.

Cheers Ozymacca
FollowupID: 508414

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:03

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:03
Apology accepted.
FollowupID: 508621

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:29

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:29
I blame non-members!
AnswerID: 247382

Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:11

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:11
you always blame it on non members I think you are a tosser did I spell that okay for you tosser.
FollowupID: 508298

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:19

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:19
haha good to see ya got a sense of humour ozymacca...but yes that is correct spelling - well done!
FollowupID: 508301

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:24

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:24
>haha good to see ya got a sense of humour ozymacca

I suspect he doesn't :)
FollowupID: 508306

Follow Up By: everydoghasitsday - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:38

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:38
Gee Ozymacca
I didnt even say bad words in one of my reply,s to a bloke not one bad or sarkastic, like you did in this post,and my post was removed and i was told they where threats i am amazed you got away with this ,I agree to my spellin is crappy but even spell check gets to hard to use arfter a few ha ha LOL sense of humour that what i like to C an hear
keep it up
READ NAME ABOVE ha ha
FollowupID: 508370

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 00:27

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 00:27
I think what some are saying here is some people have a sense of humour and others don't

hey ozymacca or whatever ???? Can you take a joke?
FollowupID: 508398

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:39

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:39
I'm guilty. Had a couple of reds last night :-)) I reckon thats the cause of most peoples decreased brain activity after 6pm.
AnswerID: 247385

Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:40

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:40
Noen thngk worsa tdan a nonen-drinker is a reformered one I olways says.
AnswerID: 247386

Reply By: Member - Troopytrek - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:45

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:45
g'Day. gOOntWOppo., i"D wE caN't WeeLy Cee wOt UrE PooInT Was iS,. mY muM lEarned Me eNgisH WelL sPEak SPell,.. cHeers tRoopYtReK...
AnswerID: 247389

Reply By: Heefers - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:46

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:46
GoneTroppo,

Have no trouble reading posts, but how do I "tread" one?? ;)

Hope this wasn't posted during your mid-morning peak of brain activity.

Heffers
AnswerID: 247390

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:53

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:53
Nahhh. I actually wrote it last night, half way through my refreshments, and then waited until this morning to take advantage of my electrical peak.
FollowupID: 508220

Reply By: Tony - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:50

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:50
Looks like the Pot calling thr Cettle black.
AnswerID: 247391

Follow Up By: Catfish - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:30

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:30
"Cettle" LMAO!
FollowupID: 508224

Reply By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:25

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:25
Or just restrict access to those who are really worried about it enough to post about it :))
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

AnswerID: 247399

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:40

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:40
Good idea, that will limit the forum to about three members and one or two non-members :-)
FollowupID: 508226

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:29

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:29
Bad spelling is bad.
Bad grammar is bad.

BUT, incorrect use of an apostrophe should be a capital crime !!

www.apostrophe.fsnet.co.uk/

AnswerID: 247400

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:53

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:53
From Wiki:

------------------------------
Kingsley Amis, on being challenged to produce a sentence whose meaning depended on a possessive apostrophe, came up with:

"Those things over there are my husbands."

Which, if an apostrophe were added, would read "Those things over there are my husband's [items]."
------------------------------

PS. Gone Bush; I'll let the two exclamation marks pass without comment as this is a seriously emotive issue :)
FollowupID: 508227

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:06

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:06
Agreed. The mis-placed apostrophe really gets up my nose!

But what really amaze's me is the poor grammar used in some advertisement's in newspaper's, where customer's are paying professional's for a quality adverti'sment, and where it would be rea'sonable to expect good s'pelling and grammar and zero mis-placed apostrophe's.
And David's US-style spell checker is having a go at me as I type!
But far be it for me to criticise!
Gerry
FollowupID: 508232

Reply By: Garbutt - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:42

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:42
Your' wright.
AnswerID: 247403

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:20

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:20
But then again, you may be rong
FollowupID: 508286

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:45

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:45
When I was growing up Real Men didn't type....LOL That was left to typists or pretty secretaries to do.

But with the advent of the home computer over the last 25 years we have all put our minds to typing with with one finger or with two or with fat finger

We all do typos.

Spelling? Well I notice that 'their' becomes 'there' and 'hear' becomes 'here'.

Many of us spell as we speak. .i.e with phonectics. Many contributors grew up in a different era when the emphasis on spelling and grammer in schools had changed

I seldom use spell check but often see that I have made a typo or a spelling error and kick myself for not editing the post well enough.

If one is going to write an epistle then it is best to write it in Word, do a spell check and then Copy and Paste on to the forum.

But.........

neve fi ouy etirw to sdrawkcab ti si llits elbadnatsrednu

AnswerID: 247406

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:57

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:57
neve fi ouy etirw to sdrawkcab ti si llits elbadnatsrednu

should read

neve fi ouy etirw ti sdrawkcab ti si llits elbadnatsrednu

Typos never cease...lol
FollowupID: 508229

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:07

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:07
Thank you for correcting it. It makes all the difference.

On another note, isn't epistle what you get when you have too many refreshments?
If this is so, why do you need Word?
FollowupID: 508233

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:39

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:39
I think you need to consult your dictionary

I suggest using Word as the Forum feature has a time-out set into the post. Word gives you time to rethink what you intend saying. But that is only necessary if you are typing something which is long-winded, like and Epistle...:o)
FollowupID: 508240

Reply By: obee - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:03

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:03
If the english language was written phonetically, there would not be a problem. I met a man who said the way we spell was important to our culture, not like that american lingo. I was culture shocked to think this person belonged to the same race as me!

And as to typing, yeah. I taught myself to type and its one of the best things I ever did. My favourite bitch now is that kids who face a keyboard future are not taught as a compuslory subject. Looking around I dont think they are taught arithmetic either.

But a good laugh this bright and crispy morning in WA. Thank you.

Owen

AnswerID: 247412

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:32

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:32
Sadly a phonetic spelled language would need everyone to agree on what letter makes what sound. That would just about knock out all Kiwis from spelling correctly and most poms with a heck of a lot of yanks too. 'Course we all have the same 'sound' in Oz...

Or... everyone could learn the phonetic alphabet.

Even then, though, language never stays the same and you would find that very soon there would still be disagreements.
FollowupID: 508276

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:01

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:01
Wull I thunk I'll go and buy my fush and chups and you theenk oy shoold go and boy yoor feesh and cheeps and eat them boy the sweeming pue-el. (-:)

Nev

FollowupID: 508294

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:23

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:23
In German schools there is no such subject as Spelling - the spelling and pronunciation are totally consistent so spelling is obvious.
FollowupID: 508366

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 00:35

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 00:35
Did that help them win the war !!!!!
FollowupID: 508403

Follow Up By: obee - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 09:44

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 09:44
Actually england lost the war to the americans who took all their overseas bases and made them pay reparations even tho they fought for them. The americans poured money into germany and made it a grreat power while england has never recovered to what she was.

Its a perverse world!

Owen
FollowupID: 508439

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 09:48

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 09:48
And people wonder how threads drift off the original topic !!!!
FollowupID: 508440

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:18

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:18
Despite being married to a teacher who also happens to be a practising catholic, I have never been made aware that god was an awful speller, then she would never tell me that would she? I am not going to submit this to SWMBO for the usual spelling and grammar check because it will be handed back with the spelling and grammar corrected and nothing else!
I'll say
"What do you think of the sentiment, context, or the way it is written?"
and get a one word answer ie......
"OK".
Which brings me to my point that the human spelling and grammar warriors only care about one thing and tend to miss out on the much of the sentiment of the text! I'm sure that the above-mentioned warriors think that Mugabes worst crime is poor spelling and grammar!
doug
P.S. The rest of you Keep up the interesting and amusing Spelling ;-)
AnswerID: 247415

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 13:44

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 13:44
When do you get to be a real catholic?
I am a teacher.... I'd hate to be married to one!
FollowupID: 508467

Follow Up By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 00:24

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 00:24
Hi Royce,
Never and We get on ok
FollowupID: 508610

Reply By: Boldjack - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:42

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:42
G'Day GoneTroppo member,
Not that I really care to much about spelling, But since you started it I believe "contributers" should be contributors.
That's my contribution. :)
Cheers Boldjack
AnswerID: 247420

Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:15

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:15
Good on you Boldjack thats how I feel I don't care if I have a spelling mistake. or my grammar is not up to standard.

cheers ozymacca
FollowupID: 508300

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:03

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:03
Forget the odd spelling mistake, it's the posts that read like a text message that annoy me. Abbreviated, shortened & without any punctuation at all. wat r the yuth been tort at skool
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 247422

Reply By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:19

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:19
Troppo
My hypothesis is that there is a strong correlation between age and frustration experienced when confronted with poor spelling...us younger generation use txt spk and are couldn't care less about "inkorrect spelleng"...with ya on the beverages tho mate ;-) haha

Big Red

AnswerID: 247426

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:26

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:26
btw (by the way) to stir the pot a bit more i studied two years of linguistics at uni - spelling and grammar are reflective of the society in which is it based. If certain spelling and grammar is adopted by a society then eventually it will be officially recongised. Just think we no longer speak like they did in ye olde england...isn't that a good thing?
FollowupID: 508250

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:28

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:28
It'll be a sad day when txt spk becomes the norm.

My main concern is that I'll have nothing to stir on a humourless Sunday morning.

BTW (see I'm doing it already) I'm only just old enough to drink :-))))
FollowupID: 508261

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:40

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:40
hahaha
mate i may be just old enough to drink but i tell you what - 18yo girls are the best lookin ;-)
FollowupID: 508263

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:06

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:06
Only until you learn about women, my boy :)
FollowupID: 508295

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:23

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:23
haha i never knew four wheel driving was a pursuit for such casanovas! Please teach me more...

Big Red
FollowupID: 508305

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:27

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:27
>two years of linguistics at uni

Wasted! It's _four_ ellipses when ending a sentence... ah... the youth of today....

FollowupID: 508307

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:34

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:34
nah mike i actually did i unit in professional writing as well (oh the wonders of an Arts degree) and three is the accepted practice. I was waiting in eager anticipation of your knowledged of women...
FollowupID: 508310

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:46

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:46
>nah mike i actually did i unit in professional writing

Oh! I'm sorry, I though you did a degree course :)

>and three is the accepted practice

Only in the course of a sentence _not_ at the end when a full stop should be appended:
The Penguin Dictionary of Troublesome Words, Bill Bryson, 1984.

>I was waiting in eager anticipation of your knowledged of women...

I'll bet you do! However, as it's taken me 35+ years to learn... you're on your own old son :)

FollowupID: 508314

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:52

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:52

haha apologies on my unaccepatable mistake ;-)
ye i'm about to finish an Arts degree - majoring in Psychology/Comunication Studies - prof writing was one of the units in Communications. But as you have shown through your experience and wisdom, uni provides people with jack sh*t in terms of commonsense... three ellipses instead of four...why did i bother racking up this hecs debt...i'm basically unemployable now (haha not that an Arts degree gets u far anyway)

Big Red
FollowupID: 508318

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:02

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:02
You're forgiven the 4/3 thing :)

>haha not that an Arts degree gets u far anyway)

Noooo... you hang in there, you may be surprised at how many doors it opens for you and you are, clearly, an outgoing and positive person so I expect to see you back here in a few years complaining about the leather seats of your Range Rover getting covered in mud :)

FollowupID: 508321

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:12

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:12
haha cheers for the leg-up mate
nah f*ck landrovers - troopy all the way mate ;-)
and maybe one of those chromed-up hummers for 'round town!

Big Red
FollowupID: 508324

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:35

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:35
Lads, lads, lads!

If commonsense was common practice, half of us would be out of work!
FollowupID: 508334

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:36

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:36
R Send
I'm assuming you work for the government ;-)
FollowupID: 508335

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:47

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:47
You shouldn't assume these things - just because you've got 'university' injected into your bloodstream doesn't mean you know everything! However I am sure you are right that public sector work has a good deal of slack that could be got rid of - and then we'd all pay less tax. Well isn't that a tremendous thought?

And no I don't!

When you've finished your 'education' and get to work you may find out how true my statement is in many industries. Commonsense is not something that human beings are necessarily imbued with. Surprise, surprise!
FollowupID: 508341

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:12

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:12
haha relax mate - my comment was meant as a joke as i don't profess to know everything because of my university education, despite there being a lot of pretentious wankers out there who probably think they do. I work part time in the transport industry and often find professionals to be the least friendly and "above it all". The best clients are usually the tradies and self-employed, who have toughed it out and understand the benefits of common sense.

For you to imply that someone doesn't understand the real world because they are receiving a tertiary education is incorrect - perhaps it is you that is making the assumption here?

Big Red

P.S - how did a thread regarding spelling and grammar mistakes turn into a debate over the social impacts of education?
FollowupID: 508346

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:32

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:32
"P.S - how did a thread regarding spelling and grammar mistakes turn into a debate over the social impacts of education?"

I've wondered this myself. Guess it proves that you never finish up where you thought you would when you started!
FollowupID: 508348

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:37

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:37
haha nice work troppo - you've kept us all entertained!
FollowupID: 508349

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:26

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:26
Gotcha!

"For you to imply that someone doesn't understand the real world because they are receiving a tertiary education is incorrect - perhaps it is you that is making the assumption here? "

I implied nothing of the sort, and neither did I make any assumption here.

I simply said that working for a living brings about a more realistic perspective on life. Which is no more than you said yourself.

By the way, which bit of the transport industry do you work in? I had some difficulty with your concept of "tradies and self employed" as clients.

And if its NSW transport, most of the professionals are too busy keeping their heads down, and avoiding risk, so they can keep their job (and the generous retrenchment/pension allocations they receive)

Do you think we can squeeze any more topics out of this thread?
FollowupID: 508482

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:47

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:47
R Send

I understand where you are coming from now....

I work part-time as a furniture removalist - i suppose only vaguely part of the transport industry. But its the sort of job where you get to meet all types of people during the course of your work, and get a good feel for the way people treat others. I've had many clients speak down to me and my fellow employees simply because i was wearing a high vis shirt and not employed in an 'academic' job.

You are right in saying that full time employment brings a more realistic perspective on life - however most university students do work part time and develop pactical skills in other areas in addition to academic studies.

>Do you think we can squeeze any more topics out of this thread?

I think we could continue ad infinitum really...talking about employment - how has everyone been affected by Johnny's Work Choices legislation? ;-) haha

Big Red
FollowupID: 508502

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:39

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:39
I had to wade into this one...look I totally agree, typos are a way of life but the majority of persons in here would have gone to school when spelling was considered an important subject. Ok so what about those of us who never had the benefit of an education? Yes well what about the poor buggers, I feel for them. I tend of course to be hyper critical of anyone who does not meet my personal standards in spelling & grammar & personal relationships.
I do find it confusing as a self proclaimed "CHAP" when I see adds on the television for those unfortunate enough to be dyslectic, how are they to respond if they can’t read or write.
I had a supervisor who was dyslexic and this made for great fun at his expense, it was an area of Government renown for verbose reports and this poor guy, on the abandonment of the typing pool, decided that his simple solution was to add his own spellings to his PC’s dictionary. I tell you it made for some humorous reports.
Stats show that men between the ages of 39 and 57 can’t spell as well as women but this I suspect is because there is a “Man Drought” in this age group (said so on TV this morning) so finding any man who could spell after an evening of trying to alleviate the drought may be difficult.
It’s not only spelling it’s the pronunciation by some of a few words that really let the side down. Those who have to add a W before an L i.e. swim in a poowl, this is usually associated with the trendy, pseudos sophisticated types with 3 Uni degrees in “Women’s Studies” or similar, then there seems to be a small sector of society that puts a K behind a G i.e. stop the bombingk, then there are those who just simply refuse to pronounce the S at the start of a word i.e. I told you pacifically…. Then of course there are the “Upper Crust” pronunciations usually associated with persons of far higher status than myself so I have to remain circumspect in any criticism of it.
Yes indeed an emotive issue…
AnswerID: 247428

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:33

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:33
too true mr fawlty - having been to university, it gives me the sh#ts when other uni people try to talk and spell things differently for the sake of being "upper crust". On a forum such as this where people of all different levels of education meet to discuss travel and the great outdoors i don't see much point in being critical of spelling or grammar etc - the meaning is what is important.

My point previously was that there is little to gain by trying to control language as it is forever changing based on the ways in which we need to express ourselves. Over time people develop different grammatical expression in order to better convey meaning.

Haha enough of me speaking like a pretentious uni wanker - the original post was said in jest in the first place. Now it's a beaut day in WA, pity i've got an exam on tuesday...

Big Red
FollowupID: 508262

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:24

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:24
It's a Internet Forum not a TEE English exam paper.

If the letters are in close to correct order, or just missing a letter or 2 i can an still read the text.

Two sentences below, top one with a few mistakes, the lower written correctly. Both are easy enough to read.

the only reasion that springs to mind is that peopl r cosuming a refresment
The only reason that springs to mind, is people are consuming a refreshment.
AnswerID: 247434

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:49

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:49
"Both are easy enough to read."

That's easy for you to write!
FollowupID: 508343

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:00

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:00
Quote "Nothing obvious was apparent."

Seems to me we have a case of the pot calling the kettle black.

I'm sure you meant "Nothing was obvious", didn't you?

AnswerID: 247436

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:16

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:16
"Aparently" he did Gerhard. If I may be permitted to make yet another caustic observation.... Gerhard, for a staunch Aldi supporter your english and grammar are impecable....
FollowupID: 508265

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:32

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:32
You mean impeccable?

Being an immigrant from the old country (age 5 upon arrival), English was not my first language. So I had to learn it, and there seemed no point to learn the wrong way to spell, when the correct way was no harder.

My high school English teacher was an English Major from Cambridge University, and he would not allow bad grammar or spelling on his turf! In those days, the cane was flashed frequently and suddenly for an abuse of the language. As he was also the Headmaster, no appeal was possible.

I confess to not caring quite as much as I used to, especially the occasional typo (or, more correctly, the occasional typographical error). Sometimes I wince when trying to decipher some of the posts.

FollowupID: 508266

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:30

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:30
Good point Gerhard,

However, I think that the changing standard of teaching,and the communications environment is something that we will not be able to do much about.

Clearly there are some of us who were taught how to use the English language properly, there are some who weren't, there are some who choose not to use the language as intended, there are some who use more phonetic styles, and the list goes on and on.

At the end of the day, though, the essential outcome for any post is that the reader has understood it, and this is where there is a problem with a very limited number of posts on this forum. In some cases, I wonder if the writers ever read what they have written because the post just does not make sense (leaving aside any criticism of spelling, grammar and punctuation).

And if it doesn't make sense what on earth is the point of posting?

And I expect to see at least 6 competently written posts answering this question!
FollowupID: 508331

Reply By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:10

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:10
haha you old blokes will love this:

Site Link

"what did you eat for lunch today?" - gotta love the practicality of internet forums...

Big Red
AnswerID: 247441

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:25

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:25
One area that gets right up my nose is the region of Financial Nomenclature, upper crust types pronounce it fin ance lesser types say fine ance. Tried to understand a super statement or even matters Taxual... Holly Snapping Duck Excrement they go on... Reversionary benifits, non accrued deductions ad nauseam. Then I take a peek at the glossary to find out excatly what they mean and that likewise may have been written by a Martian....
AnswerID: 247442

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:40

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:40
They are only trying to stop you from finding out what they've gone and done with your money.

If they say "we've wasted it on crook investments" you'd be straight on to them.

FollowupID: 508270

Reply By: aka - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:33

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:33
i aint nevr bean lernt
AnswerID: 247452

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:53

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:53
ROFLMAO .................... Brain activities peaks by mid morning .............. I've peaked well before then and started the slide much much much earlier no point straining till mid morning :).

As for speling gramer and that other thing ......... one day maybe but not today :).

AnswerID: 247458

Reply By: T-Ribby - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:53

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:53
Nah, bad spelling doesn't bother me, badly spoken grammar does, eg the tart advertising a certain car insurance company on TV who says something like " I was unsatisfied with my current company etc". Wow, even a whole insurance company couldn't satisfy her !.
Don't look to the media for good english - you're sure to be dissatisfied.

T.R'ibby

AnswerID: 247459

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:50

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:50
It is all due to DISCRIMINATION of course.

The fact is that keyboards are made with little keys that were originally designed for women's slender fingers. Men end up hitting the wrong key or two keys just because their fingers are different.

Some man should be given a huge guvvy grant to look into the sexist design of keyboards that is for sure.

EV700
AnswerID: 247469

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:44

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:44
aperpatnly if polepe witre lkie tihs, it is esay to raed you msut lavee the frist and lsat lteter in the wirght palcae tohguh.
AnswerID: 247475

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:09

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:09
Does anyone remember what George W said, about American kids and schools.

His famous quote was.

Is they learning.

But there again that wasn't his biggest bleep up

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 508296

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:41

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:41
Steve,

The research on this showed that the correct letters in a word could be jumbled up in any order as long as the first and last were in the right place. You introduced some additional letters in your sentence - you're not supposed to do that!

See, if you used spellchecker, you would have got the right letters in the right order, assuming the spellchecker could work out what you were trying to say!
FollowupID: 508337

Reply By: Ozymacca - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:47

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:47
GoneTroppo

I can only hope when you are up sh*t creek & knee deep in cr*p that you don't ask someone to spell out, you are in trouble. I would say that it would not matter to you if someone could not spell if you needed a hand one day. I don't care if someone has a spelling problem or grammar problem. You have issues my friend are you better than them I think not

Cheers Ozymacca
AnswerID: 247476

Reply By: kangas - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:55

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:55
not gone say anything utill after six, so there
AnswerID: 247480

Reply By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:09

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:09
Having taught for 30 years and but more than the occasional line tthrough a spelling error I wonder if I was off the track. The student was clearly communicating so why worry if the human mind can do wonders with the passage below.

I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg.The
phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde
Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the
olny iprmoatnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be in the rghit
pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit a
porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by
istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.? Amzanig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot slpeling was ipmorantt!

if you can raed tihs psas it on !!

SKI'er
AnswerID: 247485

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:19

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:19
Look at my post 3 up from yours.

Steve.
FollowupID: 508302

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:21

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:21
I can read that, but I have a secret weapon.
I've had two refreshments!
FollowupID: 508304

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:51

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:51
You can save money - you can still read and understand it without the refreshments!
FollowupID: 508344

Reply By: Ozymacca - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:24

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:24
Gonetroppo
Maybe you could ask exploreoz as you seem to have so much time on your hands. You could go through all the posts & fix all the grammar & spelling problems to keep you happy as I don't think any one else cares.

Cheers Ozymacca
AnswerID: 247489

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:29

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:29
I didn't think he did :(
FollowupID: 508308

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:38

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:38
isn't it great how all these people who don't care get so passionate when they respond to Gonetroppo's comments ;-)
FollowupID: 508312

Reply By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:28

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:28
haha gone troppo - you've been able to maintain a full day of entertainment from such a short post - how easily people are able to get fired up...
AnswerID: 247492

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:41

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:41
and its not even 6 o clock yet (in WA)
FollowupID: 508313

Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:01

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:01
I guess you would be the the type of person to give the finger up to the blind because they can not see & yell out to the deaf some obscenity because they can not hear good on you big red87
FollowupID: 508320

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:18

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:18
ozymacca
Can't say those are high on my list of favourite hobbies ;-)
I assume that this whole post was intended to be a bit tongue-in-cheek so i was simply pointing out the hilarious reactions by people such as yourself - no deeper moral meaning here mate just a bit of a chuckle on a sunday arvo... good to see you are passionate about your point of view though - so many people on this forum are fence sitters
;-)

Big Red
FollowupID: 508325

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:43

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:43
Ozymacca

I wasn't going to legitimise your rantings with a response, but you really are such a sad angry little man.
Here is some advice for you.
Perhaps you could go to a library. That's a big building often next to other municipal buildings. Go inside. find one of the staff ask them to take you to the dickshonary secton. Pick one, any one, look up the "H" section, here is a clue, it's after G and before I and the look for the word H_U_M_O_U_R.
Who knows you may even learn something.

BTW I've got some spam emails here offering penile enhancements, let me know if you'd like me to forward them, sounds like you could get some benefit.
FollowupID: 508354

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:01

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:01
ozymacca
here's a link to simplify the process:

Site Link

Big Red
FollowupID: 508362

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:08

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:08
And let's not mention dangling participles. That is something I won't put up with.

Have you noticed catch phrases creeping into TV news bulletins, like "any time soon"?

I heard a WA TV sports presenter say "should of" instead of "should have".

I always thought talking back to the telly was an early sign of dementia but I just can't help myself.

ABC radio news once urged the Fed Govt not to "lose its bottle" over some issue. I almost rang them up over that one.

I really need to get a life.

What's the phrase? Adventure before Dementia.

AnswerID: 247501

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:44

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:44
"Up with that I will not put!" :)

"Taken out"!!!!! (I know, I know... exclamation marks).

Bloody ABC (one expects it from the commercial stations) - since when did a horse "take out" "The Melbourne Cup"? Are they having surreptitious meetings or midnight encounters...?

FollowupID: 508339

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:38

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:38
Now listen up.....
FollowupID: 508351

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:39

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:39
How subtle is that? Using an example of a dangling participle to point out that I don't like dangling participles and then I'm corrected.

Gotta love it.

FollowupID: 508353

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:38

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:38
Don't get me on to split infinitives.

AnswerID: 247510

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:48

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:48
those who confuse determiners and demonstratives really get me fired up
FollowupID: 508342

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:39

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:39
Are you implying that I can't infer properly?
FollowupID: 508352

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:57

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:57
haha nerdy humour - the best kind
FollowupID: 508361

Reply By: Phillipn - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:06

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:06
What a bugger it would be, if this world was full of PERFECT B******s. Who cares if people make small mistakes.
AnswerID: 247541

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:21

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:21
GoneTroppo,

Are you consuming a refreshment while posting this thought ;)

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 247548

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:34

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:34
I cannot tell a lie, Boags' finest!

FollowupID: 508369

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:39

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:39
All in all it's been a fun day.
Here's to refreshments and some dangling particulates to nibble on.

Over and out!
AnswerID: 247557

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 00:35

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 00:35
almost 900 views currently - not a bad innings at all
FollowupID: 508404

Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 22:31

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 22:31
GoneTroppo Member (FNQ),

Hear you have wasted yet another Sunday, please go back to you little whole and leave us all alone for the next weak. You may reurn next weakend if you dare, but reeling it has all bin good fun, thanks.

You can see that you cant have the last werd afterall.
AnswerID: 247572

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 23:21

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 23:21
GoneTroppo

Having read your post it is obvious you have too much spare time.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 247586