TD Cruiser Service
Submitted: Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:44
Hopper51
The 20000km service on my 100 series Landcruiser is coming due. I have read differing points of view on whether the valves need to be checked and adjusted if necessary and whether the front wheel bearings need to be repacked as per the service schedule. I'm not keen at all to book into a Toyota dealer for the service after some less than favorable work done by the various dealers around
Adelaide. Can anyone recommend a good independent mechanic that I can feel confident taking the Tojo to. I have spoken to Altrac 4wd and will probably go with them unless someone can suggest a better workshop.
Chris W
Reply By: james#qlx - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:50
Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:50
Hey mate
If you dont mind getting a little dirty you could go and buy a service manual for your cruiser its what i do. you can buy them from super cheap. They explain in detail every thing you need to know and do in each service there great and then at least you know it was done proply with no short cuts and one hell of a lot cheaper and it can come in handy when your in the bush when the unthinkable happens good luck...
Follow Up By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:22
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:22
I'll second that.........better off you doing the work rather than an apprentice who is using your car as a training tool.
It's very easy to repack the front wheel bearings. the first time I did it on my 80 series it took me about 3 hours because I had never done it before however now I can pull it down, clean, repack in about 40 mins per side.
Those manuals are worth every cent.
Follow Up By: Hopper51 - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:29
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:29
I'm comfortable doing all the work except reshimming the valves. That is why I would like to have the 20000km service done by someone who knows how to do it properly, after that I will be doing the
services myself. From what I have read the valves require resetting early on and then seem to remain OK for 80 - 100k. I have also read that it is easy to do wrong and even Toyota dealers seem to be able to mess it up.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 19:11
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 19:11
Hopper,
If yours is a factory TD, then you don't have shims. What you've heard is for the normally aspirated 1Hzzzz diesels. THe valves on teh 1HD-FTE are adjustable with a spanner and screwdriver.
Follow Up By: Hopper51 - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 19:24
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 19:24
Thanks for that Phil. I can handle that. I naturally assumed that they were a shimmed setup.
Chris W
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 18:33
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 18:33
if you do it your self there not as easy as your normal nut/bolt set up.
there is a special way to do them check up first because there a twin rocker set up.
Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 22:31
Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 22:31
Same issue here Hopper with Lc ute,, depends if you want warranty to continue or not,,, went to non Toyota reputable company who can do the service and
sign off log book,,, about the same price here,,,,,, bloody expensive.
Up to you
Baz
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:28
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:28
Chris,
The valve clearances are not often checked when servicing 1HD-FTE Cruisers (both dealers and others) because they are an oddball arrangement with a bridge actuating two valves, and take a bit of time.
I believe that 40k is often enough for both valve clearances and wheel bearings, unless you're giving it harsh treatment - thats the interval that I do
mine.
I know others who deliberately use Alltrac because they do everything stated on the service book - they really do take off the rocker cover and check/readjust valve clearances, and Peter at Alltrac even owns the same vehicle as yours.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:30
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:30
Just to add, I'd suggest getting them done at 20k, then doing them every 40k after that.
Follow Up By: Member - Steve M (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 13:00
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 13:00
I can also commend Peter
Young from Alltrack. He does all my servicing on an '03 TD Cruiser.
Not cheap but you get what you pay for. I am confident that he does all that he charges me for.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 15:06
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 15:06
Gday Steve,
Just looked at your photos - what happened to the rolled 100series?? Doesn't look like yours????
Might see you at you know where next Monday night :-))
phil
Follow Up By: SMMKJD - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 19:27
Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 19:27
Hi Phil
Yeah, he was tail end charlie (and trip leader) on a return trip from
Innamincka via
Hungerford,
White Cliffs and
Broken Hill. Six months older than my 100 series with every option known to mankind. Trailer he was towing got away from him on the best section of track we had been on all day.
Every panel damaged except for rear tailgate. Bugga! No-one hurt thankfully, just pride.
It would be great to see you Monday night.
Reply By: Stu-k - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:28
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:28
Know what you saying about toyota. I had a towbar put on my new hilux at first service and they didn`t tighten any of the bolts much past hand tight!
They must have good liability insurance
Stu