3litres turbo diesel engine

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:30
ThreadID: 46773 Views:6478 Replies:10 FollowUps:1
Can anyone give me any information which is the best 3litre turbo diesel engine for towing a poptop caravan, regarding economy, power, fuel consumption and reliability.

Regards PAW.

Reply By: MP - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:49

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:49
I have a 2003 RA Rodeo 3ltr turbo diesel, manual transmission. I tow an 8x4 trailer every day and have towed a 17ft pop top van with it. Week in week out around town with the trailer 10l/100kms, with the van at 100kms 15l/100kms. I have had issues with the EGR valve, simple fix. In summary, very happy with the economy/fuel comsumption, reliabilty and has enough power for me most of the time. The current crop of common rail engines appear to be up there in the power stakes and time will tell on their fuel consumption and reliability. FYI my parents are dragging their pop top around at the moment with a Gen III V8 and averaging 17l/100kms at 90km/h.

AnswerID: 247446

Reply By: Racey - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:36

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:36
I tow a 19ft Evernew with a 2.7ltr Rexton Diesel 121kw and 340Nm of torque. We tow around 90klm/hour and am returning 17l/100klms. All up weight is approx 4tonn. Great performance. This rig would have no problems with a poptop. Do yourself a favour and check out your local dealer.
AnswerID: 247453

Reply By: greggu - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:41

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:41
mate
for work i have a new 2007 3.0 L td rodeo dual cab and would not recommend it to my worst enemy as i would alledge its noisey , and underperforming and bloody rough to ride in - frankly very disappointed in it and dont like it at all
i also have 2004 ser iv 3.o L td nissan patrol wagon st fitted with a dtronic which i do like and its streets better than the rodeo for towing my KK classic marina weighing in at 1500 KG and the patrol is in another league when in 4wd
but i would think probably the best unit to look at is the new 3.0 toy hilux or prado and its probbaly just in front of the patrol
see you greg
AnswerID: 247456

Reply By: SARocks - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:13

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:13
bought Triton 3.2L VR dual cab 10 wks past and come back from trip towing 17' 6" caravan. Delighted with fuel use and power. Gear box range is perfect for towing. Can say this is the best towing vehicle ever owned. Towed the same van with 3 vehicles so know. Loved the dual cab with canopy for carrying the gear. Ideal tow vehicle and comfortable. I would say the Triton and what it offers and 5/10 warranty is best 3L diesel vehicle on the market. Would go out and buy again tomorrow if had chance to choose again.
AnswerID: 247471

Reply By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:27

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:27
The best is the jeep 3lt its a v6 merc engine 160kw and 510 nm is heaps better than the rest.

Stu
AnswerID: 247473

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:58

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:58
I think first decision you need to make is whether ute or wagon.
Next decision is new or 2nd hand, or how much money do you have.
You have plenty of choice in both.

Most of the regular ute makers have 3 litre (there abouts) diesels.
GM, mazda, toyota, ford, mistubishi, nissin and a couple of Korean and Indian utes.

Wagons, considering most including the tougher end of the soft roaders, there are jeep, land rover, mercedes, VW, audi, maybe volvo, nissin pathfinder and patrol, toyota, mitsubishi, Rexton, Terracan, and I am sure there is another six I have missed.

Now if you want to incude a few other soft roaders, or even 2wds, add another six or more diesels.

I think you need to narrow your search a little :o).
What type of touring will you be doing?
AnswerID: 247482

Reply By: Member - Robin M (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:39

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:39
G'day Paw,
I've got a 2006 3-litre SR5 Hilux 4X4 dual cab utility with ARB canopy and lots of other expensive fruit salad. It's great for towing my 16' Windsor Rapid pop top ! It has plenty of power and it delivers maximum torque at 1400 revs which means I don't have to rev its head off to accelerate. I usually sit on around 95 kph at approximately 2400 revs in 4th gear and it purrs along at around 13 litres/100 km. I have no trouble rounding up slow vehicles, especially those that tend to cause traffic congestion by travelling at 85-90 kph on a busy road.

I'm rapt in the economy I'm getting. I have just been from Northern Victoria to Central Australia and return (6500 km) via the Simpson Desert and it averaged 10.4 Litres/100km.

Hope this might help you with your research.
Robin
AnswerID: 247528

Reply By: Blaze - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:35

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:35
Guess people would say I'm not the one to tell you which is the best 3ltr diesel because I gave up diesel and went lpg/ulp. But I had done a lot of research into another diesel before making my purchase. Now for my 2 cents worth, None of the 3ltr's stack up. the best power, fuel consumption (towing and without towing) etc is the 3.2ltr Pajero/Triton motor. It's slightly noisier than some of the others but hey if you buy diesel I don't believe you can conplain about motor noise...:-)

Now I'm going to duck for cover.....
AnswerID: 247555

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:57

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:57
So ya should, I cant believe someone doesn`t love diesel! Ya sick lol
FollowupID: 508504

Reply By: Member - Thomo - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:36

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:36
I have a 2007 Nissan Navara with 2.5 ltr diesel. Tow a 20 ft Regent legend which
weighs over 2t. Fuel economy is around 15-16 ltr per 100Km. Remember the heavier the foot the heavier they all will be on fuel.

AnswerID: 247683

Reply By: tempestv8 - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 17:54

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 17:54
If you wanted to tow only on the road, and never venture offroad, then the Mercedes Benz motor which is found in the ML320CDi or the Jeep Grand Cherokee or Commander (same motor) is the bees knees.

However, if you plan to go offroad, and travel remote places, then it'll be one of the Jap motors like the 3.2 TD in the Pajero, or the 3.0 D4D in the Hilux/Prado.

Surprisingly, the 2.7 TDV6 Land Rover Discovery motor is very economical and produces more power (yet cleaner exhaust) than the 4.2 TD Land Cruiser 100 Series engine. I guess it's all to do with injector technology.

The wooden spoon of the 3.0 turbo diesels seems to be the Nissan Patrol 3.0 CRD, which produces less output than the Nissan 2.5 TD found in the Navara. And the jury is still out on the Nissan CRD motor.

AnswerID: 247915