OT - Restoring cars.

Submitted: Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 13:13
ThreadID: 46813 Views:3024 Replies:8 FollowUps:17

Something that I want to do at least once is restore a classic old car. The model I've always had my sights set on is a '64 XM Falcon Coupe. Thing is, I won't be able to get stuck into it for years (probably more like decades) but I'm thinking that by the time I do, the chances of finding one will be fairly slim as they are scarce enough now. Provided I have a shed to garage it - would there be any benefit in trying to source the base vehicle now? I mean how much would a car stored in a shed deteriorate over this sort of time frame? I have also considered that by the time I want to restore it, the parts will be even more scarce!

What do you all think?

Scoey!

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 13:29

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 13:29
Depends on where you live.

Humidity and salt air are the killers. You can get blow up bubble bags for car storage but there is a cost factor.
AnswerID: 247653

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 13:33

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 13:33
Salt air isn't a prob but the humidity might be. Yeah I don't think I'd be keen on shrink wrapping a car! Thanks for the tip but! ;-)
FollowupID: 508466

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:56

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:56
This is the jigger I was talking about

www.carcoon.com.au/
FollowupID: 508489

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:21

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:21
and i woulda thought a carcoon would be driving a beat-up XF somewhere around Meekatharra....
FollowupID: 508497

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:45

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:45
Ha Ha Ha a classic case of a thread going off somewhere.........
FollowupID: 508501

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:55

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:55
haha you're just scared now Troppo - you've seen the devastation caused by your very own hands... mind that excessive ellipsis use there.... ;-)

Big Red
FollowupID: 508503

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 17:26

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 17:26
You're right five would have been enough, I just thought nine was a nice number...
FollowupID: 508506

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 02:10

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 02:10
GoneTroppo
It's a wonder the certain mob of advocates hsven't tried to get them to change the name , .........

Doug

FollowupID: 508614

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:53

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:53
That's true, they're an English outfit and I don't think they know what they're saying.
FollowupID: 508626

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 12:08

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 12:08
car-native_indigenous_australian doesn't have the same ring to it though .............
FollowupID: 508659

Reply By: Heefers - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:02

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:02
G'day Scoey,

Definitely buy now. Between buying the car of your dreams and getting the time to complete a full on restoration is the perfect time to be keeping a look out for the bit and pieces that you need. Some rare parts only pop up every now and then, don't miss the chance to get hold of them while you can.

Happy hunting,
Heffers
AnswerID: 247703

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:26

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:26
Hey Heffers,
You make a good point! ;-) Not that I need much encouragement! haha!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 508538

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:18

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:18

buy it now, Al restores Oldsmobiles [in his spare time] the models are vintage 1920/30 models and he gets parts etc when he finds them for when he gets the chance to work on his next project.

He has stored several chassis, wheels, engine parts etc in several sheds over the years and most are still ok to use.

Lyn
AnswerID: 247709

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:28

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:28
Hi Lyn, thanks for the reply. I guess I was worried that if I found and bought one now then I'd probably start buying other wrecks for parts as well and that could get out of hand. I think if I was a bit responsible about it and just stored the parts needed it would be ok!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 508539

Reply By: Camoco - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:26

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:26
I've had a '57 FE special in my shed (well it has been in my MIL shed for the last 13 years) for now a total of 16 years. I am the second owner and it has 56,000 original miles on it.
For that reason I was keen to secure it when I came across it, even though I knew I didn't have any spare time (still don't).
I even have it sitting on the tyres and just pump them up every now and again. It hasn't been registered on the road since 1971 and that was about the last time it was started. Since I got it, I have been poking around the swap meets for spare parts and storing them until I need them. It has been a cheap project and by the time I do get to restore it, it will be magic.
I check it over periodically and it hasn't suffered from storing. In fact it is better than when I got from the dry back blocks of Bollon. The paint had burnt off it and was sinking into the dust. I waxed the body before storing and filled the engine with oil, but that's about it.

If prices do what they have with Toranas for example, get in quick and keep as many as you can.

I live in QLD and the humidity used to be crook, but as we don't get rain anymore it hasn't been bad at all. Also because it will be restored completely, I am not bothered by any deterioration that may occur out of sight.

It's better to have and watch it fade away than not to have at all.
Go for it I reckon. I just had a thought at what I did to an XM coupe when I was younger. Ouch.

Cheers Cam
AnswerID: 247712

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:31

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:31
G'Day Cam,
I like that line - It's better to have and watch it fade away than not to have at all. haha! I reckon you migt be right! And I don't think I wanna know what you did to the old XM!

Actually on smoko today I was chatting to a mate and we were thinnking, what will the young buggers of today do up when they're older? I can see it now... the year is 2050 and some old bugger is at the swap meet chasing a wiring harness for a 1998 VT Commodore projevt car! haha!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 508540

Follow Up By: Camoco - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:08

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:08
Hey Scoey,
There isn't much metal in a modern car compared to the oldies. I have often thought about that myself but then I have a look at the rubber and plastic that are integral to the build of the modern car and think that the effort will be far more than the reward in the future.

That's why we need to preserve what we can. I can image an HZ or XC will be regarded as the last of the restoreable cars in the near future. Hardly bears thinking about. If we could only get the young buggers working now we might have a chance when they are older, but that's another issue.

In regards to the line... I have watched many things fade away and it's been a good experience. Pity the old waist line doesn't though.

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 508551

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:47

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:47
Yep I couldn't agree more. Tis a shame though! Seems to be when it comes to "doing up" a car these days, your average pimply young revhead buys an imported skyline and bolts on a noisier blow off valve and a bigger turbo! :-S No personality in that and certainly no mechanical know how - most of the boys I see driving around these days I swear probably couldn't even change thier oil. I do know one young bloke who will freely admit he doesn't know how to change a tire coz, "that's what I pay RACQ for"

Haha! Yeah - I wish I could do some fading on my waist too! hehe!

Ross
FollowupID: 508584

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:16

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:16
Buy the car now - drive it don't store it - it will actually deteriorate less - start collecting the bits you will need and when you finally get the time restore it and the interim you have had the fun of driving it - albiet maybe not the best example - but when it is restored I can guarantee you will have less fun because you will be worried about damaging it.
AnswerID: 247724

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:32

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:32
Hey Garrycol,

I like the sound of that! Drive the bloody thing! I guess if you develop some memory's in the old girl first it'll make the restoration that much better eh! ;-) Thanks for the reply!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 508541

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:11

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:11
I see a nice well looked after 2 door about that vintage on Kenwick Rd Maddington WA and it is for sale about there S32 01 55.9 E115 59 33.0

Doug

AnswerID: 247760

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:49

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:49
Hey cheers Doug, I'm in Brisbane so a bit far away for now, maybe if I get more desperate I'll change my tune! ;-) Thanks anyway - I appreciate it!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 508586

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:27

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:27
Gday Scoey

I'm a bit of an xm/xp fan myself, I would love to do the same but doubt I ever will.

A number of years ago, one of the early lifestyle type shows that was a bit more bloke orientated than the modern crop did an experiment with a ford of that vintage. The experiment was based around comparing buying a new car or restoring an oldie. They did a great job, rebuilt motor and gearbox, totally restored interior with the white & red vinyl, new disc brake conversion etc etc.

At the time, the cost was about $11k from memory, about the same cost as the early korean cheap cars of the day. I bet I know which car is still worth something today, and probably which one will still be in use and which one will be scrap metal.

It may be worth some investigation to see if copies of the program could be obtained for referance for parts etc they sourced.

Best of luck with the project (when it happens)

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 247810

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:08

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:08
Am in the VW Drivers Club of Qld.
We all have older beetles, and there are a couple of water cooled VWs too.

Some have bought them and are running them as a road restore. Thats what I have in a 74. Slowly doing it up, and running it on the road. $1000.00 to buy, and we spend about $1000.00 a year above normal servicing in bringing it up to scratch. Still cheap motoring, and it is gaining in value. These older cars are cheap to run. Just plugs, oil and a simple tune every now and then. No fancy electrics, and parts are stil cheap. Get a new motor for what some people pay for a engine management computer.
It is officially the wifes car and she loves it. Also keeps the miles down that way too. Use the pajero for any major milage.
FollowupID: 508628

Reply By: kookaburra - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 23:00

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 23:00
CLASSIC CARS take a look here, aussie musclecar museum, all just resting.
AnswerID: 248004