LPG - 94.9 in Wilcannia, NSW

Submitted: Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 14:53
ThreadID: 46821 Views:4295 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
I have just returned from Wilcannia/Cobar district and was shocked to find LPG at Wilcannia at 94.9 cents per ltr. Not only is the price the highest I have found in my travels, but to my surporise, I got over 80ltrs into the tanks that are suppoesed to have a cut-off at about 70 usable ltrs. I suspect something funny with the metering out there at the Shall in Wilcannia. Just be careful if looking to refuel there. Ken

Reply By: Vince NSW - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:12

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:12
I NEVER use that site. Got caught a few years ago & now go to the BP depot just around the Cnr where they are allways cheeper an a nice lot of people as well.
Vince
AnswerID: 247669

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:36

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:36
Last time I filled up at the BP it was 18 cents cheaper than the Shell on the main road.
I said to the BP man you should have a sign on the main road.......not many people know you are here. He said he did a few times but the sign gets lost after a day or two.

Reiner
FollowupID: 508483

Follow Up By: kingswoodwagon - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:32

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:32
thanx for the heads up vince,

ive got to fuel up there tomorrow. :(

cheers.
FollowupID: 508564

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:26

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:26
You mean you actually STOPPED in Wilcannia??
AnswerID: 247670

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:49

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 15:49
Yep, you got it in one,

I NEVER stop in Wilcannia. Almost got myself beaten to a pulp by an unfreindly mob there once and vowed never to stop again. My touorist bucks get spent elsewhere.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 508485

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:16

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:16
Wilcannia is not as bad as its reputation. There are towns in this wide brown land that have had me a lot more nervous.

I have stopped there a few times and while I admit extra precautions are taken I have never had any problems. Whilst my work truck often attracts unwanted attention, sometimes good and sometimes bad, this has not occurred in Wilcannia.

When living in Broken Hill my neighbour was the Seargent of Police in Wilcannia. What he said about the place supports the anecdotal evidence that I have gathered from my own experience and that of others I know who have stopped there frequently. That is that most of the time you will have no problems but if you get there at the wrong time the problems you will have will be big ones.

It is generally safer at the BP than at the Shell. We had a picnic lunch on the grass oposite the BP one day and it was very pleasant.

FollowupID: 508493

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:20

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:20
Sorry,

I should have mentioned that if you think a business is doing the wrong thing in terms of the metering on its pumps you should report it to the Department of Fair Trading. They will be more than happy to investigate and if they find a problem they will take action against the business. While this may not help you it will stop others being ripped off in the future.

I have done this and it works. I never went back to the guy I dobbed in but he did clean up his act. Even if it was reluctantly.

FollowupID: 508495

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:21

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:21
I must admitt my bad experience was a long time ago, and to be honest have seen similar encounters elsewhere. Just left a bad taste, several angry men V's one innocent bystander is not much fun and one encounter I do not wish to relive.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 508496

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 09:14

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 09:14
Hey Duncs I have been there (Wilcannia) recently and I didnt stop, the place has a bad feel about it, and thats really disappointing, as it is a quintessential Aussie place. I would stop there only if I had to and hi-tail it outta there pronto.

FollowupID: 509601

Reply By: Ross - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:26

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:26
They deserve to get whatever price they can to compensate for living there
AnswerID: 247682

Follow Up By: growler - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 17:41

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 17:41
Good call
FollowupID: 508508

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:46

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:46
GDay All. I recently filled a 20ltr jerry can at the Mobil service station in Toronto NSW while my patrol was being filled with LPG. The pump meter said 23.7 ltrs. Complained to the owner and was reimbursed the difference. If you were filling a tank you would not know!! After I kicked up a fuss he put the pump out of order. I always manage to get more gas in the patrol tank at this servo than anywhere else!!. Good idea to test your regular suplier.
AnswerID: 247735

Reply By: slammin - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:16

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:16
This all makes me wonder at what stage does the price of LPG and it's fuel economy make it the same price of ULP?

Is it 10% less than ULP? Taking into account the lesser performance? Works out equal.
AnswerID: 247762

Reply By: ozwasp - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 00:43

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 00:43
Check out the LPG prices in northern WA then... they're all around $1.00/litre on the main drag

Filled up in Darwin a while back.... Got more into the tank than what it holds!!!
Shonky servos cashing in on tourists!!!

Cheers, Will.
AnswerID: 247802

Reply By: montana - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 05:40

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 05:40
the price of unleaded is a rip off at cobar ,on the weekend was 141.9, must be for all you good folk travelling through now.wilkillya isnt as bad as made out,local events play a big part,whos out of jail,wakes etc.
AnswerID: 247806

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:01

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:01
All this talk of dodgy pump reading seems to make it pointless working out your fuel ecconomy, will be traveling for 12 months soon. Might use a jerry can to see if it hold 20ltrs or more before filling the cruiser tanks!
Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 247845

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:27

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:27
HI lyndon.
What a good idea. I will try the same when I head west in July.Regards.
Vince
FollowupID: 508688

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 20:03

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 20:03
I'm just amazed at how many people on here are using petrol and simply staggered at some actually using gas. Surely diesel is the only fuel to use for 4wding particularly in remote areas!!
AnswerID: 248142

Follow Up By: kktdw - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:16

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:16
Aandy

Gas runs at half the price of petrol and nearly half the price of diesel - it's pretty simple. I live in Melb and tour from that base - the reason I was in Wilcannia was for a visit to Cuttaburra Bore outside Wanaaring - and gas gets me all the way - Melb to Cuttaburra and back. In addition, western NSW was last "remote" in about 1957 when I was a little boy with my parrents roo shooting. Bit like a weekend picnic these days (I did the Cutabburra bore trip over the Queens birthday weekend).

kktdw

FollowupID: 509822